We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its primarily a business and conference hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Ranked #42 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Whilst being an efficiently run hotel it lacks personality. It functions well in it's prime purpose servicing daily and residential conferences and business visitors. Breakfast offers a huge selection but at times you can't get a table amd it frustratingly closes at 9:30 even though there are many guests still arriving. Rooms are comfortable although our superior room had no bath tub and a small wardrobe and no drawerrs for storage and just two coat hangers!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,086)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

864 - 870 of 3,086 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2009

A great hotel in a great location at a reasonable price.

Breakfast was great too, though it was very "Ikea" and a "fight" due to the sheer size of the hotel and the amount of guests wanting to have breakfast at the same time.

Nevertheless, the hotel was great.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flojb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Having stayed at the Clarion Hotel Stockholm several times on business (company has a great rate at Choice Hotels) this was the time to write a review and share my thoughts on this cool, huge, hotel in the heart of friendly Södermalm, Stockholm.

Clarion Stockholm (not to be confused with Clarion Sign) is located on top of the main artery in Södermalm, heading into Stockholm from the south, with a great view towards the south (Globe Arena) and the west (park). It has a lobby bar as well as a bar on the second floor (conference level), and a very nice restaurant (Greta's) to complement the buffet restaurant. I strongly recommend the Wallenbergare at Greta's for dinner with mashed potatoes and lingonberries. Wonderful!

Getting here is easy. The subway (green line) stops at Skanstull (fourth stop from Central Station) and the subway in Stockholm is clean, on time and safe (for all foreign travellers this might be worth noting). From the Skanstull subway there are signs to the hotel. There are also bus lines going straight outside of the hotel that connects to other subway lines (Fridhemsplan, Gullmarsplan). For travellers with cars, they only have valet parking (SEK 375 per night).

The rooms are all modern and sleek in its design, but not as large as in the U.S. (and good lord, not as small as in the G.B).
The Moderate rooms are fine for the business travelers who only need accomodation and breakfast (bear in mind that the huge breakfast buffet is included in all prices, before you compare with Hilton and Sheraton who charge ridiculous prices for their breakfasts).
The Standard rooms are a bit bigger with a couch, and often with both a bath and a shower. This is the room I use the most, with a free upgrade (Choice Gold Card) from the Moderate rate.

This time, I got upgraded to the DeLuxe room which was very nice. Large room, ceiling-high windows (over 10 feet high), separate work area, lounge area and a huge comfortable bed - but oddly enough, only a shower and no bath. The room was on the second floor, which meant navigating through a big conference that used all available conference space. And this also meant that the upstairs bar was closed (no mojito this time...) due to the conference space.

The room was very quiet, despite having windows against the street (on second floor) no sounds from cars, sirens from ambulances (huge hospital nearby) or other sound disturbed the sleep. Also, the ac worked great as did the wireless internet (free with Choice Club membership).

For Stockholm travellers, I would recommend this hotel as it is situated in Södermalm, a very friendly area of Stockholm and only a 25-minute walk to Old Town. (Walking from Old Town also takes you through Götgatsbacken, where there are lots of pubs, restaurants and friendly places to take a beer or two while you rest the legs from the sightseeing).

All in all, Clarion Stockholm is a fine hotel whether for business or leisure, it caters for all travelers and as previously noted - the free breakfast buffet is huuuge with everything you need.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweTraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Our visit started off a little rocky as they were overbooked and when I arrived I was sent to a hotel outside of the city. When I came back the next day they had upgraded me to a suite and went out of their way to apologise for the overbooking which was very much appreciated. In the end it was a great stay. This hotel is very conveniently located and has a great bar and cafe. Room service is also quite good.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Stayed one night in April 2009 and had a wonderful time. Very nice, clean rooms and good service. The bar on the second floor is great.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKW08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We stayed @ the hotel for 4 nights while on a 3 week long scandinavian holiday & I just have to say that this hotel was SUPERB !I loved the area of Sodermalm though @ first didnt seem to take to it , however in 2-3 hours I had begun to enjoy it tremendously. It is literally 3 steps away from the Skanstull Station, 2 stops from Gamla Stan ( or a 20-25 pleasurable walk), 3 from the Central Station. Overlooks this pretty green belt - very nice. We took a cab from the airport & it cost us a fixed SEK 495 which was OK cos Arlanda Express per person was also expensive & then we would need to change to the Subway. One thing we did not know was that if you booked with Stockholm Cab, then from the airport to the hotel was SEK 435 & on the way back we got the hotel to book it for us & it cost SEK 390

The hotel itself was very nice & modern. The rooms were finished in a contemporary fashion , clean with huge windows which do open & good bathrooms ( we did not have any issues with the shower presuure), scattering of art around. It seemed that the hotel was used by tourists, conference delegates, people who had come to run the marathon (over the weekend) & it felt really good. One complaint though - no kettle in the room !! I wish there was one - this was really the only complaint I had. Just before you got out of the hotel you could pick up fresh fruit in the lobby which was a nice thing.

Now coming to the Staff - I do not know how they do it but each & every member of their staff is truly amazing - @ the reception you could ask them for anything & they tried their very very best to help you out with a smile from explaining directions, the metro , restaurants - very good. The hotel also had some very useful literature in the room about certain basics which are always very nice to know. Check in & check out efficient.

the other area of chaos seemed to be the breakfast as there were so many people that sometimes it did get very noisy , however , the spread was the largest that we had seen ( albeit most places in scandinavia have virtually identical things). The one thing here was a wide range of yoghurts & sour milk you could choose from & also they also had a little Japanese section if you were interested. Moreover if you wanted brewed tea, you could get that & gthe gluten free section was good too.

I loved Stockholm in all & we had no problems getting around- explored all the areas, Ostermalm, Central Stockholm, Gamla Stan, Djurgarden Sodermalm on foot & with public transport. We got a travel card for 72 hours ( not a stockholm card but a local transport card which allowed us to use all modes of public transport). Just that you have to buy this from Pressbyran which is across the road from the hotel & not @ the station cos the ones sold @ the station apparently dont have a magnetic strip.

Food wise Stockholm was great - ate some amaing Swedish Meatballs @ Husmans Deli @ Ostermalms Food Hall, really cool sandwiches @ Cafe Bla Lotus on Katrina Bangata ( about a 10 min walk from the hotel). Right next to this was a cool cafe called Chutneys which was vegetarian totally so for those of you who might want some veggie food this looked like a cool place. On Saturday morning there was a little farmers market in this area. At the other end of Katrina Bangata was an Indian place called Gandhi which was OK. However the highlight of Stockholm for me was this Chinese place called En Och En Gul ( I will post the address somewhere) - the food was simply outstanding. I have eaten a lot of Chinese but this was superb & you could get some really fiery food if you wanted. ( this was about a 20 min walk from the hotel). Will detail the food experience in a separate article . good coffe @ Waynes Coffee

Overall the experience was really good, I am very glad that we stayed here & would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SwatiDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

This hotel came highly recommended by my partner and his family from a previous trip to Stockholm so it seemed like the ideal choice for a long weekend break.

I booked directly through the hotel website choosing the ‘prepaid online rate’ and got a decent price – better than anything I could find elsewhere online but still not the cheapest!

I emailed the hotel in advance to request a high level room facing the Globen Arena (home to the 2000 Eurovision Song Contest amongst other world class music events...) and received a helpful response.

* Location

The hotel is at the very foot of the Södermalm area of the city (and just inside the limits of tourist maps!)

I took the Arlanda Express from the airport to T-Centralen, then the Tunelbanna (metro) from there to Skanstull. The hotel is next door, and is helpfully signed from inside the station making it easy to find. Trains are frequent and really convenient for getting around the city quickly – just remember you can’t see the many, many beautiful sights Stockholm has to offer from underground!

* The hotel

The hotel itself is a fine example of contemporary Swedish architecture - lots of light, lots of space, with select objets d’art in the communal areas (I didn’t see any of the provocative art work that was mentioned in another review, however.)

This place feels like it’s an extension of community and embraced by Stockholmers (cheesy or what!?) Apart from the tourists and conference delegates ‘in residence’, lots of organisations, businesses and locals alike are using the hotel to get together and I liked the atmosphere this created.

* Check In

Check in was nice and simple – but I found it strange they didn’t want a credit card or check my ID. You can get free internet if you join the Clarion Club – the trainee receptionist that checked us in didn’t mention this, but his colleague did – we’ll give him the benefit of the doubt! If you don’t sign up, you’ll pay 25SEK per day to get online.

* Rooms

The room was light and bright, with contemporary furnishing and décor. It was a good size, with sufficient storage space for a 4 night stay. The floor to ceiling-windows gave an added sense of space and light, looking onto the urban cityscape with the Globen arena dominating the horizon.

The windows don’t open, but the rooms are very well sound proofed- I couldn’t hear any traffic and there is a lot going past! The air-con in the room was also very effective.

The room looked out onto a park where a festival was taking place on the Friday and Saturday of our stay. We could certainly feel the vibrations from that - but it finished before midnight, and it was summer so it didn’t detract from our stay!

The beds were very comfortable, two single beds together, with two single duvets which I’ve found to be typical of hotel rooms in Scandinavia (and perfect if your partner has a habit of stealing the covers!)

There was a decently stocked mini-bar, but no safe.

There’s also no kettle (typical British complaint you say...!) Called reception and apparently they do have a kettle. One. For the whole hotel! We popped down to the restaurant, and the staff there kindly provided flasks of hot water (It beats the room service price plus tray charge!)

* Bathroom

The bathroom was a good size and bright, with lights on a dimmer switch. The shower pressure wasn’t overly powerful, but there was plenty of hot water.

You can still see through the frosted glass of the bathroom door so chose your travel companion wisely! Bathwater goes down the drain but comes back up into the bathroom and back down again – normal, apparently...

* Breakfast

The breakfast room was crazy, perhaps not unsurprising when you consider the hotel has over 500 rooms. I found it quite disorientating with the sheer number of people swarming about; it’s the thing panic attacks are made of! They do however have the most delicious pancakes and jam.

* Check Out

Checking out of the hotel was very also very quick - there was no queue - and we were able to leave luggage to collect later.

* The Area

Södermalm itself is worth exploration - it has some very nice boutiques and *the* most wonderful chocolate shop ever – Chokladfabrike. I also had some mouth watering modern Turkish food in Aya Sofya (try the swordfish)

***
All in all, this is a great hotel (one of my favourites) – I will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajinternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Clarion Hotel Sign
Clarion Hotel Sign
#51 of 154 in Stockholm
3,906 reviews
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#49 of 154 in Stockholm
3,091 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#16 of 154 in Stockholm
1,464 reviews
Norrmalm
Nordic Light Hotel
Nordic Light Hotel
#24 of 154 in Stockholm
1,609 reviews
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Xpress Stockholm Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Stockholm

Address: 98 Ringvagen | Box 20025, Stockholm 118 60, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#11 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#14 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#31 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £83 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Stockholm 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Clarion Hotel Stockholm guests can enjoy a modern hotel with art and music and design as part of its integral character. Be inspired and enjoy the hotel's unique pulse and surroundings with our restaurant Eatery Social and our heavenly Ayurveda-inspired Elements Spa. It is not however just about fantastic food, spectacular art displays, great music or mingling. Our passion and focus is on providing you with a wonderful night's sleep and increasing your quality of life. Choose from our 532 rooms and luxurious suites that best suit your needs. We look forward to welcoming you and giving you a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Nordic Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Stockholm
Stockholm Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing