We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I have ever seen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Excellent location, just few minutes away from the central station. Staff is super friendly, rooms are clean and comfortable and have lockers. Everything is clean and organized - bathrooms, showers, common room, kitchen... There is free WIFI in all rooms and 8 computers you can use anytime. Oh, and free sauna! And hairdryer. :) I really cant say anything bad about this hostel. Book it, you wont regret it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaisyFayHarper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

Nice place to stay in a nice location. Good beds and structure - clean, free pasta, fridge, nice kitchen, in general very organized and EXTREMELY Safe. All rooms got codes to get in and lockers.

...not so friendly staff and the bathrooms sometimes smell pretty bad. Damn you drunk young ppl :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BossTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I stayed at the "Girls Only" room for one night. The room was fairly clean (I've seen worse in hotels), with big lockers, and beds with comfortable mattresses. During my stay, there were always showers available at any time (the shared ones - the private were occupied the whole time, but well - it's a hostel). The staff was friendly and assisting. Overall - a very positive experience for a very little money!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liza-Kreynin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

It has been sometime since I last stayed in a hostel, but City Backpackers did not disappoint! The hostel had a great atmosphere, fantastic location, friendly and knowledgeable staff. I stayed in a 12 bed mixed dorm, which I was initially a little concerned about, but the room was big and spacious and we all had enough personal space to in no way feel cramped and on top of each other. There's a free internet lounge and a huge kitchen which has free pasta. If/when I return to Stockholm, I would definitely stay here!! :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tez29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

we loved the atmosphere in the hostel! The sauna was perfect. There was free internet. A big kitchen with a lot of space. an easy going hostel on a perfect location. Near the bus/trainstation. Cosy and friendly staff. If we go to Stockholm again we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickenjuud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Very friendly staff, lounge and kitchen that make it a good place to meet people, computers with free internet access (keyboards have some issue though), free pasta (buy the sauce), sauna (free at some time of the day), quite clean.
One evening it was quite noisy, which may not make it the greatest place to wake up early.
Located not far from the train station (5mn), but not in the most interesting area.
The person responsible for the breakfast did not come one day (well, bad things can happen).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabien E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The people who work at City Backpacker Hostel are very committed to their work. They treat everyone nice and personal and answer every question. They also provide tours through Stockholm and the Archipelago, for instance a biking tour or a walking tour by the employees themselves. They have a small café where you can get a very nice breakfast for a good price. The dorm for six persons were we slept was very clean and had nice places to sit by the window. The hostel also provided free pasta, a fridge, a kitchen and pasta buy (which you could buy at the bar) and a room to relax, iMacs to browse the internet and a TV. They even have a sauna and bikes to rent :). The showers are luxurious and clean (if you find them because the hostel is quite big! The hostel is located in the middle of Stockholm and it's a five minute walk from the central station and the bus terminal and very easy to find. You can walk through the whole city from here. There are a lot of restaurants and bars near the hostel as is the main shopping street. You can even buy souvenirs at the bar, like a Dala horse. I actually don't have any bad things to say about the hostel so I recommend it strongly to everyone who visits Stockholm and wants a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Shared rooms are very nice and cheaper than private rooms! And look for the private showers, they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolienlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Norrmalm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
#6 of 71 in Stockholm
674 reviews
Kungsholmen
City Hostel
City Hostel
#2 of 71 in Stockholm
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Skanstulls Hostel
Skanstulls Hostel
#8 of 71 in Stockholm
459 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Castanea Old Town Hostel
Castanea Old Town Hostel
#9 of 71 in Stockholm
243 reviews
Vasastan
Hostel Dalagatan
Hostel Dalagatan
#13 of 71 in Stockholm
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Backpackers Hostel

Address: 2a Upplandsgatan, Stockholm 111 23, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range: £24 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — City Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect downtown location, lots of common areas, staff guided tours and a cafe with an international vibe. City Backpackers gives you a lot more than a bed to sleep in - It's simply your base camp for travellers exploring Stockholm.Free high speed internet on Mac and PC computers and free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms 24 hours!Free pasta - cook as much as you can eat!Free evening sauna - the ultimate Swedish experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Backpackers Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing