We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hostel, Reasonable Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
Ranked #93 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
216 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice Hostel, Reasonable Price”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The red boat is divided into 2 parts: the original red boat and a white boat behind. The reception area in the red boat serves both. The "hotel" is in the white boat and the hostel and some private rooms are on the red one. We stayed in a private room, shared facilities on the red boat. 1 adult, 1 child (age 15).

Overall, I was impressed. The reception area was clean and nicely decorated and the counter staff all fluent in English and very helpful. The breakfast buffet was good too and reasonably priced for Stockholm. The boat *moves* from time to time due to tidal action on the river but this caught a few people out!

Wi-fi was free in the reception area but our room was directly below so we could get internet there. The rooms are small, however - hey, it's a boat! The location is good with a short walk to Gamla Stan subway and a safe area to walk at night. It's cheaper to buy a glass of wine in reception rather than in a bar in town ...

All in all good value, budget accommodation.

Stockholm, however, is *expensive* ... a baked potato at the airport costs $18!
To be honest, I'm glad I went to Stockholm but won't return because of the cost.
The Armory is pretty cool but everything looks so much like Prague ... and Prague is *way* cheaper.

Red boat, yes. Stockholm, no.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TucsonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    96
    65
    27
    8
See reviews for
12
80
53
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Well, I think this will give a different opinion to most of the other reviews but I would point out up-front that we stayed in the hotel section, not the hostel.

On arrival, we were given our room, which was in the other boat - the plain, white one - which we hadn't known before. Not the end of the world but it rather detracts from the style of the place, and the hotel section ain't cheap! The chap at the desk was very helpful. We found our room and were disappointed - it was very plain, with none of the character shown in the pictures on the website. The bathroom was poor and had some mould. Worst of all, the place was extremely hot! - so much so that we hardly slept. Lying on the bed, we just dripped with sweat - the tiny window let in no air. It was an unusually warm period but we paid 5* prices for this hotel and there was no AC, no fan, for that matter no WiFi, no TV and no... style, character.

Breakfast was fine, if not spectacular. I'd be happy with it for hostel prices. When I checked out, I politely mentioned the heat in the night had been terrible and the blonde lady on duty replied abruptly that 'you should have seen it in the hostel - it was much worse.' Well, that's not a good answer and it annoyed me to the point that I walked away determined to write a honest review on TripAdvisor.

I paid a lot of money for this room and expected the characterful and comfortable experience shown on the website. We found neither. The location is pretty good but stick to the hostel and don't go in the heat of the summer. The prices for the hotel are high and most definitely not in proportion to the quality of the experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrkst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Stayed just one night with a friend. Allowed early check-in when we arrived at 8am and were exhausted after a night of traveling. Superb location and room was clean. They even gave a complimentary post card. Although breakfast is not included, the price is worth it. Great array of food. A cozy restaurant located in the hostel and bathrooms were adequate.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeydoo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penetanguishene, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

I loved this hostel! The only downside was that my bed wasn't ready when I arrived in Stockholm, so I had to walk up and down the street to kill time while I waited. But they did give me a lockable place to store my luggage so I could be free to wander around in the meantime.

I met a few really great people who I shared a room with, who I ended up going out with that night. Loads of fun! And I actually found the scratched/written in names, locations and comments that prior guests had left on the undersides of the top bunks to be endearing. I'm sure the hostel didn't intend for the bunks to become guestbooks, but I appreciated it haha.

The rooms are obviously a bit cramped, since you're on a boat. But still really nice. And the bathrooms were extremely clean! If I remember correctly though, the water temperature in the showers was just below luke warm, at best... but that might have been because I went in after someone else.

The location couldn't be better. You're a five-minute walk from Gamla Stan, and there's a city bike rack just up the street. Perfect. Oh and great breakfast too :)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Den Roda Baten is a nice place. My boss a few months after I did with his family and has also stayed here and we said the same things about it.

Den Roda Baten is actually 2 boats. The first one, nearest to the bridge, is the dining room and youth hostel. The second is an series of en suite hotel room. I stayed on the latter.

The good points about the hotel are the breakfasts (basic but nice), the quirky experience and the area (near enough to be central, far enough out of the centre to be quiet when you're trying to sleep).

There were two minuses. Firstly, the rooms were incredibly tiny, similar to those on the Hull/Zeebrugge ferries. They also didn't stay very warm at night, but were roasting during the day. Secondly, the service wasn't really "top notch", in that I had to figure most things out for myself - there was no guidance. An example would be that I'd have liked to have left the luggage with them whilst making the most of my day until 4pm when I had to go for the ferry to Mariehamn, but I was told to use the left luggage in the ferry terminal instead.

It's certainly not a bad place to stay, and it's certainly an experience. Just don't expect the ritz.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boydus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

We had a great long weekend in Stockholm staying for 4 nights at the Red Boat in the Captain's Cabin (on the white boat behind).
The Captain's Cabin room was pretty basic but perfectly fine & was nice & warm in a very chilly October, with great views out over the water. (just don't forget you're on a boat! - somehow i was still surprised by the rocking motion!)
Service was very friendly & helpful - couldn't fault at all, & the breakfast buffet was very good with a wide selection (cereal/breads/jams/hams/cheese/fruit/eggs & tea/coffee).
Location was excellent - for walking to the bars/restaurants of Sodermalm & to Gamla Stan. & not far from the Gamla Stan T Bahn to go further afield. (& to walk up & around Monteliusvagen for amazing views - a must-do if you're staying on the Red Boat as it's so close).
Given the very high prices in Stockholm i thought this was a very good budget option.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dinkyfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Every year university friends and I travel to a different European city, a chance to catch up with each other, see the sight, experience the culture and drink a little local beer. And this year it was decided that Stockholm would be next on the list.

The Red Boat was chosen by a friend and on this website it looked nice. From the outside it looked nice. And it was. It’s just a pity we didn't get to stop on it, after paying for it. My friend and I were told we'd be stopping in the boat behind, The Ran. The Ran had no reception, very poor shared toilets (One male between at least 10 rooms). And oh my god, our room stank. It really smelt like dead people. The owner must have known that this room stinks as there were about five room’s fresheners under the bottom bunk! I reported the smell and how unhappy I was that our group of four had been split (Two on The Red Boat and two on The Ran). The woman on reception was nice about it, but nothing happened, we had to put up with a very smelly room (which made our clothes smell once we'd left).

I would recommend the Red Boat - Just make sure you stop in The Red Boat... And if the hand you the keys to Rooms 28 in The Ran, either remove your nose or hand the keys back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaronVonPleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Södermalm
Loginn Hotel
Loginn Hotel
#84 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Hotell Dialog
#115 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#88 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#7 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel

Property: The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
Address: 10 Soeder Maelarstrands Kajplatser, Stockholm 118 20, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Boat Hotel Stockholm
The Red Boat Hotel And Hostel
Den Roda Baten Red Boat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing