We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel”
Review of Hotel Rival

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Rival
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Very funky, trendy hotel where nothing seems to much trouble for the staff. The decor was great, definitely looked like a old theatre and I loved the way the rooms were numbered and presented. We had a great room overlooking the park (209) which was huge, great bathroom a balcony to watch the passers by. We dined in restaurant which the service and food was first class. Shaun the concierge, was very helpful and steered us to a lovely French/Swedish bistro the second night. Only comment would be no tea or coffee making facilities in the room but the restaurant staff gave us coffees to go both mornings
So it wasn't an issue really. Five stars, would definitely stay here if we are in Stockholm again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,094
    414
    55
    20
    2
See reviews for
156
828
95
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights on our first trip to Stockholm and are prepared to declare this one of our all-time favourite hotels! The anniversary rate offered was a great value: the superior room was plenty of space for 2, with a large bathroom and strong shower; the buffet breakfast with eggs and espresso drinks made to order (and served until 11:30 am!) was fantastic and filling; the 1 block walk to the subway was extremely convenient; and the neighbourhood with a park right across the street was safe and fun to explore. The staff were friendly and helpful. I can't think of anything negative to say!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yygrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
128 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Spent 5 nights in this great hotel, where they don't just have DVD's available but will bring one to your room within 5 minutes of calling for one. Reception staff extremely friendly and cheerful. Even though I had the smallest room (economy single) it still felt spacious and equipped with everything I would ever need, and more. Loved the bathrobe, umbrella, ironing board and minibar with a little extra space to store my supermarket bought goodies. The bedsheets were luxurious and the curtains and air conditioning meant I could sleeep well even in the middle of summer. I got a good deal that included breakfast and especially enjoyed the made to order hot dishes (omelette, pancakes, French toast and fried eggs) Although Gamla Stan is walkable I used the T bana for most of my trips into town. There is also a bike renting station just outside the hotel. I would stay here again (and again and again)!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchLassie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We visited mid-june and had a wonderful stay at Hotel Rival. I loved the decor and the beds were super comfy. The 1st night we were too tired to go out to eat so we decided to eat at the Hotel Restaurant, AMAZING! We would rebook here in a heartbeat....or move in if we could, we loved Stockholm!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The Rival has a good location in Södermalm on Mariatorget, a pleasant square with trees and fountain, and a 15-minute walk away from Gamla Stan. We were there for 3 days over Midsummer’s Eve and expected to experience some of the bustle and noise that apparently occur during events at the hotel, but it was very quiet. It turns out all the Swedes leave town for their summer cottages then!

We had room 205, a deluxe with balcony. In keeping with the movie theme of this converted theatre, there was a large movie still over the bed and big curtains. Design is sleek and modern, with a hardwood floor, a row of cabinetry along one wall for ample storage and a large tile-and-glass bathroom with both tub and shower. A unique touch is the window separating the bathroom from the rest of the room; a venetian blind provides privacy (hint: look up and left for the cord). Amenities include an ample supply of toiletries, terrycloth robes, slippers, ironing board & iron and a full-sized hairdryer (if you can find it; look in the drawer below the mini-bar). The balcony was very pleasant--sit with a cup of coffee and view the activity in the square, or the bar balcony below.

There were some quirks new to us. We stood in the elevator with our luggage for several moments, trying to get the floor button to work. You use the chip in your room card key to activate the elevator, it turned out. The lighting in the room was a bit complicated. The bathroom lights can be raised and lowered, but took a while to figure out. There are no overhead lights in the main part of the room, just bedside, desk and corner lamps. There was an overall feeling of inadequate light there, except during the day (thankfully long then) with the drapes open.

The front desk was very friendly and helpful, particularly when it came to locating a restaurant within walking distance that was open on Midsummer’s Eve. They also helped with dialing a number correctly on our rental international cell phone.

We had dinner in the Bistro twice. The food was very good, the wine list decent, but both fairly pricey, par for Stockholm. Breakfasts (also in the Bistro) were excellent, offering plenty of variety, including scrambled eggs and bacon. Other items like omelets, French toast, cappuccinos, etc., can be ordered from the wait staff. We did not have a chance to try the Café Rival.

There was only one negative to our stay. My wife detected a mold smell in the bathroom, maybe from the exterior base of the shower stall glass where water seemed to collect. We mentioned it to the desk and they responded immediately. Unfortunately, the problem persisted.

That said, the Rival is a great hotel experience and we’d definitely return.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe room with balcony in the warmer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Escargo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Visited Hotel Rival with my husband and daughter. Stayed in a beautiful modern room with very comfortable beds and nice bath. Excellent breakfast that offered more choices than usual for a European hotel. Excellent location close to shops and a 10 minute walk to the old town. Hotel concierge suggested a wonderful restaurant just a block away...Cafe Süd...delicious! Overall a very nice hotel that exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cqtspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Booked a special rate inc,using breakfast. Breakfast buffet was nice an you can order proper coffee and some hot items from a menu (included in price). Staff were really friendly and helpful. A nice feature is a list of DVD's you can borrow, call reception and they will deliver one to your room. Stayed in a superior room which was pretty spacious and had lots of wardrobe space. Bathroom was really big with a large shower and separate bath. Fixtures feel expensive, unlike so,e hotels where it feels like they skimp on things to save money. Our room was on the courtyard side and very quiet, but we could hear people walking in the room above. One thing that was really annoying was the Internet. Wifi is free (you can pay for faster speeds) but the strength of the signal in our room was weak and often dropped out. This is why I gave it a 4 instead of 5, I found this really inconvenient. I found the location to be really convenient. It's a 2 minute walk to the closest metro station, which is 3 stops from central. You can walk to Gamla Stan in about 15 mins. The area around the hotel has lots of cafes, restaurants and boutique stores. Overall, I would stay there again if I could get a special rate with breakfast and I would ask for a room with a good wifi signal.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EzzOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,277 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
517 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
1,923 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#8 of 154 in Stockholm
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rival

Property: Hotel Rival
Address: Mariatorget 3, Box 17525, Stockholm 118 91, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rival 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rival is Stockholm's first boutique hotel, located on Sodermalms heights in classic premises in Stockholm. The Rival is a small, modern, individual hotel with unique top-level service. The 99 rooms have high technical standards with an unique interior decorations as well as Internet access. The seventh floor, with its magnificent view, is reserved for suites. The classic cinema Rival has been meticulously renovated and equipped with the latest in multi-media technology. The movie theatre will accommodate 700 conference guests, and the premises are well suited for events and meetings. There are 5 more conference rooms and a generous foyer outside the theatre for exhibits and mingling. The cocktail bar (original art deco), the bar, the bistro and the cafe will serve both hotel guests and local inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rival Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing