We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Backpackers Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$277
US$168
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel C Stockholm(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
US$257
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Stockholm Slussen(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Story Hotel Riddargatan(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
US$153
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel(Stockholm)
US$322
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Rival(Stockholm)
US$247
US$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$212
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
US$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$127
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,176)
Filter reviews
1,176 results
Traveller rating
747
352
48
21
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
747
352
48
21
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree pastafree saunacommon areassauna tourcentral stationpub crawlbig kitchenfemale dormgreat kitchenbed dormcommon roomswedish meatballsenjoyed my stayluggage roomvisit stockholmlocation is greatold town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
806 - 811 of 1,176 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This was by far the best hostel I have ever visited...a bit expensive (like everything in Stockholm), ma totally worth it! The best part are the great common spaces where you can meet other travellers...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

One of the best hostel I've ever been. very clean and organized.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vitor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

City Backpackers was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. The rooms were quiet, clean, there are seperate fridges for each room so you don't have to try and cram your food in one large fride with 80 other people, and the staff were really helpful. There is an outside area which feels like a cool pub at night, everyone we met here was really friendly, and the inside common area is a great place to relax after a long day out. There are tons of computers where the internet actually works and the wi-fi is also solid. Bathrooms and showers are everywhere so you don't have to wait, there's always hot water, and some of the rooms have bathrooms and showers in them as well. We would have stayed here again on our return to Stockholm except they book up really fast. I will definitely stay here again - apart from having to take your shoes off inside, there were no downsides.

Room Tip: Book early to get best choices for rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deepbluesurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBPmanager, Public Relations Manager at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Thank you so much for that heart warming review! The main reason we can keep the place so clean is the no shoe rule. Swedish people find it perfectly natural to take their shoes off indoors, we always do, even when picking our kids up at school. I know it feels weird to some of our guests. But you know what they say; when in Rome, do as the Romans, when in Stockholm, take off your shoes! Cheers, Lena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

it's more a club than a hostel with lovely chill zones, apple computers and free pasta.
you don't feel like one of a thousand guests (the receptionists are especially nice).

the only cutback are the mattresses (backache-making)
next time I bring my own sleeping mat. ;-)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gu p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBPmanager, Public Relations Manager at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Oh, I'm sorry you didn't sleep well! Most of our guests find our beds really comfy. But it's hard to find that one mattress which suites everybody. I’ve picked out the ones we use, and I sleep like a baby on them (yes I’ve tried!) But we do have options, so next time, please tell us about the problem and we will see if another mattress will help. Kind regards Lena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I loved loved loved this place. So here's what I did. I brought a luggage lock so I'd feel cool leaving my luggage unattended in their super cool and secure access luggage storage room. I also bought a pad lock so I could leave my everyday stuff in a locker in my room. That way I didn't have to worry about going to the luggage room when I needed knic knacks. I brought my own sheet set so didn't have to worry about renting it when I got there. This was my first time ever staying in a Hostel of any kind and my first time in Sweden...also my first time travelling SOLO! Yes :) The staff was sooo great! Very helpful with maps and suggestions of every sort for every need I may of had. I also did a day bicycle tour. Loved it! cinnamon rolls and coffee....yummy! I stayed in the 8 person girl dorm...loved it! Made many new friends from all over the world...got to see girls come and go and just had a blast. I slept on the top bunk and hit my head on the wall. I gave the hotel a suggestion to hang a picture there so you would be aware of the ceiling shape and the white wall wouldn't blend together. Within hours, when I got back to my bed to take a quick nap...there it was! A cute framed picture hanging up! Yeah! What else am I forgetting....thinking here....overall very safe...good location...maybe 5-10 min walk to the train station...H&M stores on every corner and close to plenty of food places. They also have breakfast, I'd recommend prepaying. Free internet and computers to use...comfy lounge areas... Super nice, Super fun. They are also on FB so it was nice to see what people had to say about them just to make sure the reviews etc were real and not made up by the staff. I forgot to write this review when I got back home to Missouri - USA, but alas....here I am. I miss Sweden and would stay here every time I go back for a vacation....unless of course a friend offers me a free place to stay :) Everything in Sweden is very expensive but this place can make your Scandinavian dream come true!!! Must stay!

Room Tip: Bring a pad lock, luggage lock and your own bedding if you can. Saves money! All of the rooms are nice.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MillicentMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBPmanager, Public Relations Manager at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

And girls just want to have fun, right?! Cheers, Lena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews