We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, bad technology”
Review of Hotel Rival

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rival
Ranked #3 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, bad technology”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I stayed at Rival hotel for one night instead of Lydmar this time in Stockholm. The hotel is amongst Stockholm's top three according to my view - and I stay at hotels in Stockholm a lot. Beautifully designed rooms, nice bed, quiet, nice view from the balcony and great service. The only bad thing is that you need a Dr's degree in order to access the wireless. On top of that they will charge you nearly 100 SEK for it. On the other hand, the lend out CDs and DVDs for free, and their collection is good. Playing an old Sisters of Mercy record as I speak. Great, will return!

Room Tip: Ask for wireless included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Espen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    410
    54
    20
    2
See reviews for
153
819
93
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
563 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is an excellent choice if you want to live in a central location in south of Stockholm, but a bit away from the main shopping streets etc. A hotel with good infrastructure, spacious rooms, free wifi and helpful staff. For me, a very nice breakfast was included during the weekend, but not during the weekdays.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GothenburgProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Leamington Spa, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at the Rival on our way back from the Ice Hotel in Kiruna as part of an organised trip, so not a hotel we would ever have picked ourselves. But what a wonderful surprise. The hotel looks quite understated from the outside but inside its like walking into a designers dream. The decor is quirky but contemporary and the entrance layout unusual. The staff were second to none. Nothing was too much trouble, and the concierge (Sean) was extremely knowledgable and very helpful. In fact all of the staff were excellent. Our room followed through with the quirky design which brought a smile to our faces on arrival. We ate in the restaurant despite having cancelled earlier and were greeted with a "so glad you could make it after all" when they learned our room number - now thats personal service! I think that sums up the hotel really - you don't feel like you could be anybody, you feel like you matter and are treated like individuals. I've not experienced that before. We couldn't fault this hotel in any way and would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed in early January and really felt like we'd experienced a wintery new year, topped off by a great hotel deal. Breakfast is very good, lots of choice, can fill you up for the day. The bar is thriving, a local hotspot that's a plus to have on your doorstep. The location is perfect for lots of walking to the cultural and culinary highlights of the city. The only negative was the hotel couldn't honour a late check out even though they weren't full.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterJ-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I recommend this hotel. It is tasteful and situated on a beautiful square in Sodermalm. If you have time, walking to the old town is possible and nice, otherwise a metro ride will take you anywhere in five minutes. Perhaps the best asset of the hotel is its staff, who consistently went out of their way to make sure I had a pleasant and comfortable stay.
The only problem came up at the very end in my taxi ride to the airport. I booked the taxi through the reception for a steep "fixed price" of $75, so I wouldn't have to hassle with street taxis. I was flying across the globe at 5 am and came down five minutes late, and then noticed on the way that the meter read $10 more than the fixed price. After asking, the driver told me that was the fee for being five minutes late, which sounded totally like a scam. I argued with him to no avail, so I called the hotel receptionist who told me the hotel was not responsible for taxi policies!!! Of course I had to remind the receptionist that I didn't catch the taxi on the street and that the policies of their third party vendors had a direct reflection on the guest experience and the hotel's reputation. He continued to argue with me and then he got on the phone with the taxi driver. Upon arriving at the airport, the driver begrudgingly told me he would charge me the original price and bill the hotel for the $10 fee.
Overall this was unnecessarily unpleasant and Rival can benefit from either sharing this information with its clients or - better - screening it's thirtd party vendors.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moonbathing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Our stay at the Rival was absolutely magnificent from beginning to end. There was nothing I would or could fault and we had a wonderful and very relaxing time. The staff always went the extra mile to help you, and Sean the concierge was brilliant. I emailed him as soon as we had booked (as his Stockholm tourist blog recommended) and he was amazing. So helpful and courteous, he helped us book movie tickets and even went and got us a tourist map from a museum that he knew was closed when we were there, which he left for us at the front desk when we arrived.
The room was lovely and the bed unbelievably comfortable with gorgeous linen. Everywhere you looked there were special little extra touches that made the stay that much more memorable- like a free DVD rental service and guests corner, where you could go on the internet and make yourself a hot drink at any time.
The meal we had in he restaurant was delicious and the staff were really great. Breakfast was also really good, and the dining room and bar have a lovely ambience. The hotel is in a nice spot that is close to the Tunnelbana so it is very easy to get around.
All in all, if you are going to Stockholm, go to this hotel. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate3346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed at the Rival for 2 nights as part of a weekend away. The hotel is lovely, with excellent cocktail bar, brasserie and restaurant. Room quality was excellent, only negative was that the safe in the room was broken. They couldn't fix it over a weekend, however, we were offered another room from the following day.

The room was really nice, luxurious bedding, big ABBA print behind the bed and they give you DVDs to watch, can hire Wii and Playstation as well if that's what you like. Great view onto the main square opposite and really nice bathroom as well. The whole hotel has kind of a kitsch 1970's feel with a modern twist.

Food in the restaurant is really nice and the buffet breakfast in the morning was excellent. They are happy to cook up an omlette or something nice for you inclusive in the buffet cost as well. You can free coffee and tea as well from one of the floors. Free Wifi.

Location wise, it's a 15 minute walk to Gamla Stan but the nearest subway is 1 minute walk away and you can get into all areas of central Stockholm very easily. Staff are very friendly and attentive.

The only thing I would note is that the Rival is clearly a popular choice to go for a cocktail or two on a Friday/Saturday night. There was some noise out the front of the hotel when the revellers left at the end of the evening. If you're one of those revellers then I guess it wouldn't matter to you. Think hotel needs to make an effort to make sure people leaving hotel in early hours of morning keep noise down.

Overall very good hotel, can understand and agree why it's ranked so highly on tripadvisor...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OverSeaOverLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#2 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#7 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#6 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rival

Property: Hotel Rival
Address: Mariatorget 3, Box 17525, Stockholm 118 91, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rival 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rival is Stockholm's first boutique hotel, located on Sodermalms heights in classic premises in Stockholm. The Rival is a small, modern, individual hotel with unique top-level service. The 99 rooms have high technical standards with an unique interior decorations as well as Internet access. The seventh floor, with its magnificent view, is reserved for suites. The classic cinema Rival has been meticulously renovated and equipped with the latest in multi-media technology. The movie theatre will accommodate 700 conference guests, and the premises are well suited for events and meetings. There are 5 more conference rooms and a generous foyer outside the theatre for exhibits and mingling. The cocktail bar (original art deco), the bar, the bistro and the cafe will serve both hotel guests and local inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rival Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing