We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big and friendly but troublesom internet...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Ranked #46 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Winterthur
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Big and friendly but troublesom internet...”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I've attended a conference at Clarion Hotel in Stockholm and stayed there for four nights. The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable but there is no wardrobe or dresser to store your clothes. Breakfast offers quite a variety of choices, including freshly made omelettes, but coffee is terrible. Staff is helpful and friendly and the location is quite convenient to get into town and elsewhere.

However, as a business/conference traveller I was using the internet on different devices and that is just one of the worst experiences I've had: Even though there is free WLAN available you need to use a different login for each device and it lasts for 24 hours only until you have to use another login. But that's not enough of the trouble: anytime you switch off your device and start it again, you need to sign in again (and no, it was not because I didn't know how to do it, as all the other participants of the conference had the same issues...). Very bad internet service indeed!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissGuyWinti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,003
    1,039
    396
    125
    51
See reviews for
322
850
169
811
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I stayed here for 10 days and always enjoy this hotel as its quite modern and well looked after hotel. The breakfast is great except for sat and sun where there seems to be a lot of locals flocking to the buffet.
The fitness centre is small but ok for a decent workout. Free weights goes up to 22 kg, treadmill, bikes and a few machines. Bonus is the fruits you can grab after your workout :-)

The cleaning of the room leaves a bit to be desired and restocking of the minibar doesnt happen often enough, however I could just phone reception and get it sorted out but never bothered doing it.

Service is general was very professional, not too friendly but taking into consideration this is Sweden it was better than the average hotel.
Rooms doesnt have a tea/coffee station is might be a negative for some.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens,GREECE
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

PROS
- Very good location
--- by metro, only 3 stops from Gamla Stan - 36 SEK ticket
--- by taxi, 10 mins at 120 SEK
--- on foot, 20 mins
- Soundproof room
- Very wide variety and good quality of breakfast
- Huge breakfast room with nice design and cosy seats. Very bright with a view at the nearby area.

CONS
- A little careless cleanliness
- Relatively small beds
- Low lighting in the room
- Peculiar/disfunctional bathroom door

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aikcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima Region, Peru
Level Contributor
689 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Love this hotel, the location is great, rooms are clean and very nice, close to the metro station, all arround modern and fashionable. The service was very good and the restaurant Minami, was great!!! I love the asian cuisine , I had very good Japanese , sushi sashimi, excelent, there is live DJ , with very good music..the place is fun!! I will come back, with my family , because this time was very short ..so I will come back , I love it!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The best: The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is really good and offers a lot of choice.

Could be better:Climatisation is very often not working properly too cold or too hot or like last time blowing very noisyly all night!!!

SPA : NO SAUNA FOR GUESTS NOT EVEN WITH A SILVER STATUS. ONLY OPEN FROM 8 to 20...IF YOU WORK THEN TOO BAD!
AND WHAT I FIND OUTRAGEOUS IS THE ENTRANCE COST 95 SEK ENTRY WHEREAS THE SWIMMING POOL CLOSE BY WITH OLYMPIC LANES OPEN FROM 6:30 to 21 with SAUNA IS ONLY 85!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe_AKIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyChu, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Stockholm, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Hello Phillippe, thank you. We're very pleased that you find the staff to be friendly and helpful, and that you enjoy our breakfast. I am sorry that you had a problem with the temperature and vent, and hope that we were able to help you with it.

With regards to the sauna, we certainly appreciate your opinions and have even internally registered them as a guest idea for review (including the opening hours). However I would like to point out that the entrance is for access to Elements Spa as an entire experience. The 2 different types of saunas are only a part of our spa concept - also included is access to the spa pool and several other features such as yoga sessions, fruit and tea, and unlimited usage of a wide range of products such as aryuvedic oils and creams.

We respect that your interest possibly lies only in the sauna, but on the other hand one could look at your comparison with the nearby pool complex in another light and see how much more of an experience you get for only 10 SEK! I do hope you are able to give Elements Spa a try sometime. We are very grateful for your patronage and that you contribute with your opinions - we value them very much. Please don't hesitate to let us (or myself personally) know if we can help you at anytime. Best Regards, Anthony, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Its very nice hotel, modern. We loved stay in this hotel even its not so close to city center. Taxi is not so cheep here...but we used to travel by motorbikes so it was ok. Room was nice and clean, but little bit small. Breakfast was delicious but there were too many people in the same time and you had to wait in the rows...Hotel bar in the first floor was good, alcohol bit expensive but thats normal here;). Receptionists were always kind and help us with wifi. The only wird thing was parking in the next building and loooong way back to hotel. First time we got lost in another building ;))))))

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyChu, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Stockholm, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Hello Lucia, We're very happy that you loved your stay and had a positive experience from the different services and aspects of the hotel. I'm not sure if we managed to inform you at the time but the parking garage is not run by us but rather an external garage "chain".

As it is situated under and behind the hotel, the exit to street level is in the buildning just besides us. We also offer valet parking service from our entrance and back where we have a section of the garage that is exclusive to us. However I understand in your cases this was not applicable as the situation with motorbikes is a little different... Thanks for writing about your experience and we hope to be able to welcome you back to us! Regards, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Giuliano Terme, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Been there last week for a medical congress. Checked-in 1.30 in the morning: the man at the desk offer me an upgrade for 200 SEK per night for a larger room. I accepted. Once in the room, I realised it was a room for disabled people. Usually this is not a problem for me, but there wasn't any wardrobe so I had to keep my clothes in the suitcase.
More, the day after the shower soap dispenser went out of soap. Someone removed the empty dispenser but it wasn't replaced by a new one.
Moreover, the third day of my stay my room wasn't cleaned (I was out of my room from 9 am till 4 pm). At 4.30 someone knocked at my door, I answered that the room would have been free from 6 to 9 pm.
After dinner, I went back to the hotel but my room wasn't cleaned yet (still no soap in the shower...).
The morning after, after my complaint, they disconted me the upgrade... never more!!!

Room Tip: Change hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amelio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyChu, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Stockholm, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Hello Amelio, I would first and foremost like to apologise for the inconveniences caused during your stay. Your frustrations are fully warrented and it seems that you somehow experienced several instances of lack of attention to details - the kind of small details that we normally pride ourselves on - and in doing so affected your impression and satisfaction.

I am glad to see that we compensated you for the problems caused and hope that it may be of some consulation to know that we proactively use these rare but unfortunate circumstances when we learn of them to help keep our quality control and routines in order so that similar instances are prevented. What you experienced is not typical of our standard of service and we are sincerely sorry. If you would like to further discuss your stay or if you have any questions that I can help answer then please do contact me at any time via anthony.chu @ choice.se. Best Regards, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Clarion Hotel Sign
Clarion Hotel Sign
#36 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,298 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#47 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#35 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
Kungsholmen
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
#63 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Scandic Malmen
Scandic Malmen
#80 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Stockholm

Property: Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Address: 98 Ringvaegen | Box 20025, Stockholm 118 60, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#11 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#24 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Stockholm 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Clarion Hotel Stockholm guests can enjoy a modern hotel with art and music and design as part of its integral character. Be inspired and enjoy the hotel's unique pulse and surroundings with our restaurant Eatery Social and our heavenly Ayurveda-inspired Elements Spa. It is not however just about fantastic food, spectacular art displays, great music or mingling. Our passion and focus is on providing you with a wonderful night's sleep and increasing your quality of life. Choose from our 532 rooms and luxurious suites that best suit your needs. We look forward to welcoming you and giving you a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Nordic Choice Hotels, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Stockholm
Stockholm Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing