We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unplanned visit to a quiet oriental museum”

Museum of Far Eastern Antiquities
Ranked #97 of 310 things to do in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Far Eastern Antiquities is a vivid meeting place for Asian cultures, a forum for experiences and debate on Asia in the world, culturally and traditionally – both in the present and in the future.
Il Gzira, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unplanned visit to a quiet oriental museum”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We went on a Tuesday since it was open until 8pm (Tue-Fri until 5pm). We arrived at around 7.15pm so we rushed through it. Ideally we would have spent at least an hour to read the displays. When we visited there were some parts of the museum which were closed for renovation. The major exhibits are the Japanese and Chinese collections. Worth a visit if you have a few minutes to spare or like us nothing to do on a Tuesday evening. The museum is included in the Stockholm Card.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jean-PierrePace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    24
    14
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great collections”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I recommend to visit this museum to everyone. They have great collections of Japanese, Korean and Chinese art and books. Sometimes you can hit a theme exhibition like "The Japanese characters" this spring.

The location of the museum also offer unusual and stunning view of The Royal Palace.

Helpful?
Thank Adam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I didn't know this museum existed up until I was involved in a work project there. So I was fortunate to see it without paying, but I think it's worth a visit.

They have a very nice collection of Asian artifacts, a HUGE collection of books and a cafe and shop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cristinablendea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
618 reviews
394 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“Small museum without any crowds”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stumbled across this museum when I got off the ferry at the wrong stop. Get the ferry to Djurgarden from Gamla Stan and it only takes 10 minutes to get to the island of Skeppsholmen. The museum is located here. It was not the kind of museum I expected to find in Stockholm. There were some very interesting exhibits from all over Asia and they have temporary exhibitions changing all the time. You can combine this with a walk around the island and a view back to Stockholm from the water.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelbugVietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not so good as i expected”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

quite small and rather limited exhibitions, considering im from Asia. did not really like the temporary exhibitions, and the japanese permanent display is fairly cute and interesting.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Litsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Far Eastern Antiquities also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Far Eastern Antiquities? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing