We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Cozy in an Excellent Location”
Review of Hotel Tre Sma Rum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tre Sma Rum
Ranked #98 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2008

Tre Sma Rum was recommended to me by an American who lived for many years in Stockholm, now lives in Moscow, but returns often to Stockholm for rest and relaxation.

Of Tre Sma Rum's greatest selling points, perhaps its most significant is its location.

* Tre Sma Rum is only a five minute walk from Mariatorget subway station, which has the added advantage of a street-level elevator that takes you down into, or up from, the station. This is very convenient if you have bulky luggage.

* Mariatorget station is only a ten-minute ride from Stockholm's Central Station. This is very convenient if you use the Arlanda Express train, or the less expensive bus service, to and from the airport.

* Stockholm is a wonderful city for walking, and Tre Sma Rum is only a twenty-minute walk to Gamla stan, Stockholm's delightful medieval center. The walk itself is extremely enjoyable.

* Tre Sma Rum's immediate neighborhood is very interesting and non-touristy. You have everything. Very upscale restaurants and pubs, and very down-to-earth restaurants and pubs.

* Not to be missed: a fifteen-minute walk from Tre Sma Rum down Hogbergsgatan, the street on which the hotel is located, takes you to Master Mikaels gata, a collection of carefully preserved traditional wooden Swedish homes and buildings from the early 19th and late 18th centuries. This small area also offers incredible views of Stockholm.

About the hotel itself....

I stayed twice at Tre Sma Rum. What you are getting is a small, immaculate, but cheerful room that shares three common bathrooms, and a breakfast room.

This is definitely not a place for someone expecting luxury. But this also isn't a place for someone expecting the clutter, noise, informality, and "party atmosphere" of a hostel.

I think it's an excellent place for adults who really want to get a good, authentic feel for Stockholm and who don't want to deal with fuss and expense of an up-market hotel.

Stockholm is a beautiful but expensive city that doesn't seem to offer many bargains for travelers. Tre Sma Rum is one of the city's few bargains and should be appreciated accordingly.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Hamudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2007

Really can't take issue with what's already been posted here, Tre Små Rum is more of a hostel or student bostad than a hotel, you enter from the street with a code supplied by the management (Emily) and a stairway descends to a long basement hallway. The seven sleeping rooms are situated along this hallway, and there is a shower, wash baisin and toilet at each end with a central communal kitchen and dining area.

The communal areas were cleaned daily. The kitchen/dining area was well stocked with coffee, tea, cereal, milk, yogurt, bananas, bread, etc, and guests could help themselves as/when to whatever was available.

Glassware/crockery were plentiful, once used could either be hand-washed or deposited in the dishwasher. Toasters, a microwave, and kettle were also provided. In terms of the shared bathroom areas, the shower pressure was reasonable, with plenty of hot water on demand, and under-floor heating (always a nice touch).

The room itself was ok, had a high ceiling, since it was located in the basement, it was slightly cool (not damp) when we came in, however the heating element worked well and swiftly brought the room up to a reasonable temperature. Traffic noise from the street was minimal but one could hear people coming/going (we were in the room next to the staircase).

The thick curtain kept out the light so we were able to sleep late (we also were thankfully spared the obligatory early morning room-cleaning annoyance), the bed was both firm and comfortable, no problems with any kind of vermin. The TV worked although reception was variable.

The only criticism one could potentially make: usually in Scandinavia, hotels/hostel rooms are absolutely pristine; this was not the case at Tre Små Rum. The paintwork had numerous marks and scuffings, a few unfilled drill holes were visible where fittings had been moved, a couple of the knobs on the dressers and cabinets were loose, the dresser top was worn with chipped paint. If these few small details were addressed, am certain a better impression would be created, help make the rooms look cared for, less shabby.

In the final analysis, none of the defects mentioned was particularly significant, and we still were perfectly comfortable in the room, happy with its central location, etc. If you're not especially fussy and looking for reasonably priced, basic accommodation in Södermalm, and don't mind sharing a bathroom or kitchen area, Tre Små Rum should fit the bill.

Stayed: December 2007
2  Thank hal_jehlikakik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2006

Stayed here for a week in September and really liked it. It's location is excellent, we loved Sodermalm, and the square near the hotel.
The rooms are comfy, yes they are small, but that is quite clear from the name of the hotel! The beds were super comfy, the rooms were really clean, and the bathrooms were fine. We felt like we had the bathroom near our room to ourself as we were never waiting to use it. The bathrooms are cleaned everyday. The kitchen is also clean and really cosy, the fridge is well stocked.

Christian, the owner was there every morning offering advice on places to visit etc, he was really helpful. On our last day he allowed us to store out huge suitcase in the laundry room after we had checked out. It's a very relaxed place, but if you are used to room service etc maybe this isn't the place for you.

The only minor issue was that the walls are quite thin, you can hear people in the room next door occaisionally, but this didn't bother us. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank *********
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2006

Shockingly, Lonely Planet raved about this hotel, calling it one of the greatest in Stockholm. It is basically a hallway in a basement with 7 rooms off the hallway. It's in a great neighborhood, I'll give it that, but the rooms are bare and walls are paper thin. The 'hotel manager' is never there, and gives incoming guests a door code (which never changed) to let themselves in. The one payphone didn't work. The bathrooms were decent, but shower curtains would help. I would not stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone.

1  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2005

We have been planning to stay here for a while as we had read good reviews of the hotel.

The owners were very helpful as we would be arriving late, and all arrangements were made which was great.

The hotel is very clean with nice bathrooms, however, we felt that the rooms were a bit more like a hostel than a hotel and I personally found it a little claustraphobic.

The hotel is in Sodermalm and is quite a walk from the centre of town and the old town. But Sodermalm is very safe and there are some nice bars and restaurants.

The breakfast is in the fridge and you help yourself and basically are expected to put the plates in the dishwasher etc. The selection of food was good, and I suppose for £50 a night it wasn't bad, but we stayed in a lovely hotel for about £5 more which was much nicer.

I would describe Tre Sma Rum as more of a hostel than a hotel and would say it was average, probably wouldn't go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lovethecold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2005

This hotel was ok to stay in, only 7 rooms so it was nice and quiet. All of the rooms are in the basement of a building with a small window. We were in the middle of summer and the room sometimes got a bit stuffy. There's no air conditioning or fans and the room was really small - i.e. there was hardly any room for our bags. Our towels and bed linen was never changed in the week we were there (not that we cared but they did say they were going to do it). They also take payment when you arrive, not at the end of your stay. You share a bathroom with other guests but this is ok because there are 3 bathrooms catering for 7 rooms so there's always a free bathroom.

On the bright side, they were quite helpful with info re: stockholm and the hotel was in a nice area of the city. However, I'd recommend looking around to see if you can get a better deal for your money (we paid 595SEK per night for the room).

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Leersum,Netherlands
11
Reviewed 2 May 2005

Tre sma rum is really great
If you go to Stockholm,you really love to stay at tre sma rum!!!
It is so easy to stay here,near the centre of Stockholm.
From tre sma rum it is easy to go everywhere in th city,and it is never aproblem to go back,any time.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#89 of 155 in Stockholm
241 reviews
Vasastan
Wasa Park Hotell
Wasa Park Hotell
#109 of 155 in Stockholm
69 reviews
Mariatorget
Hellstens Glashus
Hellstens Glashus
#93 of 155 in Stockholm
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#8 of 155 in Stockholm
2,383 reviews
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#97 of 155 in Stockholm
280 reviews
Kungsholmen
Connect Hotel City
Connect Hotel City
#67 of 155 in Stockholm
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tre Sma Rum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tre Sma Rum

Address: 81 Hoegbergsgatan, Stockholm 118 54, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £77 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Tre Sma Rum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tre Sma Rum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tre Sma Rum (3 Small Rooms)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing