We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely! Dinner was in the top 10 meals in my life”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thoresta Herrgard

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stockholm
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thoresta Herrgard
Ranked #94 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely! Dinner was in the top 10 meals in my life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We visited Thoresta Herrgard in September 2012, for a work event. It's difficult to find, but worth the trek. Immediately, we were greeted by a welcome smile and great service. The location is beautiful, rooms ok, but just fine for a cozy retreat.
The food! I can't say enough! Seriously, the dinner was in the top 10 best dinners I have ever had, anywhere around the world. Elegant, impeccable service, and unique and creative dishes.
Breakfast was lovely, everything freshly made, delicious.
If I had millions of dollars, I'd bring my whole family from the US and friends for a weekend here! it'd be worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveladam2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
229 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

A small but cosy main building in a lovely landscape. Personal, attentive staff. Good rooms, but with nothing special. Above all: the food! I've been to many conference mansions and castles in Sweden, but this take the prize for the cuisine. I would say it's in a division of it's own in the "weekend-castle-business". The format is just right; the place is just small enough to allow for serious cooking. Inventive dishes with lots of flavour. Much care on the details. My personal opinion is that this is a clear contestant for a Michelin star. Highly recommended both for a conference (small to medium gathering) and a weekend brake-away.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vierdank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

When I searched for the Hotel on the map I was a bit worried that I would sit in a grey November month in the middle of nowhere. It is actually in the middle of nowhere (ca. 40km from Alanda airport), but soooo beautiful and cosy! The rooms are simple but clean. They are located in the annex. The highlight is the main building where you find the restaurant and the living rooms. Beautiful view and country side luxury with chemines and sofa corners and amazing food. The November days were still warm and sunny, which means I could even enjoy the terrasse. There is a great golf course near by. Or you can just have a walk around the lake. Order a taxi upfront via the Hotel if you go there from Arlanda (fixed price, ca. EUR 60).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swiss-Flutterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2008

I ran a course here and the facilities (rooms etc) are pretty good and they are well geared up to handling conference groups.

However two things stand out. Firstly the food is truly first class - I understand the chef is in the running for some kind of national award. Every meal I had there was a real treat and quite memorable.

Secondly the place has some of the friendliest and helpful staff I have come accross in a conference venue for some time.

Quite a few hotels I know could take a leaf out of their book.

  • Liked — Stunning food and sensible internet policy
  • Disliked — No comment
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LiamFitzP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockholm
Södermalm
Rosersbergs Slottshotell
Rosersbergs Slottshotell
#101 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Maude's Hotel Enskede
#69 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#46 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ulfsunda Castle
#4 of 11 in Bromma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Gorvalns Slott
#1 of 2 in Jarfalla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thoresta Herrgard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thoresta Herrgard

Property: Thoresta Herrgard
Address: Thoresta Gard, Stockholm, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Number of rooms: 147

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing