We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rival

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Rival
Ranked #3 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We just spent 5 days at this wonderful hotel. This is a very trendy, cool, happening hotel. Location is perfect facing Mariatorget Park, a very beautiful park. The nearest station is just around the corner, 2 minutes walking, so you are within minutes of doing all that you need. The hotel room was excellent, clean, large windows, lovely bathroom. Large King Bed was really comfortable, Smart TV, DVD. The free WiFi worked really well.Overall an excellent hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IloveSpagetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,061
    404
    53
    20
    2
See reviews for
149
807
91
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

This is the first review I have ever felt compelled to write. This hotel is fantastic. The location is excellent. Close enough to walk into the old town and situated in a lovely square. The hotel is well decorated but quirky. The beds are very comfortable and there is a pillow menu! The breakfast was lovely. Staff were friendly and very helpful. I had the best time ever!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is my second stay in the Rival. Friendly, helpful staff. Rooms are comfortable and well appointed. The location is great , with the quiet, leafy, tranquil Mariotorgat Square on the front. Breakfast was first class. Everything about this hotel is special.. Will return again.

Room Tip: This time my room faced other rooms. I'd suggest asking for a room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Educationalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdosta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
438 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights and absolutely loved it! Rooms were nice sized and well appointed...quite modern, but very comfortable. After two and three-star hotels in France for the last 2 1/2 weeks, the bathroom was a delight. We had gotten the breakfast option and it was fantastic. Last but not least, every staff member we came in contact with was nice, polite, happy and helpful. As I said, what a great hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
184 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Rival, and enjoyed every minute of it. We had a balcony room, overlooking the small square on the edge of which the hotel stands. It is only a 10 minute walk to the Slussen train/bus interchange, and a little further to the Old Town.
Check in was fast, efficient and welcoming. We were assured we had a nice room (505), which was something of an under-statement. Great bathroom, with rain shower, separate bath, and a louvred view into the bedroom. The heated floor was unnecessary, but a nice touch. Warm timber flooring, an extensive pillow menu, free access to a large DVD and Blu-ray library, free wi-fi and plenty of wardrobe space rounded out the offering.
We ate in the Bistro each morning, and again one night. The food was of a uniformly high standard. The café is also great for a quick lunch, or mid morning or afternoon snack. Food fresh and by-and-large healthy.
We particularly liked the evident character of the place...multi-coloured walls, distressed rugs, some off-beat artwork, and of course the old cinema really set the place apart.
In short, a gem, not easily found at the price amongst Scandanavian hotels.

Room Tip: Go for a balcony room, high floor (5-7). The street can be noisy, as there is a disco/nightclub abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenstOat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
742 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at The Rival. It is a great hotel situated in the fashionable district of Sodermalm and close to all the amenities of this beautiful city. The Hotel is trendy, modern and cool but not too try hard. Check in was swift and friendly and the Reception Team capable and helpful. We adored our Deluxe Balcony Room which was spacious and funky, the terrace looked out over a pleasant leafy square to the front of the hotel and the huge window flooded the room with light. Breakfast was good with both buffet and cooked to order food, I particularly loved the Laduree style macaroons which I have never seen offered at breakfast before. There is also a 24 hour help yourself tea/coffee station situated on the Fourth Floor (with proper milk, no blasted jiggers). We ate a couple of times at The Rival Restaurant which is a laid back happening spot, popular with locals too. Food from both the Bar and Restaurant Menu was very enjoyable. The nicest area for dining is one of the handful of booths that can be reserved, there is also a skinny strip of terrace for sunny days. The only downside is that service in the dining room/bar was hopeless, the staff were perfectly pleasant when you did finally get hold of them but just not observant and we did walk out of the bar on one occasion after waiting to be served without success for way too long. Management need to tighten up this service but aside from that this is a fun and feel good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed here for a celebratory birthday weekend. One of the things that made this trip special was the outstanding pre visit service we received from the hotel's concierge, Sean. He made excellent restaurant recommendations, once we had browsed his excellent blog, and he handled all the reservations very efficiently on our behalf. So, that is a big thank you to Sean. The hotel itself was very nice indeed. We stayed in room 409 which had great views, a balcony and a big comfy bed. The staff were faultless; uniformly sunny and helpful, relaxed but attentive. The hotel food is seriously good and there are some outstanding restaurants nearby - just ask Sean or read his blog. A really great birthday weekend made more special by the hotel and its staff.

Room Tip: Go for a balcony room overlooking the square and watch the world go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#2 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Motel L
#6 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rival

Property: Hotel Rival
Address: Mariatorget 3, Box 17525, Stockholm 118 91, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rival 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rival is Stockholm's first boutique hotel, located on Sodermalms heights in classic premises in Stockholm. The Rival is a small, modern, individual hotel with unique top-level service. The 99 rooms have high technical standards with an unique interior decorations as well as Internet access. The seventh floor, with its magnificent view, is reserved for suites. The classic cinema Rival has been meticulously renovated and equipped with the latest in multi-media technology. The movie theatre will accommodate 700 conference guests, and the premises are well suited for events and meetings. There are 5 more conference rooms and a generous foyer outside the theatre for exhibits and mingling. The cocktail bar (original art deco), the bar, the bistro and the cafe will serve both hotel guests and local inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Rival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rival Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing