We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldb be better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gustav Vasa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gustav Vasa
Ranked #134 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Couldb be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

First of all there is a renovation in the hotel. And there was no information about it anywhere. Building materials have been made through main entrance. We have booked for two twin rooms (the first one for me and my mother and second one one is for my grandmothers). We arrived a bit early, otherwise we were lucky and one room for my grandmothers was ready. But it was very very small for them. They are both 80 y.o. and it was difficult for them to move in the room. When we tried to check-in in the evening they couldn't find second room for me and my mother like there was no reservation for this room. Anyway, we got a room much bigger then the first one. Also there is a ground floor where other rooms are situated and I can honestly say that they are much better, spacious and modern. Our rooms were old-fashioned. Breakfast was good, quite variable, a lot of pastries, different choice of cheese, bread, butter, jam, fresh fruites and etc. Service depend on staff. Hotel owner wasn't friendly and barely spoke english but reception girl was good. Location is good: 20 minutes walking maximum and you're in the Drottningatan street and Gamla Stan. In my opinion, in general hotel spoiled the impression from Stockholm, despite the fact it was my third time in this incredible city.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalia1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    15
    22
    14
    11
See reviews for
11
18
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

The hotel is very well situated. Close to the city center across from the Vasakyrken, and with the Odenplan Tunnelban station just around the corner. It is comfortable and good value for the money, but the rooms (mine at least) was quite small. I would have liked a chair and a desk to sit and do a little work, but no room for that. Likewise no room for a coffee/tea tray or minibar. The overall standard is nice as is the friendly staff. It was being renovated, when I was there, so there will probably be some improvements soon. Ok breakfast, but no hot dishes.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarsBio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

Arrived, after having made a booking. Specified in writing at time of booking that we needed 2 seperate beds as we are a mother and son. They booked us into a double bed. After making a complaint, they offered us two seperate rooms. This was ok but we wanted to stay in the one room. Hotel is convenient, near T station, across from a huge church (occasional bell chimes!). Rooms were comfy, bathrooms a bit small. Good for the price. Breakfast was very good, quality and variety - eggs, meats, cheeses, etc.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Kayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

We booked 2 double rooms and a single room. The single room did not have a shower and toilet in the room. One double room had a toilet but no shower. The towels in the room where still wet and dirty. The last double room did have a toilet and a shower but had mold in the shower. Carpets where stained.
Staff att breakfast was uninterested.
The only positive was the location.

There are many better hotels in Stockholm against much better rates.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denis-vn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Tuscany, Italy
Level Contributor
148 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

For 70 euro in Stockholm you cannot expect too much. However this hotel was ok, the location very good (30 meters from Odenplan metro, 10 minutes walking from Central Station). My single room was ok, clean. Unfortunately the toilet was outside from the room, and it had a bad smell (so at the end was good to be outside the room). However, there are some works in the hotel, so I hope it would be better in the future.
I liked mostly the breakfast, which was very good, and the friendly staff at the reception.
I disliked the fact that wireless is not free (around 11 euro for the night, definitely too much).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montinaviganti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Bras de Alportel, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

This is a very nice hotel, very clean, around 15 min. walking to the old town, with the metro and the bike rentals 2min walking. The service is 5*. I recommed this hotel for who wants a great value for money and doens't mind a little walk.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleGu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

I noticed a that those travellers who complain about this hotel for the most part seem to have very unrealistic expectations on hotels in general. One can not, and should not expect a first class service at a hotel in the mid price range, that's not going to happen - ever.
This hotel is fantastically located and it's clean. Rooms might be a little old fashioned and sometimes somewhat rustic, but this is also the exact atmosphere of a typical Stockholm building in this area. Built almost a hundred years ago and carefully taken care of ever since. If you're looking for a newly built hotel, those are available in Stockholm as well but you'll be paying anything from twice to ten times as much for a room. If the price range of this particular hotel suits you, then you'll be sure to enjoy this hotel. It's a good deal for your money. You will not find a better hotel at the same price range in this area, you'll find similar hotel experiences (and worse ones), but not better.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greger101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Ibis Styles Stockholm Odenplan
Vasastan
Hotel Hansson
Hotel Hansson
#119 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Hotel Point
Hotel Point
#106 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariatorget
Loginn Hotel
Loginn Hotel
#84 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Vasastan
Wasa Park Hotell
Wasa Park Hotell
#111 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Birger Jarl
Hotel Birger Jarl
#52 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gustav Vasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gustav Vasa

Property: Hotel Gustav Vasa
Address: 61 Vaestmannagatan, Stockholm 113 25, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Gustav Vasa Hotel
Gustav Vasa Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing