We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best Hostels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the Best Hostels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great staff that cares about their recommendations for things to do, awesome shower pressure, great common areas, attracts loads of fun people, easy to meet others. Do the bike tour - it allowed me to meet a lot of other solo travelers to go hang out with. Just really a pleasant, pleasant experience.

Room Tip: I was in the cheapest one and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank BrennanWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    335
    44
    21
    7
See reviews for
42
79
505
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
World Traveler
Level Contributor
213 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Love the free pasta. Friendly, helpful staff. Comfortable bed. Excellent WiFi.

Only complaint: the hostel is kept clean, but it is often cleaned during peak hours, e.g., 0800 and 0830 on two mornings in the dining/kitchen in the midst of breakfast; another morning 0930 the lounge was being cleaned with a dozen guests using it. Isn’t possible to clean theses spaces on off-hours when fewer people are using them? Otherwise, the best hostel in Sweden.

Room Tip: I stayed in an 8-bed dorm, Kongsholmen, which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBPmanager, Guest Relations Manager at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hello,
Thank you for the suggestion. I will bring it up on our next management meeting and see if we can change the schedule.
Kindly,
Ellinor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hostel was very friendly and perfectly located in the centre of the city, walking distance from the central station.

Staff were very knowlegable and informed us of all the best spots to visit.

The hostel itself was very clean with average sized rooms and good facilities. We met other people in the courtyard who had stayed elsewhere in Stockholm and said nowhere compared for price and quality.

Would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesBExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Close to the trains, comfy accommodations, cheap and delicious breakfast for purchase in their cafe. Stockholm had made me feel very welcome as this was my first hostel stay ever!
Internet worked great, and I stayed in an all female dorm. Very happy and would return.

Room Tip: Book well in advance, they book up super fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolaAbby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hostel's basically great. All the key things are hit, and hit well. It's got a nice sense of personality and style, which adds to the experience, and it's really easy to chill out there. Plus, there's free pasta. FREE! Couldn't quite give it 5/5 (reasons below), but I'd thoroughly recommend it.

Positives:
- Price. Fair, basically.

- Location. Close to the train station, and really easy to wander into the center of town. Plenty of restaurants and a supermarket nearby. Lovely relaxed neighbourhood (although a few beggars about).

- Amenities. Nice communal area, good showers, and they provide Macs for you to use (free of charge, I believe). The no shoes rule is nice, the staff are helpful, and the kitchen's reasonably well stocked (although some more pans would be a very cheap way to improve it).

- Style. This hostel's damn cool.

- Rooms. Ours was a room of six, it was a great size, had it's own door code, and each pair of beds (bunk beds) was set apart in its own little section, meaning increased privacy. If you're travelling solo, it probably makes no difference, but if you're travelling with one other person, as I was, it's a surprisingly nice feature. Might not be true of all the rooms, mind. Probably isn't.

Negatives:
- WiFi. Our room was underground, which may have some bearing on the WiFi, which was a bit flaky. The hostel have clearly done all they can for it, as there are loads of different WiFi outlets, all in the same hostel (and designated to different bits of it) for you to use. Not a genuine concern, 9/10 times it works, but a slight annoyance when it doesn't.

- Showers. The showers are semi-communal. Or at least ours was. It was a shower room with two showers in, each with its own curtain but, bizarrely, with a translucent screen between them. Not sure why an opaque screen couldn't. be used. Really didn't matter to me, but out of politeness to the other dude, I'd always face the other way. If you're a little uncomfortable with seeing someone else's blurred junk whilst you're showering, this might not be ideal.

- Laundry. The hostel provides a washing machine and a dryer, which is great. However, both are sort of useless (especially the dryer, which appears to just leak water into a bucket that no-one empties until it's too late and the floor's flooded), and the price for washing powder at the reception is insane - I think it was 50 krona. By the time I got to Stockholm, everything I owned smelled of sweat or second-hand weed smoke (thanks, Amsterdam), so I really went to town on the laundry, and struggled to get my clothes dry. There also *seemed* to be a kind of queuing system in place, with people dumping their dirty stuff outside the machines, but I'd just go ahead and ignore that, if I were you.

- Silence. The communal area in the basement had a bizarre vibe - everyone was there, in silence, on their laptops (apart from one girl having an over-romantic Skype). Felt a bit library-esque. Not the hostel's fault, and there's a TV on the go, but perhaps the abundance of plug sockets encourages a slightly unadventurous lack of socialising.

- Heat/underground. If it's hot, you'll know. Whilst the air conditioning does exist, it's nowhere near strong enough to keep you at a happy temperature in the summer.

Verdict:
Great hostel. A couple of minor things to mention in the complaints, but they really don't ruin it at all. Stay there!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjimmy151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBPmanager, Receptionschef at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hello!
Thank you very much for your feed back.

We really have to do something about the laundry, your description of the dryer is hilarious and accurate, and shame on us for not doing anything about it before you noticed. But we're on it now.

We have realized that very few people are as casual about nakedness as the Swedes, so now we have a new shower section with private showers, and our goal is to change all the showers to more private ones.

Some people do thend to sink in to their phones in the common areas, but a sure way to meet people is to join one of the tours or activities we provide.

Again, we really appreciate your opinion, thank you and welcome back!
/Ellinor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurzburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Good place to stay in Stockholm:
+ central (near Main train station and Metro)
+ friendly staff
+ easy to meet people
+ hostel activities (Pub Crawl, bike tour etc etc)
- rooms near the backyard quite noisy

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Matthias L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Overall I had a very good stay at City Backpackers - the hostel is centrally located, the facilities were clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the amenities (kitchen, laundry, wifi) were all great. My one complaint was the noise - the hostel caters to a younger crowd, and it got a bit loud at night. I stayed in a room near the outdoor courtyard area, and people where sitting there talking loudly well into the early hours of the morning, which made it difficult to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bckpckr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBPmanager, Receptionschef at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hello!
Thank you for your review! I will remind all the night staff about our no noise after 23 h rule, and make sure they make frequent rounds of the inner yard. We want people to have fun, but after all, you do pay for a bed, and you are supposed to be able to sleep in it..
Kindly,
Ellinor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#7 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#8 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Backpackers Hostel

Property: City Backpackers Hostel
Address: 2a Upplandsgatan, Stockholm 111 23, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — City Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect downtown location, lots of common areas, staff guided tours and a cafe with an international vibe. City Backpackers gives you a lot more than a bed to sleep in - It's simply your base camp for travellers exploring Stockholm.Free high speed internet on Mac and PC computers and free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms 24 hours!Free pasta - cook as much as you can eat!Free evening sauna - the ultimate Swedish experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Backpackers Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing