We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap & cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vanadis Hotell & Bad
Ranked #141 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Still quite central, this hotel is without doubt your best option for cheap accommodation in this beautiful but pricey city. We paid £49/night.
We liked the double room with shower , wc and tv , the bonus was that bedsheets were included in the price as well as a nice Swedish breakfast.
Negative, reception staff is not fully organised and wanted to charge us twice the upgrade to a private bath room.
Very easy to locate and close to bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BESTOFBERKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

glorified hostel cheap and tiredsmall double room was only 6 ft wide room small and the toilet stank all the time. booked taxi with reception the night before we left for the morning before breakfast would start. morning receptionist said if you told us we would of made a early breakfast for you ??????

Room Tip: small double room was only 6 ft wide room small and the toilet stank all the time. booked taxi with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon_a_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Well, I have to admit that we were on a budget and, knowing the high costs in Sweden, we could have expected a very poor quality stay for the price we payed (110 euros/night). However, I would not recommend this place to anybody. Our room was narrow, without windows, dusty and smelly (really, the products used to clean the room had a horrible, persistent smell!). The overall service was hostel-like, definitely not like that of a hotel. The shared bathroom and toilets were poorly clean. Moreover, there was no free internet connection. Few positive points for the breakfast, with decent choice and quality. If we add that the hotel is no less than 15 mins walk from the two closest bus/underground stops, it makes it clear that, by spending some 20/30 euros more, we could have had a much better experience during our stay in Stockholm.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OminoDiGhisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We spent one night,...too small room,it said 92 eur but the guy wanted to rip us off just because we were tourists,he said its 110 eur ! When i said we read its cheaper he said oh well,i can make u a better offer!! Tooooo tiny rooms,no pool,no free wifi,no AC. Breakfast was ok. Too far and too steep a walk from public transportatipn,would never ever stay there again you shouldnt either !!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gorgii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed here for two days. The first problem arose when we came. There are no parking spots at the hotel so we had to park in the small streets nearby.
Our room was without windows, very basic and nothing fancy. That's okay but what really annoyed us was the bad smell that was in the room and the hallway. Even the toilets and showers smelled. We. Agreed to spend as little time at the hotel as possible.
The breakfast was actually okay so we enjoyed that part least.

The pool upstairs was closed and it seemed like it had been for a few years. But they inform about this on the web page.

It was one of the cheapest places we could find so the cost was relatively cheap and it's near the center.
So no recommendation from us.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank dadane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My parents wantet to stay in this hotel. The boking page said, nice hotel, 3 stars, handycap entrence, car parks... Well the room was like 9 squeer meters and there was no window, no bath room. The hotel had only 2 stars and no car park. There were car park at the street clouse to the hotel, but it is very expensive to leave the car there a whole night. My parents left this hotel right away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maudibus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Upon first glance, this is a weird looking hotel. It's situated on a hill in a park- reminds me of a school portable, or perhaps a maintenance shed. It doesn't look like much that's for sure. But it isn't all bad. For one, the price is very reasonable for such an expensive city: We paid 40 pounds per night. It includes breakfast, but not a private washroom or even windows. We chose the windowless room because it was cheaper, and to be honest, we weren't there to look out the window, and there wasn't so much to see anyways. I highly recommend that as a way to save some $$$$. The facilities were clean, no complaints. I was bothered by the washrooms down the hall because it seemed that there was only 1 per wing of the hotel (well 1 for men and 1 for women) and you had to walk through the shower area to get to the toilets. Not so much privacy for showers. It was also a louder hostel, since everyone on the floor had to pass your room either to get to theirs or to get to the toilet. The only real big complaint I have about this place is the location. Although it is in the city, Stockholm is big so it took a long time to walk from the hostel to the tourist areas (30 minutes). The underground, however, is a few blocks away. The area itself was very quiet with very few restaurants. It does have some grocery stores. overall, this is an expensive city, so if you're looking to save some money, this is definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WannaBtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Hotell Dialog
#132 of 155 in Stockholm
168 reviews
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#97 of 155 in Stockholm
280 reviews
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2Home Stockholm South
#140 of 155 in Stockholm
184 reviews
Best Western Capital Hotel
#104 of 155 in Stockholm
251 reviews
Scandic Kungens Kurva
#96 of 155 in Stockholm
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanadis Hotell & Bad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanadis Hotell & Bad

Address: 142 Sveavaegen, Stockholm 113 46, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: £34 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanadis Hotell & Bad 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In central Stockholm's Vanadislunden Park, this budget hotel is an 8-minute bus ride from shopping and entertainment at Drottninggatan and Hotorget Square. It has affordable accommodations with free Wi-Fi and a popular continental breakfast. At Vanadis Hotel, guests can choose rooms with either private or shared bathroom facilities. Each room has cable TV, and some include a writing desk. The hotel has a convenient 24-hour front desk. Guests computers with internet connection are found in the lobby area. Light snacks and non-alcoholic beverages can be bought at all times and staff is always willing to recommend restaurants and local attractions such as Stockholm Observatory. Hotel Vanadis is 215 yards from Frejgatan Bus Stop, which is a 15-minute trip from Stockholm Central Train Station. The shuttle bus for Arlanda Airport stops a 10-minute walk from the hotel. Vasastan is a great choice for travelers interested in coffee, promenade and nature walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Vanadis Hotell & Bad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanadis Hotell And Bath Hotel Stockholm
Vanadis Hotell And Bath Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing