We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice - Great Breakfast - OK Location - Rooms Basic But Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Ranked #45 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Very Nice - Great Breakfast - OK Location - Rooms Basic But Clean”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I wanted to give the Clarion Hotel 5 stars but there were two negatives:

1. The bed was soft and not the most relaxing to sleep on (almost every bed I have slept in across Scandinavia has been soft so maybe that is just the way they like their beds).
2. Our room had a "Hong Kong" view, i.e. we had a view of a blank wall 2 meters from our window - the only way we could see the sky was a small chink of light when stood by the window (our room 584 seemed to be the only one to suffer from this).

Onto the good stuff:

1. The breakfast was the best we have had on our travels across Scandinavia - a nice mix of Swedish options and wider European foods.
2. The restaurant area is very cool and funky - it is a real destination which you wouldn't mind visiting specifically for the décor
3. The bedroom is clean and functional. Each floor has a different Scandinavian/Nordic theme (Finnish, Norwegian, Danish and Swedish - not sure about Icelandic).

The location is ok - next to the central station. Stockholm's Old Town is a bit of a hike but is still walk-able. Everything is reasonably close.

In short - I would definitely stay at the Clarion if I was in Stockholm again - but I would make sure I got another room, one with some daylight!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    1,088
    417
    136
    54
See reviews for
348
904
177
840
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very beautiful, there's a park right next to it so you can rent a bike and ride, stop at the docks and the restaurants along the shore of the island, and have a good time. A little far from the historic and shopping areas, though, and taxis are expensive.
The rooms are good but if you need separate beds, be prepared to sleep 1 inch apart from your roommate cause they simply split the main bed and there's no space between the two resulting beds.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyChu, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Stockholm, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Hi Samara! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here, thank you for choosing us!

While we are not in the city centre, the metro station besides our entrance can get you to the old town within 5 minutes, and in the city shopping area in under 10. However I understand your point as Stockholm is made up of a close group of islands bridged together and one of the quirks that comes with that is that it often takes longer to travel to other parts of the city by car or bus than it does by the underground.

With regards to our twin rooms, we do have side tables that restrict how far apart the beds can separate but the majority of the rooms can allow to have approx. 3 inches apart. However some of our rooms vary slightly in design so a few can have a little less between. If we ever have the pleasure of welcoming you back let us know and we'll be happy to accommodate your needs!

It's also fantastic to hear that you discovered the lovely waterfront area behind and around where we are situated as some guests only head off north toward the old-town direction and can miss it, which would be a shame especially in the summer period. Thanks so much again and we hope to welcome you back to us in the future!

Best Regards, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

We came to this hotel with no reservation or expectations. The hotel was greatly located 2 train stations from Gamla Stan. The Old Town! The rooms were very clean but thr carpet was very stained. However we could not had been happier! There was a chilean house keeper, It think her name was Rita. She was super helpful. Hakan the night front desk cleark went out if his way to help me with my kid! Everybody was super helpful and friendly. Janulle I think was her name was amazing during breakfast! The breakfast spread in this hotel was superb!!! We loved every little detail!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlejandraM936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyChu, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Stockholm, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Hej Alejandra, what an honour and a pleasure it is to hear that you and your family enjoyed your spontaneous stay with us so much!

I'm sorry to hear that your room had a marked carpet. It's very important to us that we keep updated as we have a constant flow of guests so I'd like to mention that we do have a planned carpet change scheduled soon - hopefully something you'll see as an imporvement if we have the pleasure of having you stay with us again.

It's also very nice of you to mention the staff that you met. I've sent a copy of your kind words to them - they will be thrilled to see that they made an impression and helped contribute to your visit here in Stockholm. Take good care and all the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turin
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

the hotel is close to the metro and to a public swimming pool and a nice park with canals along which you can go for running or walk.
this is a big and ugly building from the outside, with a stylish inside.
standard room is very small, and bathroom is basically furnished and accessorized.
breakfast was good, we were there for a congress and we ate at the restaurant which has a terrible service (waiters do not clean dirty and used tables and are zero attentive) and food was repetitive and basic.
to resume: big hotel, modern, comfortable and clean, small rooms, some rooms can be noisy and in some cases air conditioned was excessive in cold or warm and could not be regulated.

Room Tip: alway ask to see your room and check noise and temperature before accepting it !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xconrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyChu, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Stockholm, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Hello Conrad! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed several aspects of your stay but disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations as we strive to do with all our guests.

As with many hotels we have several room categories of varying sizes that we can happily help to accomodate the specific preferences of guests, and at our hotel some of the rooms even within the same category can vary slightly in size (i.e have slightly more space than advertised) due to the design and architecture so if we ever had the honour of you staying with us again and giving us a second chance please do not hesistate to let us know if you have any specific requests and we'll do our very best to accommodate.

Regarding the room temperature , the rooms typically have centralised ventilation set at neutral with a small range of regulation available, but as we receive many requests to match guest preference (often from both ends of the spectrum on the same day) we are able to fine tune the regulation with an adjustment in the ventilation shaft. However because tastes differ widely it's important that we set it back to neutral again once a guest checks out. It seems that you have experienced both ends of settings that have not been readjusted, so I'm sorry for the inconvenience and I will be looking into the routines.

I'm glad to see that you enjoyed our breakfast but sorry that you were not happy with the restaurant experience. What you highlighted is definately not the norm or what we strive for, and we often receive compliments for the food and service so I will be taking your points up with the department to make sure that our consistency and quality control is in order.

Thanks so much again for sharing your valuable feedback and helping us to improve! We hope to be able to welcome you back and impress you across the board on all counts. Sincere regards, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This hotel as you would see from a map is a little out of the cbd but there are shops and department stores right beside the hotel and a train station. The hotel staff were lovely and welcoming, rooms were nice though very small. No tea or coffee facilities in the room and no power point for hair straightener in bathroom? the touch of the abba music playing (semi) loudly in the lifts was quite uplifting and certainly excited my 4yo. Breakfast was outright amazing. We were walked in on 3 times unfortunately by housekeeping in the staff but didnt cause too many dramas.
overall if this hotel is close to something you would stay in the part of stockholm for then certainly a hotel to pick.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaramati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyChu, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Stockholm, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Thank you so much jaramati, we're happy that you and your little one enjoyed your stay here, our breakfast and the area of Södermalm around us! Thanks also for bringing to my attention the incident with housekeeping, and please accept my apologies for that. I have taken it up with the manager so that we can ensure everyone works the same way and according to the standard routine.

Take good care, and hope to welcome you back to us again in the future! All the best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The location is really good. The subway No T17, T18, T19 pass by the Skanstull and the entrance is very close to the hotel. The hotel has limitted quantities of kettles and one can borrow from the reception if need.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jinglai D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyChu, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Stockholm, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Thank you Jinglai D, we also love the location and area of Södermalm and love even more the fact that you can enjoy all it has to offer yet travel very quickly and easily in to the old town and central business district. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and welcome back any time! Best regards, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

The rooms were nice and clean but not a good value. I enjoyed the smaller boutique hotels more than the trendy larger hotels. The breakfast was excellent. We could have been in any city and found a room that was comparab

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needavaca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Clarion Hotel Sign
Clarion Hotel Sign
#43 of 154 in Stockholm
3,443 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#34 of 154 in Stockholm
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#52 of 154 in Stockholm
2,806 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
1,992 reviews
Vasastan
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
#41 of 154 in Stockholm
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Stockholm

Property: Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Address: 98 Ringvaegen | Box 20025, Stockholm 118 60, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#11 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#24 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Stockholm 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Clarion Hotel Stockholm guests can enjoy a modern hotel with art and music and design as part of its integral character. Be inspired and enjoy the hotel's unique pulse and surroundings with our restaurant Eatery Social and our heavenly Ayurveda-inspired Elements Spa. It is not however just about fantastic food, spectacular art displays, great music or mingling. Our passion and focus is on providing you with a wonderful night's sleep and increasing your quality of life. Choose from our 532 rooms and luxurious suites that best suit your needs. We look forward to welcoming you and giving you a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Nordic Choice Hotels, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Stockholm
Stockholm Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing