We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Great City”
Review of Hotel Rival

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rival
Ranked #2 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at The Rival. It is a great hotel situated in the fashionable district of Sodermalm and close to all the amenities of this beautiful city. The Hotel is trendy, modern and cool but not too try hard. Check in was swift and friendly and the Reception Team capable and helpful. We adored our Deluxe Balcony Room which was spacious and funky, the terrace looked out over a pleasant leafy square to the front of the hotel and the huge window flooded the room with light. Breakfast was good with both buffet and cooked to order food, I particularly loved the Laduree style macaroons which I have never seen offered at breakfast before. There is also a 24 hour help yourself tea/coffee station situated on the Fourth Floor (with proper milk, no blasted jiggers). We ate a couple of times at The Rival Restaurant which is a laid back happening spot, popular with locals too. Food from both the Bar and Restaurant Menu was very enjoyable. The nicest area for dining is one of the handful of booths that can be reserved, there is also a skinny strip of terrace for sunny days. The only downside is that service in the dining room/bar was hopeless, the staff were perfectly pleasant when you did finally get hold of them but just not observant and we did walk out of the bar on one occasion after waiting to be served without success for way too long. Management need to tighten up this service but aside from that this is a fun and feel good hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

774 - 780 of 1,722 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed here for a celebratory birthday weekend. One of the things that made this trip special was the outstanding pre visit service we received from the hotel's concierge, Sean. He made excellent restaurant recommendations, once we had browsed his excellent blog, and he handled all the reservations very efficiently on our behalf. So, that is a big thank you to Sean. The hotel itself was very nice indeed. We stayed in room 409 which had great views, a balcony and a big comfy bed. The staff were faultless; uniformly sunny and helpful, relaxed but attentive. The hotel food is seriously good and there are some outstanding restaurants nearby - just ask Sean or read his blog. A really great birthday weekend made more special by the hotel and its staff.

Room Tip: Go for a balcony room overlooking the square and watch the world go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We just returned from a 4-night stay at the Rival, which we chose solely based on Tripadvisor reviews (currently ranked #2 in Stockholm). We reserved a Deluxe Balcony Room, and paid US$443 for Saturday, US$412 for Sunday, and US$535 for Monday and Tuesday.

Location: Rival is located in Sodermalm, and faces the Mariatorget Park, which is a beautiful green space (on a sunny day the park is filled with adults and kids). The Mariatorget T-Bana station is right around the corner (2 minute walk), and only 2 stops from Gamla Stan and 3 stops from Central Station, so you’re within minutes to anything you want to see (I highly recommend buying a Stockholm Card online and having it mailed to you or picking it up at the tourism office across the street from Central Station – it gets you into pretty much all attractions and free public transportation. The card paid for itself on the first day). There are beautiful shops and bakeries right outside the hotel. It’s an upscale, beautiful little neighborhood.

The Hotel: We had room 305, which has a nice balcony overlooking the park and large windows. There was a deep bathtub with a large window that overlooks the room (you can watch TV while taking a hot bath), and a separate shower with a powerful rainfall shower head in the ceiling. There are speakers in the bathroom ceiling with adjustable volume control so you can hear the television while you watch it through the large window in the bathroom.

The room had a very comfortable king bed with a large, beautiful mural of Greta Garbo over the bed (see our photos), desk, flat screen Samsung SmartTV, DVD player, and they put a bunch of DVDs in the room and have a DVD menu if you want to watch something else. There are two large armours with lots of hanging, shelf, and drawer space, iron and ironing board, bathrobes and slippers.

The free WIFI worked great the entire time, and we had streaming video on our IPads with no problems. Housekeeping was very good and there was turndown service available every night.

Business/Coffee Center: On the fourth floor (quick one-flight up the stairs) there are 2 computers with laser printer (great for boarding passes) and a coffee machine that makes all types of coffees, cappuccinos, teas, etc., and plenty of cups and other accessories. It’s open 24 hours. So we had nice coffees in our room every morning.

Staff: Everyone at the hotel treated us very well. Special thanks to Michael and Robert at the front desk and Sean, the hotel Concierge.

We did not eat at the Hotel’s restaurant but I know they have an elaborate Sunday brunch and breakfast every morning. Also, the lobby has a hip bar and a theater. We walked around and it was very nice. The Hotel’s website is very informative. Can’t wait to come back.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ChristopherPrusaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I booked this hotel for a quick business trip based on TA reviews. It did not disappoint. The hotel is situated in a quiet neighborhood, but walking distance to night life and Stockholm subway station. Upon arrival, I was happy to see very colorful decor given one of its owners is Benny from ABBA. The plus side is that WiFi is free and the room is large. I was thankful that there wasn't much noise level at night and I was able to get a good night of sleep. There was a bluray DVD player with multiple movies to choose from in the room. Although I didn't use it, it would definitely have been a fun experience to do a movie night in.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bingbingboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The staff was young and professional. We asked them a lot of tips and always got good answers. The rooms were cozy with modern Nordic design. Breakfast was one of the best i have tasted. Location was good near the old town and with subway you came easily to city center. At night we noticed that voices from corridors were loud in the rooms- as people came from night clubs we woke up.
We took the Arlanda Express train from Arlanda and taxi from T-centralen to the hotel. Taxi costs about 120-180kr and the train 260kr (up to 25 years old- under that 130kr). We found this a easy and fast (not cheapest!) way to travel between hotel and airport.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

In May 2013 we stayed for a second time in Rival hotel, and it was just as great as the first time. Comfortable rooms, great beds and a wonderful breakfast all at a great location on Mariatorget. Service was exceptional, especially at front desk and restaurant, where we wanted a late dinner, which was served without any problem. Warmly recommended!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This was our second time staying at The Rival. It's a trendy boutique hotel in a great part of town and only two blocks from the Stockholm T-Bana – you really can't beat the location.

In order to avoid the tiny bathroom (way too small for 2 people) we had to upgrade from our Superior to Deluxe. As a result, the room wound up being far too expensive for what you get, even by Stockholm standards. Additionally, our room seemed a bit worse for wear compared to the last time we stayed in the summer of 2011:

- Carpet and bathroom were not adequately cleaned when we checked in
- TV volume control in bathroom was broken, so you could hear television in the bathroom even if it was muted outside (they did fix this immediately when we pointed it out the second day of our stay)
- Near-broken lamp switch, had to jiggle it to work correctly
- Two twin beds moved together, mattresses fairly thin and flimsy

These are not things I would point out if the room was cheaper – but for these prices, one expects a bit more. On the plus side, great bath and shower with excellent water pressure (Deluxe room), very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast buffet, nice atmosphere all around. The café next door is very nice as well.

Probably my biggest problem with Rival is the lighting in the rooms. While it bothered me the first time we stayed there, this time I found it practically unbearable. The rooms are very under-equipped as far as lighting goes and as a result, unless you have the window drapes wide open, it's extremely dark inside. There are essentially only a couple of small lamps in the main area and a couple on each side of the beds – completely inadequate if you are doing anything other than reading in bed. I found it incredibly difficult to do basic things such as apply makeup, see the contents of my suitcase etc. In May the days are already long so it was tolerable, but I can't imagine how it is in the winter when there are only a few hours of sunlight!

Also, I think there should be deflector drapes in the rooms similar to what is in the bistro. It is either all or nothing in the rooms – either sunlight is blaring in with no deflection whatsoever, or it's nearly pitch dark if you close the curtains that are there.

If you don't mind the dark rooms and want to enjoy nice breakfasts/meals in a great and convenient part of town, Rival is a good choice. At this point, I will probably choose a different hotel the next time I am in Stockholm.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artemis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 155 in Stockholm
1,352 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 155 in Stockholm
622 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#5 of 155 in Stockholm
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 155 in Stockholm
2,203 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#7 of 155 in Stockholm
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rival

Address: Mariatorget 3, Box 17525, Stockholm 118 91, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £135 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rival 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rival is Stockholm's first boutique hotel, located on Sodermalms heights in classic premises in Stockholm. The Rival is a small, modern, individual hotel with unique top-level service. The 99 rooms have high technical standards with an unique interior decorations as well as Internet access. The seventh floor, with its magnificent view, is reserved for suites. The classic cinema Rival has been meticulously renovated and equipped with the latest in multi-media technology. The movie theatre will accommodate 700 conference guests, and the premises are well suited for events and meetings. There are 5 more conference rooms and a generous foyer outside the theatre for exhibits and mingling. The cocktail bar (original art deco), the bar, the bistro and the cafe will serve both hotel guests and local inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rival Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing