We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Ranked #46 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great business stay”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed here for several nights on business. The room was compact, but comfortable and clean. I had one of the smaller rooms and there is no separate closet storage (just hooks). But there was a workspace and a mini-fridge, which I appreciated. My only suggestion for improvement would be to add a kettle/coffee-making equipment.

The hotel seemed very busy and crowded, which does create a positive energy, though may be overwhelming for some. I appreciated the gym facilities, which I used several times during my stay. The wi-fi also worked well and came with my room. The hotel bar was a convenient place to gather after a day's meeting and there are snacks available for purchase even early in the morning. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great for a conference hotel of this sort. (I'm never really sure why people have such high expectations for hotel breakfasts.)

Finally, I loved the location. No, it is not near the main tourist attractions. But it is very near many great sodermalm neighborhoods, with plenty of fantastic cafes, restaurants, and bars nearby. There is a grocery store across the street for self-catering. The T-bana stop is also across the street, for easy access to the rest of the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makeittso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,003
    1,039
    396
    125
    51
See reviews for
322
850
169
811
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Pros:
- nicely designed
- very clean
- large breakfast
- very friendly staff!
- good gym
- located right by tube stop
- good value for money (comparatively, hotels in Stockholm are EXPENSIVE)

Cons:
- can feel a bit industrial/ anonymous - quite large hotel
- not able to open the windows in the bedrooms, which feels a bit claustrophobic

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassy_Traveller_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valkenswaard, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Clarion Hotel really is a perfect place to start in Stockholm. First you get a very big breakfast, after that, you go out the hotel, start walking around or take the metro to the rest of the city! I somewhat disliked the soft beds, but that's all the bad I can think about..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank FilipCornelissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This Clarion hotel is located in a small neighborhood with ample shopping and dining on the southern part of one of Stockholm's southern islands (Sodermalm). However, it is a bit removed from Stockholm's main commercial and tourist areas on another island. A taxi stand right outside and a subway station a minute's walk away help guests get around.

The hotel has clean, modern but compact rooms and serviceable free wi-fi. Guests can enjoy a very good breakfast buffet featuring Scandinavian and other items, including omelettes made to order and many varieties of fruit, bread, cheeses, etc. The hotel would be rated more highly if it boosted its service: calls to the front desk rarely get answered, and wake-up calls get missed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EugeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matananin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A good standard and clean enough, but for the money paid I was disappointed. The room was small poorly ventilated and the WiFi was completely useless. However, the food was good and conference facilities first class.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matananin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel last week/weekend (5 nights). Since I was supposed to pay 1600 Kr per night I expected hotel comparable to 4-star level in Europe. I was quad-shocked.
First shock: we were informed by conference organisers that hotel is located in vibrant, attractive part of Stokholm. It is not - you need to walk for almost 2 kilometers to get to real city center. Second shock - the place is so crowded - like railway station! This is due to conference/convention status of Clarion. Shock number 3: we were booked for 5 nights in a really small room - without a single shelve for suit, shirt - even though Clarion knew from the start that we came for business.( After complain we were transferred to nice big room). Shock number 4: awfull breakfast. "Chemical" (dried? synthetical?) scrambled eggs, tasteless frozen/defrozen vegetables, tasteless bakery, no croissant except first day, coffee is a brown water (if you are used to espresso machine - you will not find one in Clarion restaurant). And you need to compete for all those with crowd of people. Summary: OK for conference members if you don't pay for it. Terrible for couples, families, tourists. Forbidden for hotel experience conneseurs. Last but not least - for that price I could stay in 5-star excellent hotel in Poland with delicious breakfast included.

Room Tip: Ask for all details up-front over email!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Er-Krakow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
780 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Despite booking on a corporate rate, I ended up paying more for a room at the Clarion than the Grand Hotel, where I will be staying tonight, a real 5* experience. The Clarion is as basic a hotel as can be, The air-con does not even work in the rooms, long lines at reception, there is no room service (and in fact the rather basic towels in the room does not even get replaced even if you hang the "clean me" tag on the door for a few hours!). There are no bathroom toiletries, only a soap dispenser fixed to the wall! In the (small( gym, all the equipment only has Swedish TV. Really best avoided, at the price, looks as if it was a converted student residence.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Hooggenoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Clarion Hotel Sign
Clarion Hotel Sign
#36 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,298 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#47 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#35 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
Kungsholmen
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
#63 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Scandic Malmen
Scandic Malmen
#80 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Stockholm

Property: Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Address: 98 Ringvaegen | Box 20025, Stockholm 118 60, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#11 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#24 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Stockholm 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Clarion Hotel Stockholm guests can enjoy a modern hotel with art and music and design as part of its integral character. Be inspired and enjoy the hotel's unique pulse and surroundings with our restaurant Eatery Social and our heavenly Ayurveda-inspired Elements Spa. It is not however just about fantastic food, spectacular art displays, great music or mingling. Our passion and focus is on providing you with a wonderful night's sleep and increasing your quality of life. Choose from our 532 rooms and luxurious suites that best suit your needs. We look forward to welcoming you and giving you a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Stockholm
Stockholm Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing