We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aifur Krog & Bar

Aifur Krog & Bar
Reserve with
Aifur Krog & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 3,028 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$171
Cuisines: European, Swedish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Description: Aifur Restaurant & Bar is named after the legendary Viking ship Aifur and the result of 15 years of accumulated knowledge and research about life, food and culture from the years 700-1100, merged with skilled and knowledgeable staff in a great location in ”Gamla stan”, the Old Town of Stockholm. Our kitchen is historical informed and for those who are just thirsty there is a seperate bar area.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Must Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Came across this place by accident. THIS IS A MUST STOP. We did not eat here, but wandered in for a beer and had a great time. Love the Viking atmosphere. The staff played the part and were all great. We were there on a Tuesday. They have live music on Thursday through Saturday, so if you plan to go then, you may want to make a reservation for dinner(that is what the staff told us). Really fun, neat place to see. Add it to your list!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    272
    63
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
152 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Viking restaurant with nice ambiance..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Airfur Krog is in Gamla Stan known as Viking restaurant with nice ambiance.
As walking downstairs you find yourself in the middle of a dark medievel cellar,
Tables, staff,ceiling, spoons and forks are from medievel ages.
İt is a little bit clostrofobic and hot place .But nice place.İf you try to eat as in medievel ages viking food try this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Atıl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cheesy & Fun !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I visited Aifur on the Friday evening before our Baltic cruise departure on Sunday. The reviews were very good and we decided to try it too. The food and service are very good but the atmosphere and live music make it an ideal tourist experience. We shared a table with a friendly Swedish couple that drove 60 miles to have dinner here. It's a good but slightly expensive meal but worth while. We paid £75.00 for two starters, two main dishes and two soft drinks. Reservations are needed !!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodilovesamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, very friendly staff, nice decoration and live music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The staff was very friendly, the whole decoration was quite good and atmosphere were (touristic) but nice and funny, the food was great, the meat perfectly cooked (not to reddish, not overly cooked)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Super fun and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was so much fun, and the food was very tasty! Touristy, maybe, but they do it really well. The whole place is lit with candles, tough for reading, but whatever, lends so much to the atmosphere. There are musicians playing, everyone is in costume and they announce people as they arrive. There are big tables where everyone is seated, and if you need to get in or out of the back, they just help you walk over the table. Old Viking custom they say, pretty hilarious I say.

They have a good beer menu, but to keep it authentic we had mead. The waitress helped us pick two different ones, both were fine. Mead is not something I'd drink every day, but when in, uh, Stockholm, do as the Vikings do. I had the pike and my sister had the salmon, both were very good. And eating veggies with a two pronged fork was quite a challenge, but one that I was up for. My nephew had the kids portion of the chicken, which he was told to eat with his hands by the waitress. That may have been his favorite part of the trip!

We also had coffee and dessert, the apple cake with cream. Yum! The coffee came in pottery cups with a pitcher of cream, tasty and I still felt like a Viking.

The only bad part of the evening was that it took a long time to pay. There was a big group of people and they all paid ON SEPARATE CREDIT CARDS! Ugh! The waitress was nice to let them do that, but it did slow things down. We saw what was happening so we just sat and enjoyed the world of the Vikings a bit longer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jillyb003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aifur Krog & Bar also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Aifur Krog & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing