We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    345
    45
    21
    7
See reviews for
42
79
517
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
614 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Clean room, excellent amenities, friendly staff and a great location, all for a fair price. Not much more you can ask for from a hostel. Our room was also very quiet which meant we all got a decent night's sleep.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Danrzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

While studying abroad in London during fall term 2013, two friends and I set out for a 10-day trip through four countries. Our second stop was in Stockholm, Sweden. Stockholm in the fall is beautiful, but I digress. We easily found this cool-looking hostel and were greeted promptly by a friendly staff. We stayed three nights here and it was very cheap... yes, the price was in SEK but if I remember right, it was still cheap.
The rooms were cool and trendy, with a seating area outside and the rule to take off your shoes when coming in from outside - made it feel homey. You had to have the keycode to get into your room which was both comforting and slightly inconvenient if you found yourself without the slip of paper with the code. There were cabinets for personal belongings in the room. They offer a variety of events - we participated in a Swedish trivia night on our first night and met many interesting people from other countries. The prize was a breakfast ticket.
One day, the sole of my poor worn-out combat boot completely detached from the rest of my shoe. I went to the front desk to ask a worker if they had a suggestion for me. He wrote down the apparent Swedish word for "shoe glue" and told me a department store to take it to. Very helpful. I think there was also free tea and fruit in the lobby.
The showers and bathrooms are nice as well.
Check this place out on Google maps - you can even go inside. Highly recommend. Wish I could go back now.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catrob11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at city backpackers few years ago . the location is really nice, very close to train station. The common kitchen was providing free pasta when I stayed there. The rooms are nice and seems u r staying in a house. They used to provide access code of the main door everyday and thus u could enter anytime in night also.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Raman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family and I stayed in a private room with bath and couldn't have been happier. The staff was knowledgeable and helpful. The kitchen was well stocked and common areas were kept clean and it was a joy rubbing elbows with people from around the world.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank T O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

It was many years ago when I stay at this hostel. It might have changed now but as far I remember we really had fun here. The rooms were very clean. The staff was very kind and the location was convenient. They used to have a common kitchen so you can prepare simple dishes and share with your friends

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Abi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava Region, Slovakia
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

over the years i'v stayed in maybe 100 hostels... this makes the top 5 so far.
it has plenty of space for socializing , well kept bathrooms , large kitchen (with free pasta) and very friendly/helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fossil666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
517 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
1,923 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#21 of 154 in Stockholm
1,175 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Backpackers Hostel

Property: City Backpackers Hostel
Address: 2a Upplandsgatan, Stockholm 111 23, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — City Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect downtown location, lots of common areas, staff guided tours and a cafe with an international vibe. City Backpackers gives you a lot more than a bed to sleep in - It's simply your base camp for travellers exploring Stockholm.Free high speed internet on Mac and PC computers and free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms 24 hours!Free pasta - cook as much as you can eat!Free evening sauna - the ultimate Swedish experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your City Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Backpackers Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing