We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel EVA!”
Review of Hotel Rival

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Rival
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“best hotel EVA!”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Staying here now and we love it! I second all the glowing reviews below. The best breakfast buffet, wonderful service. Rooms are not small at all, everything from the beds, the view, bathrooms is perfect. Dont want to leave! Stay here if you get the chance you will not regret it!

Room Tip: Overlooking the park is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkersydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,126
    422
    56
    20
    2
See reviews for
163
853
96
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Not only is this hotel an absolute gem in terms of location, comfort, friendly staff and history, but we recently sat night after night watching the best show in town, Tommy the cocktail barman. He has apparently only been at this hotel for about a year and a half, and they should do whatever it takes to keep him there. He is creative, efficient, fast and a showman. I've never seen a barman simultaneously pour two beers from two taps, take another order from a packed bar and suggest a fancy cocktail which he whips up in another half minute. Good one Tommy, you have two Aussie fans who will not forget your supreme talents.

Room Tip: All rooms in most Scandinavian hotels are quiet - must be the double glazing. Ask for a front room l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellsbellsGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

We initially booked the hotel to celebrate our birthdays/have a weekend away but it actually turned out to also be our "engagement" weekend! The Rival was the perfect place to celebrate, as was a snow covered Stockholm!

The hotel was easy to get to (train from the airport) and a taxi to the Hotel, the metro was very close too. The rival is quite central, an easy walk to the old town, museums and other tourists spots.

The Bar/restaurant was the place to be on the Friday/Saturday, the atmosphere was buzzing and lively (no noise disturbance when in our room/sleeping though). I would recommend the restaurant as the food was lovely, especially the desserts :)

We stayed in one of the superior/deluxe rooms with a balcony and could not have asked for anything more! We had a lovely view of the square/park. The room was very spacious, clean & stylish.

The complimentary Evelyn & Crabtree toiletries was a lovely touch, as was the separate shower/tub! The free coffee/tea on the third floor was just what you needed after a day of sightseeing.

Breakfast was included in our stay but if it wasn't I would have definitely paid extra for it as the choice/variety was amazing! The buffet style was great but to top it off you could order freshly made pancakes, waffles, sausages, eggs etc (this was all included).

The staff at the Rival where friendly but not overbearing & where very helpful when recommending places to eat/how to get around etc.

The DVD library was also a great touch. We Couldn't have asked for a better weekend/stay.

We will definitely be returning to the Rival :)

********Perfect*********

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatashaSheree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Since it was Rated No. 2, and they had a good deal off season for a single, I pounced on it. Wow. I had a great time. I'm into stylish hotels and this had the goods. The place is a hot spot with the bars and cafe, so don't expect it to be calm. I wouldn't consider it a family friendly place since the lobby can be happening at 1am. Since I was a single traveler, it was what I was looking for. The location is great because it's not in the crowded/tourist North part of town, Sodermalm is the laid back, hip area, sort of Brooklyn-like. You have a Metro a block away and plenty of bus lines in the area. If I had to say something on the downside, is that when there's an event, it can be a little hectic in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccc1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

As you might not expect from an owner who previously sang in a seriously uncool band (Benny from Abba, no less), this is a pretty cool and funky hotel in a good location (10 mins walk to Gamla Stan old town). Friendly and efficient service (taking people up to their rooms seems to have fallen out of fashion but I'm happy with that), nice artwork on the walls, a fairly ugly metal door, but a nice little room behind it. There was barely any space around the bed but hidden behind curtains was a safe, minibar, iron/board and umbrella. Another bonus was the long list of free movies available - a rare treat in a hotel. The shower was excellent - big and with a rainshower option which I love.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonysony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaipur,India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Hotel Rival is well located in central stockholm and though it seems over-priced, so are most other hotels in this city! Pleasant staff and good service. Rooms were dis-appointingly small. Also they are on of the select few hotels with smoking rooms, but they did not inform me before-hand that i could not get one. (They have only 2 smoking rooms!!) Free Tea-Coffe and Wifi are a pleasant plus!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank secondpilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I spent two nights here with a group of friends enjoying a pre Christmas break. The hotel is well located, walking distance from most things and close to an underground rail station.
Rooms are quite small but well appointed. I had a room overlooking the inner courtyard which was filled with snow and very atmospheric.
Bathroom is small but again well appointed with good toiletries.
There are some nice touches for example a long list of movies on DVD you can borrow from reception at no charge; free wifi (should always be free in hotels in my view); free tea and coffee on the 4th floor. None of it seems like rocket science to come up with but the extras are what make a place stand out a bit.
Breakfast was very good. The omelettes (made to order) are particularly good. The view over the park from the restaurant is really lovely.
The staff at reception and the concierge were all extremely helpful; have a look at the concierge's blog (The Stockholm Tourist) for tourist tips - if you're staying at the hotel you get even more info from him.
I had one small issue with the hotel which was that the bin in the bathroom was not emptied after the previous guest had vacated the room. When I told the receptionist he looked genuinely embarrassed that it had happened and assured me it would be dealt with immediately. When I returned to my room later that day the bin had been emptied and a note of apology along with a bottle of wine left in the room for me - excellent customer service.
The rate at the hotel was a little more than others I found that were also well reviewed so I cannot say whether or not Rival represents great value but I liked it and would return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLMCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,296 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
1,992 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
303 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rival

Property: Hotel Rival
Address: Mariatorget 3, Box 17525, Stockholm 118 91, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rival 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rival is Stockholm's first boutique hotel, located on Sodermalms heights in classic premises in Stockholm. The Rival is a small, modern, individual hotel with unique top-level service. The 99 rooms have high technical standards with an unique interior decorations as well as Internet access. The seventh floor, with its magnificent view, is reserved for suites. The classic cinema Rival has been meticulously renovated and equipped with the latest in multi-media technology. The movie theatre will accommodate 700 conference guests, and the premises are well suited for events and meetings. There are 5 more conference rooms and a generous foyer outside the theatre for exhibits and mingling. The cocktail bar (original art deco), the bar, the bistro and the cafe will serve both hotel guests and local inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rival Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing