We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful oasis”
Review of Hotel Rival

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Rival
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

A beautiful hotel with very comfortable beds. Easy walk to central attractions. Excellent dining room.
Very helpful,and friendly staff. Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,675)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rival
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

851 - 857 of 1,675 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2012

Our family ( parents and 2 teenage boys) just stayed for 5 nights. Stockholm and the hotel are expensive, but given that - everything was great. We had the deluxe rooms - a comfortably sized room for an extended stay with essentially queen-sized beds, nice big bathrooms. One reviewer complained about the beds but my guess is European beds are just harder. The Rival beds where much better than our beds at nice hotels in Germany, Switzerland and Russia.

The location was perfect. 10 min walk from the center of the old city. 5 min walk from a cool pedestrian area. Next to a park in the middle of a nice area.

The breakfast is great - complete buffet plus everything from pancakes to espresso a la carte and all included.

The staff was the best - we had a ton of laundry - did not want to use the hotel service at $5 per sock - so they found an off site service for us at 1/4 the price. Very helpful concierge - restaurants to kayaking.

Stockholm is an awesome city and the Rival is a great hotel. This was definately not a budget trip, but we were not planning it this way. As a family, we are absolutely planning a return visit.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank pdrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Hotel is fine... But for the price search for something nearby Sturegatan and the Humlegarden, where everything happens in Sthlm...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuiBreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This hotel is obviously an "in" place. It has a snazzy modern interior and is located across the street from a pretty park. It is within walking distance of most tourist highlights and also is very close to subway and bus stops. It's cafe is brimming with locals, the restaurant--while pricey--is very good. They include a truly great breakfast...be sure to order Swedish pancakes. The rooms are small but well appointed with ONE BIG EXCEPTION. The bed we had was god awful--soft and broken down. They finally added a bed board...under the thin pillow top... which made it slightly better than sleeping on the floor. Rates seem to vary wildly depending upon how you book. I would give it a higher rating except for the bed.

Room Tip: be sure to test the bed and demand a change if it is uncomfortable
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joerussin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This is a fantastic hotel with the most comfortable bedrooms I have ever experienced. The staff are friendly without being overbearing. The hotel is situated within easy reach of the old town and harbour area and there are plenty of taxis if you need to go further afield. All in all a great place to relax after a busy day.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
Thank Goonerdavem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I was really excited to be staying here - the photos on the website looked amazing and Benny from Abba owns it - what more could I want? The outside of the hotel is imposing and when I entered the lobby, it was gorgeous: sumptuous reds and funky lamps. But that is where the fun ended. The rooms are TINY and the tacky red walls looked more like a student dorm that a cool hotel. The bathroom was really small but the water was hot and the the bed was comfortable but it was difficult to find somewhere to put my suitcase. The carpets are stained throughout the passageways, which was bad but I liked the small area for tea and coffee. This would be OK for a cheaper hotel but it needs a major makeover for the prices charged!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Lolita16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

One of the difficulties in selecting one hotel at the top of the Tripadvisor list is that it is difficult to write an original review. This is the case for Hotel Rival. I can only say that we had a delightful stay at the hotel in late June for the mid-summer celebrations and that everything mentioned in the other reviews about location, staff, room and restaurant is quite true. One thing that I did not see in other reviews is that it is possible to effectively darken the room using a thick curtain (looking like a stage curtain in line with the movie theater theme of the hotel). In my experience, it is not that common in European Nordic Countries and it is very handy for those, like me, who sleep much better in a dark room and can be bothered by light during the very long summer days.

Room Tip: The Deluxe room with a balcony are definitively worth the additional price (at least in summer)
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,321 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,111 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
591 reviews
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rival

Address: Mariatorget 3, Box 17525, Stockholm 118 91, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £155 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rival 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rival is Stockholm's first boutique hotel, located on Sodermalms heights in classic premises in Stockholm. The Rival is a small, modern, individual hotel with unique top-level service. The 99 rooms have high technical standards with an unique interior decorations as well as Internet access. The seventh floor, with its magnificent view, is reserved for suites. The classic cinema Rival has been meticulously renovated and equipped with the latest in multi-media technology. The movie theatre will accommodate 700 conference guests, and the premises are well suited for events and meetings. There are 5 more conference rooms and a generous foyer outside the theatre for exhibits and mingling. The cocktail bar (original art deco), the bar, the bistro and the cafe will serve both hotel guests and local inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rival Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing