We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay if visiting Stockholm”
Review of Hotel Rival

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Rival
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great location within walking distance of downtown Stockholm. Great breakfast and really friendly staff who went out of their way to make sure you enjoyed the city. There are 2 lively bars in the hotel, but that never got in the way of a decent nights sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

693 - 699 of 1,697 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

I staid in a rather small room with view on the courtyard. However, the room was used to its maximum efficiency and had all necessary features.

I like attention to details such as an umbrella in the room.

good breakfast, except for the terrible bread, as in other hotels, which is unfortunately one thing swedes can definitely not bake. Try something crunchy and not punchy!

very friendly staff.

I will most probably come back here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marijn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here because we wanted to try a different area of Stockholm. While there were interesting shops and restaurants nearby and it is close to the old town, I think first time visitors to Stockholm would better appreciate a hotel near Skeppsholmen or Nybrokajen. Staff were friendly. We found the concierge's blog helpful, but we didn't use his services directly. Our room was a bit worn despite being one of the best (e.g., water and nail polish stains on the tables). Our balcony was a bit too small to sit out on, but we appreciated the view over the square. The breakfast was perfectly fine, but didn't really match the rave reviews we'd read. It was a bit quieter than I'd expected, but we were there mid-week, perhaps it is more hopping on the weekends?

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrownOwlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Three of my friends and I turned 50 this year, so we decided to go on an Abba pilgrimage…to Stockholm! So where better to stay than in Benny’s hotel? Two of my friends were avid Abba fans back in the 70’s, so we emailed in advance to see if we could get them the Abba room. We were not disappointed. The upgrade was great (if you like Abba)with a huge picture of Abba adorning the wall, and a lovely big balcony. Both rooms had everything you could want including flat screen TV and sound system (complete with Abba CD), iron, hairdryer, fridge full of yummies and even an umbrella! The beds were so comfortable, complete with pillow menu. The receptionist was very helpful and gave us a map and advice on what to see.
Breakfast was great with a huge variety of food and drink. There were loads of different types of tea, coffee, fruit juices and even a raspberry shot…delicious! There was a hot buffet, but you can ask for food off the menu too. There were numerous pastries and other baked items, including Mrs Overall’s favourite MACAROONs! Do eat a lot for breakfast as Stockholm is very expensive.
The cocktail bar was lovely but please choose off the menu and don’t let the bar man make up his own for you….Tom Cruise he isn’t!
A lovely boutique hotel that I would thoroughly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up, at the back and with a balcony. Take duty free, keep it in the fridge and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bronzedfrombucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We recently spent three nights at Hotel Rival to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary. We found the staff at reception very friendly and helpful and our deluxe room on the sixth floor was clean and spacious (and I enjoyed sitting on our balcony early evening and catching the last of the day's sun). Our breakfasts were included and we found there was ample choice of good quality food and we didn't have to wait long for the waitress to bring our omelettes and poached eggs which we'd ordered from the kitchen area. Our only gripe was that we sat in the lounge area of the ground floor cafe one evening to enjoy a bottle of wine, but the chairs and carpet were worn and tatty and needed replacing. Such a shame as the rest of the hotel was spick and span. Also, as it was our Silver Wedding, it would have been nice to have had a little bit of extra fuss made of us on the day - our room was adorned with cards from our friends and the staff at reception had made an anniversary booking for us at a nearby restaurant, so a card from the hotel would have been a lovely touch (athough a bottle of wine would have been nicer - but I'm expecting too much at Swedish prices!).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsfuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

terrific hotel- great location, staff, breakfast, beds, pillow menu. Extremely comfortable. Stylish, sophisticated yet friendliest hotel. Has cafe and restaurant where sumptuous breakfasts are held and they go out of their way to please. Found out about this hotel from Trip Advisor and am so glad to report that the Rival lives up to its reputation. The location is terrific, too, with delightful local restaurants, good transportation and neighborhood feel.

Room Tip: Deluxe with balcony overlooking lovely park and gorgeousness buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This Hotel is a short distance from the busier downtown area but still in walking distance. Very quiet area with a lovely park right across the street. The rooms were spacious and we loved the pillow menu - what a great idea. We had a delicious dinner in the hotel dining room and reasonably priced. Everything you needed was in the room and if you wanted tea or coffee and a biscuit you just had to go to the 4th floor and help yourself. The front desk staff was very helpful. A must stay while in Stockholm.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank threesisiters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,325 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,147 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
335 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rival

Address: Mariatorget 3, Box 17525, Stockholm 118 91, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £154 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rival 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rival is Stockholm's first boutique hotel, located on Sodermalms heights in classic premises in Stockholm. The Rival is a small, modern, individual hotel with unique top-level service. The 99 rooms have high technical standards with an unique interior decorations as well as Internet access. The seventh floor, with its magnificent view, is reserved for suites. The classic cinema Rival has been meticulously renovated and equipped with the latest in multi-media technology. The movie theatre will accommodate 700 conference guests, and the premises are well suited for events and meetings. There are 5 more conference rooms and a generous foyer outside the theatre for exhibits and mingling. The cocktail bar (original art deco), the bar, the bistro and the cafe will serve both hotel guests and local inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rival Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing