We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vanadis Hotell & Bad
Ranked #138 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Gavle, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You get what you pay for.”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Very cheep hotel. You get a room and thats about it. Forget about spending any time at the room, its just for emergency sleep.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinsnygg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    57
    92
    46
    63
See reviews for
30
89
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Not much to say about this 'hotel'. We stayed here a few months ago for a short trip to Stockholm. You get what you pay for, we paid almost nothing so you get almost nothing! Rooms are very small, it just fitted a double bed with no space next to the bed. As you have to share all facilities as toilet and shower, I consider this hotel to be a hostel. Won't stay here again, but could be fine for budget weekends or short holiday in a beautiful city!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorikD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

If you want to spend all of your time in stockholm, except for the night, and you don't want to pay much for a hotel, this is your hotel.
Upon on arrival we had to wait 15 minutes before we were checked in, not knowing why it took so long. And after getting the key we walked to our room.
The moment we entered the hallway we directly got the feeling that we were in a prison. A long hallway with doors on the left and right, and a common shower/toilet area at the end of the corridor. When we opened the door of our room, the feeling we had didn't got any better. Two beds were located at the end of our small room with high above a window which we could not open, so it doesn't make sense to pay extra for a room with a window. Furtermore there was a small desk and a chair in the room and that's it.
The rooms are noisy and you hear everybody walking through the corridor, so don't forget to bring earplugs. The toilets and showers were clean, which was ok.
Furthermore be on time for the breakfast, which is by the way very basic (bread, meat, cheese and tea/coffe), because the lady who is taking care of the breakfast locks the door of the breakfast area at the moment that the breakfast time has ended!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikay05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Stockholm is a great city to visit but very expensive. Nowhere is it more evident than in the price of accommodation there. The Vanadis is distinctly "budget" but £60-70 per night is not "cheap". You can get a fantastic B & B in most places in Europe for that.

Though comparison to a prison is a bit overdone in my view, the corridor and doors to the rooms do have the feeling of a dormitory in some sort of institution (could be educational, not corrective!). Showering, washing and toilets are communal: to call it a hotel is a bit disingenuous. The reality to me is that it is a hostel. If anybody doubts that, the hotel accepts it: on the wall in reception is a framed certificate which says "recognised as a recommended hostel by hostelbookers.com customers" in 2006. Could that be plainer? Why not cut the pretence and call it a hostel instead of a hotel? It's a bit misleading.

Level walk of a few kilometres to the Old Town.

For one night it might be OK, but several nights avoid, particularly if you are of a depressive turn of mind. Room is small, claustrophobic, has no window and therefore no natural light nor ventilation. If you you lie in your room with the door shut, light on or off, you have no means of knowing whether it is dark or light outside. Rooms with windows cost extra!

The only plus for me was outside the hotel, not in it. A bit of scrubland to the front with trees
and bushes is home to a family of the most beautiful black rabbits that come out at dawn and
dusk. Don't miss them if you stay here: they might relieve your depression!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lionel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I stayed here in August and booked this hotel because it was really cheap. Stockholm is a very expensive city and this is a little better than a hostel since you get a private room. There is no bathroom or shower in the room and it is really small. The double bed takes up both sides of the room. This is only good if you plan on being outside most of the time which was the case with me. The staff is friendly. There is only one computer with internet and if you want to use your computer there is a daily fee. It is a far walk to downtown but pubic transportation is great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RS619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This place is a total ripoff and It [...]..small,ugly and no in-room WC and shower. It's a small version of Alcatraz. There should be "keep out" bill boards in front of it and I'm not kidding

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I believe that a place like this shouldn't have a permission to work. I don't know where to start... rooms are incredibly small,just enough for two beds and one desk.If you hope that there is also a place for your bag, you're very wrong. There's not. But this is only the beggining.The room where we stayed didnt have window,so to let air in,you must keep the door opened. Highlight of my stay in this hotel is that we got acariasis for the dirty sheets and bed. I dont even need to mention that everything in hotel is very old and very much resembles a jail. Unfriendly staff and too many rooms sharing a tolilette didn't improve my impression.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivonag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Hotell Dialog
#120 of 154 in Stockholm
161 reviews
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#92 of 154 in Stockholm
264 reviews
Best Western Capital Hotel
#102 of 154 in Stockholm
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2Home Stockholm South
#137 of 154 in Stockholm
180 reviews
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Kungsholmen
First Hotel Fridhemsplan
First Hotel Fridhemsplan
#105 of 154 in Stockholm
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanadis Hotell & Bad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanadis Hotell & Bad

Property: Vanadis Hotell & Bad
Address: 142 Sveavaegen, Stockholm 113 46, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanadis Hotell & Bad 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In central Stockholm's Vanadislunden Park, this budget hotel is an 8-minute bus ride from shopping and entertainment at Drottninggatan and Hotorget Square. It has affordable accommodations with free Wi-Fi and a popular continental breakfast. At Vanadis Hotel, guests can choose rooms with either private or shared bathroom facilities. Each room has cable TV, and some include a writing desk. The hotel has a convenient 24-hour front desk. Guests computers with internet connection are found in the lobby area. Light snacks and non-alcoholic beverages can be bought at all times and staff is always willing to recommend restaurants and local attractions such as Stockholm Observatory. Hotel Vanadis is 215 yards from Frejgatan Bus Stop, which is a 15-minute trip from Stockholm Central Train Station. The shuttle bus for Arlanda Airport stops a 10-minute walk from the hotel. Vasastan is a great choice for travelers interested in coffee, promenade and nature walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Vanadis Hotell & Bad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanadis Hotell And Bath Hotel Stockholm
Vanadis Hotell And Bath Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing