We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Hotel in a Beautiful City”
Review of Hotel Rival

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Rival
Ranked #2 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Our family of two adults and one teenager stayed at Hotel Rival for 4 nights in August. We were very pleased with this hotel. We found it to be quiet, clean, and comfortable. Our room was spacious, even with the addition of a cot for our teenager. The bathroom was large with nice extras, like a heated floor. The room overlooked the lovely park across the street from the hotel. We arrived in Stockholm by plane. We appreciated having the hotel arrange to have a cab meet us at the airport and transport us to the hotel. We arrived late morning, before check in time. We were able to store our bags and be on our way to explore the Old Town. The location of Hotel Rival is ideal. The neighborhood is quiet and safe. We were able to walk to all of the points of interest we visited during our stay. Breakfast was included with our reservation. The breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant included a nice variety of items that were both fresh and tasty. On the day of our departure we were off to the airport before the breakfast room opened. The front desk made arrangements for us to have early entry into the restaurant. We highly recommend Hotel Rival and would be happy to return ourselves for another stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TLK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

719 - 725 of 1,721 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is a very comfortable, quiet and interesting hotel. The staff are very helpful beginning with providing VERY detailed instructions on how to find the hotel in every possible mode of transportation from plane to train to bus to car to...everything but pogo stick. That theme continued with a very efficient and complete orientation at check in.

The rooms are large and well equiped. I particularly liked the Venetian blinds on the window from the bathroom, looking out into the bedroom. They provide all the amenities from a robe available to purchase to shampoos and very thick, thirsty towels. There are 200 or so free movie titles and a TV/Stereo entertainment set up that would make anyone want to move in here. The location is great, close to shops and restaurants. It is directly across from a small square which is a good place to walk and look at dragon (statues) being slain.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Loved this hotel. Was a little concerned because it also has a bar and late night restaurant, but it was QUIET. The room was amazing - walk-in shower, heated bathroom floor, very comfortable king sized bed with great linens. Also two chairs, one with a great reading light and reading lights on each side of the bed (my husband and I are readers). In a great neighborhood - about a block from the metro, a supermarket within a block, lots of shops and cafes. The wine in the mini-bar is not too expensive and good as you have to go to a special shop in Stockholm to buy wine. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank likebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The Hotel Rival is a wonderful hotel located away from the busy city center, but close to it. The hotel is in a very quiet neighborhood across from a park, but about a 2 minute walk to the Metro; and about a 10-15 minute walk to the beginning of Old Town. There are plenty of restaurants and a grocery store very close. Breakfast featured an extensive buffet plus made-to-order items like omelets and French toast. The staff was very helpful and accommodating and all spoke excellent English. Our last morning we had to leave before breakfast opened, so the staff gave us sandwiches and drinks to go. Our room was cozy (common in European hotels) but very well equipped: refrigerator, minibar, TV, DVD player (with a very extensive DVD library in the lobby), Wi-Fi, and a safe. The common area on the 4th floor had a coffee machine (free), ice, and two computers with a printer. A very pleasant and convenient place to stay.

PS A five minute north from the hotel (up the hill to the right as you leave the hotel) takes you to a fabulous overlook where you can sit, relax, and see just about all of Stockholm.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are especially quiet, but I would expect all the rooms to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OscarTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This is a great hotel if you like unique local feel in a non touristy area with friendly professional service...and who doesn't want all that? Bright comfortable rooms with all mod cons. Love the large shower and timber floors. It has a restored Art Deco feel with plush public areas and fabulous design touches everywhere. Massive ABBA photo over my bed which was a nice nod to the owner Benny Andersson. There was a range of CD and DVDs in my room with a good mix of mainstream and quirky. Great free coffee and tea with biscuits from the fourth floor self service area. I loved the service here. Welcomed by name on walking in to check in and a polite chatty crew on reception. Excellent restaurant with good food and again that informal slick service. the cafe/bar is popular with trendy locals and is hard to get a seat in on sunny days. Sodermalm is a great area with glacier cool shops and nice cafes. All in all a characterful, classy hotel that reminds you you are in Stockholm and I'm keen to return.

Room Tip: Room facing Mariatorget ideally with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozplod66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at this hotel and found it to be simply fabulous. Location is wonderful, overlooking a small beautiful park in a hip area with lots of cafes, boutiques in the immediate vicinity and literally steps away from the metro station. You could also walk to town center (Gamla Stan, etc.). Rooms are well appointed and breakfast was outstanding (could order additional items from a menu at no additional charge). Free coffee/tea/cookies on 4th floor, free wifi and free access to mini business center (2 computers and printer) are also provided. We interacted with several of the front desk staff and the breakfast team and found each one of the them to be very welcoming and helpful. Staff spoke PERFECT English throughout which was great as, sadly, we don't speak any Swedish (the education system in Sweden must be quite superior in the languages). One issue we encountered is that we couldn't control the room temperature, which wasn't a major issue for us at this time of the year. Also, the ice machine on the 4th floor wasn't working properly throughout our stay despite the fact that we reported it to the hotel. Nevertheless, we strongly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again if we're lucky to visit beautiful Stockholm again!

Room Tip: Front facing rooms offer beautiful park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fasttrackDxB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

All of the finishing touches made this a great place to stay - the coffee machine station, free wifi, nicely furnished and designed rooms, crabtree and evelyn toiletries, cd player and music in the bathroom, included breakfast which was help your self buffet which of which there is a fantastic choice - the bread rolls were scrumptious and the macaroons melted on swallowing :-)
The pancakes from the breakfast menu were the only disappointment they were very greasy, also I had expected them to be the American waffle style.. All the staff are helpful and friendly
Definitely would choose the Rival for future trips to Stockholm..

Room Tip: 522 was a nice room - it had a window in the bathroom and was nice and light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 155 in Stockholm
1,350 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 155 in Stockholm
620 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#5 of 155 in Stockholm
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 155 in Stockholm
2,200 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#6 of 155 in Stockholm
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rival

Address: Mariatorget 3, Box 17525, Stockholm 118 91, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £135 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rival 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rival is Stockholm's first boutique hotel, located on Sodermalms heights in classic premises in Stockholm. The Rival is a small, modern, individual hotel with unique top-level service. The 99 rooms have high technical standards with an unique interior decorations as well as Internet access. The seventh floor, with its magnificent view, is reserved for suites. The classic cinema Rival has been meticulously renovated and equipped with the latest in multi-media technology. The movie theatre will accommodate 700 conference guests, and the premises are well suited for events and meetings. There are 5 more conference rooms and a generous foyer outside the theatre for exhibits and mingling. The cocktail bar (original art deco), the bar, the bistro and the cafe will serve both hotel guests and local inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rival Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing