We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Prince of the Arts”

Prins Eugens Waldemarsudde
Book In Advance
More Info
US$70.27*
and up
Stockholm Pass
Ranked #17 of 304 things to do in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Prince Eugen's Waldemarsudde, originally the home of Prince Eugen, became state-owned after the Prince's death in accordance with his will, and is now among the most-visited art museums in Sweden. In the Mansion the Prince's Private Apartments remain mostly unchanged, while the two upper floors and the Gallery building are used for temporary exhibitions or for exhibiting works by the Prince or from his collections. The estate is set in a beautiful parkland, featuring centuries-old oak trees. Its situation by the inlet to Stockholm harbour presents the visitor with stunning views of the water. Welcome to Sweden's most beautiful art museum!
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Prince of the Arts”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The home of former Prince Eugene; a member of the royal family, an artist and an art collector. The house and location is worth a visit in and of itself and the art is a bonus, if not breathtaking.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Staffan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    152
    35
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting.”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Tripped up on this by accident but spent a very pleasant couple of hours in the house and gallery. The gardens are in a superb setting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ER1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely flowers”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Popular every opening day. If you want to visit the cafe be there early immediately after opening. Fabulous fresh flower arrangements all year round.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cousin49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty old home”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Worth the trip if you are on Djurgarden, just take the tram to the last stop. They had some nice art on display, and the house was interesting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
294 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Arrogant manager ruined our visit”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

While the setting for this museum is indeed very beautiful, we had a serious issue with the elderly woman manager. We had written an email several days earlier asking for clarification on their pet policy, since nothing is mentioned on their website. Not receiving a response, we decided to come anyway and arrived with our small dog in a carrying sack. The staff at Millesgarden had allowed us to bring our dog and we hoped Waldemarsudde would have the same policy. When we arrived the two young cashiers were very apologetic and professional about not responding to our email and clarifying that no pets are allowed inside the museum. Then an older woman manager arrived and with an attitude as if she were the Queen of Romania proceeded to berate us and to mock everything we said. Having zero customer service skills she talked to us as if we were something she had found under her shoe. Her lack of professionalism is what one might expect at a museum in Italy or Greece ... but not in Sweden. Despite being denied entrance to the museum, we did enjoy visiting the beautiful grounds.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mascalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prins Eugens Waldemarsudde also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Prins Eugens Waldemarsudde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing