We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing Stockholm already!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2011

One of the best hostel I've ever been. very clean and organized.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vitor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 790 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

City Backpackers was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. The rooms were quiet, clean, there are seperate fridges for each room so you don't have to try and cram your food in one large fride with 80 other people, and the staff were really helpful. There is an outside area which feels like a cool pub at night, everyone we met here was really friendly, and the inside common area is a great place to relax after a long day out. There are tons of computers where the internet actually works and the wi-fi is also solid. Bathrooms and showers are everywhere so you don't have to wait, there's always hot water, and some of the rooms have bathrooms and showers in them as well. We would have stayed here again on our return to Stockholm except they book up really fast. I will definitely stay here again - apart from having to take your shoes off inside, there were no downsides.

Room Tip: Book early to get best choices for rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deepbluesurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBPmanager, Public Relations Manager at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Thank you so much for that heart warming review! The main reason we can keep the place so clean is the no shoe rule. Swedish people find it perfectly natural to take their shoes off indoors, we always do, even when picking our kids up at school. I know it feels weird to some of our guests. But you know what they say; when in Rome, do as the Romans, when in Stockholm, take off your shoes! Cheers, Lena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

it's more a club than a hostel with lovely chill zones, apple computers and free pasta.
you don't feel like one of a thousand guests (the receptionists are especially nice).

the only cutback are the mattresses (backache-making)
next time I bring my own sleeping mat. ;-)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gu p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBPmanager, Public Relations Manager at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Oh, I'm sorry you didn't sleep well! Most of our guests find our beds really comfy. But it's hard to find that one mattress which suites everybody. I’ve picked out the ones we use, and I sleep like a baby on them (yes I’ve tried!) But we do have options, so next time, please tell us about the problem and we will see if another mattress will help. Kind regards Lena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I loved loved loved this place. So here's what I did. I brought a luggage lock so I'd feel cool leaving my luggage unattended in their super cool and secure access luggage storage room. I also bought a pad lock so I could leave my everyday stuff in a locker in my room. That way I didn't have to worry about going to the luggage room when I needed knic knacks. I brought my own sheet set so didn't have to worry about renting it when I got there. This was my first time ever staying in a Hostel of any kind and my first time in Sweden...also my first time travelling SOLO! Yes :) The staff was sooo great! Very helpful with maps and suggestions of every sort for every need I may of had. I also did a day bicycle tour. Loved it! cinnamon rolls and coffee....yummy! I stayed in the 8 person girl dorm...loved it! Made many new friends from all over the world...got to see girls come and go and just had a blast. I slept on the top bunk and hit my head on the wall. I gave the hotel a suggestion to hang a picture there so you would be aware of the ceiling shape and the white wall wouldn't blend together. Within hours, when I got back to my bed to take a quick nap...there it was! A cute framed picture hanging up! Yeah! What else am I forgetting....thinking here....overall very safe...good location...maybe 5-10 min walk to the train station...H&M stores on every corner and close to plenty of food places. They also have breakfast, I'd recommend prepaying. Free internet and computers to use...comfy lounge areas... Super nice, Super fun. They are also on FB so it was nice to see what people had to say about them just to make sure the reviews etc were real and not made up by the staff. I forgot to write this review when I got back home to Missouri - USA, but alas....here I am. I miss Sweden and would stay here every time I go back for a vacation....unless of course a friend offers me a free place to stay :) Everything in Sweden is very expensive but this place can make your Scandinavian dream come true!!! Must stay!

Room Tip: Bring a pad lock, luggage lock and your own bedding if you can. Saves money! All of the rooms are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MillicentMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBPmanager, Public Relations Manager at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

And girls just want to have fun, right?! Cheers, Lena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

It's a very nice place de stay, clean and close to the city center

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littleludo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBPmanager, Public Relations Manager at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

YOU're amazing! Lena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Very nice and cozy atmosphere with friendly staff. Fresh and the public areas were great! Good with door codes, felt safe - you forgot to give me the code to the main door once thou. Feel that the price of renting sheets were somewhat expensive when you only stayed overnight. Perhaps you can settle the price depending on how long the person stays? Same thing with breakfast, if you like to stay four nights and breakfast each one can get it at one lump sum? Or something like that. However, the service was also great! Looking forward to coming back again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBPmanager, Public Relations Manager at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Thank you for those suggestions. We are constantly discussing the bed linen, and our perspective is a little bit different from yours. We feel that it is a shame that so many sheets are being washed every day, in hotels and hostels worldwide. If guests would use the same sheets for a week, what a difference it would make to the environment! So, we would rather have it the other way around, so that you pay more if you only use the sheets once. But our favourite solution is when guests bring their own bed linen!
Kindly Lena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

There is nothing to do in the hostel, Stockholm is very expensive and the fire alarm rang three times

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brunobalancieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBPmanager, Public Relations Manager at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Hi, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at City Backpackers.

The safety is a main priority for us, so we do have an alarm that tends to take its job seriously. But three times during your stay must be a record, and I'm truly sorry about that.

Also, what a shame you felt bored!
The whole hostel is designed so it will be easy to meet other people, with the big guest kitchen where like four guests can cook at the same time, and with the free afternoon sauna where you can relax and talk to fellow travellers. And of course there are our trips and picnics every week, and during summer we've had a barbeque every Saturday. And if you prefer to spend time on your own, there are bikes you can hire to go off on your own adventures.

So, I'm a bit confused as to why you couldn't find anything to do at the hostel. But we are always interrested in new suggestions, so if you ever come back, please tell us what you would like to do!

Kindly Lena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
570 reviews
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
338 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#18 of 154 in Stockholm
1,330 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Backpackers Hostel

Address: 2a Upplandsgatan, Stockholm 111 23, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range: £17 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — City Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect downtown location, lots of common areas, staff guided tours and a cafe with an international vibe. City Backpackers gives you a lot more than a bed to sleep in - It's simply your base camp for travellers exploring Stockholm.Free high speed internet on Mac and PC computers and free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms 24 hours!Free pasta - cook as much as you can eat!Free evening sauna - the ultimate Swedish experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Backpackers Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing