We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vanadis Hotell & Bad
Ranked #138 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Smelly stay”
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two days. The first problem arose when we came. There are no parking spots at the hotel so we had to park in the small streets nearby.
Our room was without windows, very basic and nothing fancy. That's okay but what really annoyed us was the bad smell that was in the room and the hallway. Even the toilets and showers smelled. We. Agreed to spend as little time at the hotel as possible.
The breakfast was actually okay so we enjoyed that part least.

The pool upstairs was closed and it seemed like it had been for a few years. But they inform about this on the web page.

It was one of the cheapest places we could find so the cost was relatively cheap and it's near the center.
So no recommendation from us.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dadane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    57
    90
    44
    63
See reviews for
27
89
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My parents wantet to stay in this hotel. The boking page said, nice hotel, 3 stars, handycap entrence, car parks... Well the room was like 9 squeer meters and there was no window, no bath room. The hotel had only 2 stars and no car park. There were car park at the street clouse to the hotel, but it is very expensive to leave the car there a whole night. My parents left this hotel right away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maudibus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Upon first glance, this is a weird looking hotel. It's situated on a hill in a park- reminds me of a school portable, or perhaps a maintenance shed. It doesn't look like much that's for sure. But it isn't all bad. For one, the price is very reasonable for such an expensive city: We paid 40 pounds per night. It includes breakfast, but not a private washroom or even windows. We chose the windowless room because it was cheaper, and to be honest, we weren't there to look out the window, and there wasn't so much to see anyways. I highly recommend that as a way to save some $$$$. The facilities were clean, no complaints. I was bothered by the washrooms down the hall because it seemed that there was only 1 per wing of the hotel (well 1 for men and 1 for women) and you had to walk through the shower area to get to the toilets. Not so much privacy for showers. It was also a louder hostel, since everyone on the floor had to pass your room either to get to theirs or to get to the toilet. The only real big complaint I have about this place is the location. Although it is in the city, Stockholm is big so it took a long time to walk from the hostel to the tourist areas (30 minutes). The underground, however, is a few blocks away. The area itself was very quiet with very few restaurants. It does have some grocery stores. overall, this is an expensive city, so if you're looking to save some money, this is definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WannaBtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavle, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Very cheep hotel. You get a room and thats about it. Forget about spending any time at the room, its just for emergency sleep.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinsnygg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Not much to say about this 'hotel'. We stayed here a few months ago for a short trip to Stockholm. You get what you pay for, we paid almost nothing so you get almost nothing! Rooms are very small, it just fitted a double bed with no space next to the bed. As you have to share all facilities as toilet and shower, I consider this hotel to be a hostel. Won't stay here again, but could be fine for budget weekends or short holiday in a beautiful city!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorikD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

If you want to spend all of your time in stockholm, except for the night, and you don't want to pay much for a hotel, this is your hotel.
Upon on arrival we had to wait 15 minutes before we were checked in, not knowing why it took so long. And after getting the key we walked to our room.
The moment we entered the hallway we directly got the feeling that we were in a prison. A long hallway with doors on the left and right, and a common shower/toilet area at the end of the corridor. When we opened the door of our room, the feeling we had didn't got any better. Two beds were located at the end of our small room with high above a window which we could not open, so it doesn't make sense to pay extra for a room with a window. Furtermore there was a small desk and a chair in the room and that's it.
The rooms are noisy and you hear everybody walking through the corridor, so don't forget to bring earplugs. The toilets and showers were clean, which was ok.
Furthermore be on time for the breakfast, which is by the way very basic (bread, meat, cheese and tea/coffe), because the lady who is taking care of the breakfast locks the door of the breakfast area at the moment that the breakfast time has ended!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikay05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Stockholm is a great city to visit but very expensive. Nowhere is it more evident than in the price of accommodation there. The Vanadis is distinctly "budget" but £60-70 per night is not "cheap". You can get a fantastic B & B in most places in Europe for that.

Though comparison to a prison is a bit overdone in my view, the corridor and doors to the rooms do have the feeling of a dormitory in some sort of institution (could be educational, not corrective!). Showering, washing and toilets are communal: to call it a hotel is a bit disingenuous. The reality to me is that it is a hostel. If anybody doubts that, the hotel accepts it: on the wall in reception is a framed certificate which says "recognised as a recommended hostel by hostelbookers.com customers" in 2006. Could that be plainer? Why not cut the pretence and call it a hostel instead of a hotel? It's a bit misleading.

Level walk of a few kilometres to the Old Town.

For one night it might be OK, but several nights avoid, particularly if you are of a depressive turn of mind. Room is small, claustrophobic, has no window and therefore no natural light nor ventilation. If you you lie in your room with the door shut, light on or off, you have no means of knowing whether it is dark or light outside. Rooms with windows cost extra!

The only plus for me was outside the hotel, not in it. A bit of scrubland to the front with trees
and bushes is home to a family of the most beautiful black rabbits that come out at dawn and
dusk. Don't miss them if you stay here: they might relieve your depression!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lionel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockholm
Hotell Dialog
#115 of 154 in Stockholm
155 reviews
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#96 of 154 in Stockholm
258 reviews
2Home Stockholm South
#136 of 154 in Stockholm
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Capital Hotel
#102 of 154 in Stockholm
230 reviews
Scandic Prince Philip
#1 of 1 in Skarholmen
270 reviews
Good Morning+ Hagersten
#103 of 154 in Stockholm
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanadis Hotell & Bad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanadis Hotell & Bad

Property: Vanadis Hotell & Bad
Address: 142 Sveavaegen, Stockholm 113 46, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanadis Hotell & Bad 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In central Stockholm's Vanadislunden Park, this budget hotel is an 8-minute bus ride from shopping and entertainment at Drottninggatan and Hotorget Square. It has affordable accommodations with free Wi-Fi and a popular continental breakfast. At Vanadis Hotel, guests can choose rooms with either private or shared bathroom facilities. Each room has cable TV, and some include a writing desk. The hotel has a convenient 24-hour front desk. Guests computers with internet connection are found in the lobby area. Light snacks and non-alcoholic beverages can be bought at all times and staff is always willing to recommend restaurants and local attractions such as Stockholm Observatory. Hotel Vanadis is 215 yards from Frejgatan Bus Stop, which is a 15-minute trip from Stockholm Central Train Station. The shuttle bus for Arlanda Airport stops a 10-minute walk from the hotel. Vasastan is a great choice for travelers interested in coffee, promenade and nature walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Vanadis Hotell & Bad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanadis Hotell And Bath Hotel Stockholm
Vanadis Hotell And Bath Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing