We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the other side of the see!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
Ranked #92 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Conegliano, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“the other side of the see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

great position - easy to reach undergroud station and very close to the old town center (Gamlastan).
Great and unusual view on the Stockholm house and see
staff very helpfull, kind and nice approach also helping for taxi reservation! they also opened the breakfast time in advance to the usual time slot (7.30-9.30)
teen spirit in the atmosfere of the pirats!
you may choose between hostel and Hotel. I was in hotel and I had my own bath. the shower is very very small but I had a confortable stay! breakfast and bathtowel included into hotel fee.I would be there again!

Room Tip: scegliete le stanze verso il mare e al secondo piano se siete in hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizmc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    95
    64
    27
    6
See reviews for
12
79
52
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed at the Red Boat probably exactly at the wrong time.
In fact I was in the second boat, which sprang a leak and was receiving daily maintenance from early in the morning each day of my stay. Not a big issue, but there was a morning I would have liked to have slept in. Also get a room seaside, there is a fair bit of road noise otherwise.
I chose this as a cheap way to have a private room, as accommodation is expensive here. It was - fine.
The common room on the Red Boat was fun. Don't bother with breakfast - get up and explore.
Great location. Visit Hermann's for great vegetarian food and brilliant views of the harbour and Fotografiska exhibitions.
You'll need to bring your own towel or note you need to 'buy' one.
Oh and if you are anything other than small, ie. 'med-large' or tall, you will want to give this place a miss. It is a boat with small beds, passages, rooms and doorways.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlebitofluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed @ the Red Boat for 3 nights. The reception is also the lounge what looks great. Should not go for a drink or a chat but looks great.The hostel ia on the othetr boat. Don't bother that. It looks still great. We've been upgraded to a seaview room. Lovely from the people @the desk. See the skyline of stockholm when you wake up. next to Gamla Stan. Lovely kind people, who don't talk that much but are very kind to help you out on traveltimes for public transporttation. (afterwards we realised everything was walking distance) ;) Would really recommend it to my friends. Dont expect a lot of room or showers where you can put your clothes dry, but come on, price is low and it's a hostel. Not a Hotel. (Beds are very tiny but it will do for us, not for taller persons)

Room Tip: choose sea-view side and wake up with a lovely view and no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DilipdeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Good and funny Palace, guess for a maximum of couple of nights, small space but ok for expansive stockolm.
One night for me ways enought, but i wish come back there a day Mayor with some towells and more easy of vacationes.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagliari
Level Contributor
366 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

What an interesting place to stay. It is on a real boat, refurbished to work as a hostel/hotel. The good news is that the place is super-nice, with a nice view of town, in a nice location, and the staff is kind. The bad news: we stayed in a 4 beds dorm, shared bathroom. You realise you are on a boat once you do get to see your room. 2 teeeeny tiny bunk beds, not made, so you have to fight with the matress and the sheets and the blankets in order to arrange it. We were so tired that we slept tight anyways. The room is so small that only one person at a time can make his/her own bed. There is hardly any room to move around, no lockers, no chair, one hanger each. There is only one toilet to share among a number of people, and only 2 showers, so you may have to wait for your turn. The bathroom – again – is so empty that you hardly know where to place your stuff. No soap so do bring your own, and no towel included in the price (but you can rent it).

Breakfast is not included, you get it for an additional price. If you are not starving or in a rush, go somewhere else. There is a decent variety, but it is mostly bread and cold cuts, and if you are lactose intolerant or vegan, there is no option for you. Coffee is possibly the worst one I have had in ages. The fruit salad is canned.

This is overall an interesting place to stay – for one night. I would not be able to take that cramped tiny room any longer!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank taffani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I only stayed for one day, but would have stayed longer if I could! Beautiful view of e.g. Stockholms city hall and Gamla Stan. Very helpfull staff. Fair price. Stayed in a 10-beds-room (bunk beds, the hostel part of the The Red Boat), the room was small but well arranged, so it did not feel like we were too many. When I arrived linen, a postcard, a brochure and a piece of candy was lying on my bed, I felt welcome. Slept well, maybe because of the seaway? Did not taste the breakfast, but I think it was priced SEK 75. OK shared bath facilities, OK toilet (was there only one? One more could be needed). When I left I stored my bag for some time in a deposit (on your own risk). Overall nice impression.

Room Tip: Be aware of what you are ordering - rooms in the hostel part are up to 10 persons. Everyone might no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank incognitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is quite a charming place in terms of location. Sodermalm is a very cool location, near lots of eating places, shops etc. And The Red Boat is on the water with a view of the other islands and the city hall...at night it is especially lovely. It is tricky to get to, but if you do your homework first with some online research, and ask friendly Swedes along the way, you will discover the stairs or elevator down to the street along the water. My husband and I splurged on the best room ($214 a night) which had a view across the water and without that it would have been pretty dreary. Many hostels charge for linens but hotels usually do not and The Red Boast is both hotel and hostel so everything was included in our rate. The breakfast buffet was so-so and if you plan to eat a meal on the boat is is pretty basic youth food- spaghetti, chili, grilled cheese. The annoying thing was that there was no internet access in the room so you have to go to the lounges to get online. Granted, the lounges are charming and cozy, but if you need a quick bit of info it's a drag to schlep over to the lounge.

Room Tip: Depends on your budget, but if you feel like a splurge, definitely get a room with a view across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janny45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Södermalm
Loginn Hotel
Loginn Hotel
#85 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Hotell Dialog
#111 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#90 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#7 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel

Property: The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
Address: 10 Soeder Maelarstrands Kajplatser, Stockholm 118 20, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Boat Hotel Stockholm
The Red Boat Hotel And Hostel
Den Roda Baten Red Boat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing