We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice food at Galways in Stockholm”
Review of Galway's Irish Pub

Galway's Irish Pub
Ranked #1,112 of 3,085 Restaurants in Stockholm
Cuisines: Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Norrmalm
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice food at Galways in Stockholm”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

the pub/restaurant is smack in the middle of Stockholm at Kungsgatan. You walk upstairs and end up in a pub and a restaurant. They usually show sport events on TV screens (mostly football/soccer). So I didn't expect much of the food when we went to eat there for the first time. But... we were really surpriced. The food is really good and we have returned to the place many times to eat. I can strongly recommend Galways for nice food. And if you like football... you will just love it even more.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Göran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    24
    12
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A little shady...”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This "Irish" pub with Scottish tartans and regalia on the wall is one of the last pubs I recommend when asked.

Can become quite rowdy late nights and on weekends and lacks a lot when it comes to atmosphere.

Beer is your standard Sthlm city centre prices and comes with an OK spread of brands.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank robbowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good pub!”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I really like this pub. It is friendly, not too expensive and with good music. On a friday or saturday evening/night, I recomend it. Or go there anytime at week, I think they have after work prices.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Maijja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“An insult to anyone Irish”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This "pub" is Irish by name and a few bits of garbage on the walls only. None of the staff are Irish. Its the worst 1/2 litre of guinness in Stockholm. The bar man only spoke Swedish and did not know what a "pint" was. After 11pm this hell hole turns into a would be nightclub. Its impossible to even hear the person next to you, and thats downstairs! They have a large selection of Scotch whiskys. They see no difference between Scotch and Irish, even though its meant to be an "Irish" bar. Had the misfortune of being here briefly for St Patricks day, the only difference in this bar to a normal day was that there were posters up.
Awful place, awful prices, awful food, rude staff.Its the type of place you would go if there is nowhere (and I mean nowhere) else open. This place should not be allowed to associate itself in any way as an "Irish" bar. One word sums it up -"dump"

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AngusY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galway's Irish Pub also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Galway's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing