We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with fantastic service and fun ambience”
Review of Hotel Rival

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Rival
Ranked #3 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location with fantastic service and fun ambience”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed at The Rival for 6 nights in early September and had a wonderful experience.
The lobby and entrance area have bright and contemporary decor , as one would expect, which makes it very inviting and comfortable as well.
We got an accessible room (though we didn't need one) so the room was very spacious with a separate study nook and a neat balcony overlooking the neighboring apartment buildings. The beds were very comfortable and I remember just sinking onto the bed and not remembering a thing till next morning!
The buffet breakfast served in the Bistro room was a great spread...as one would expect from a top-notch hotel; however, since we stayed there for 6 nights (i.e. 6 breakfasts), the items were the same every day which was a bit of a bore, but we did have the choice to order some a la carte items like omlettes, pancakes, etc which were freshly made on order and included in the buffet price. The traditional dinner menu of the Bistro didn't offer much variety for entrees or the desserts so we tried to look for other options around the hotel but once we had no choice since it was late and most restaurants close their kitchens around 7-8pm. The Bistro decor was classic and really leveraged the old world cinema theme with sofas in the booths still having row numbers glued to the sides and the wall-to-wall mini pictures of many famous cinema stars such as Michael Landon, Audrey Hepburn, Rock Hudson and many others. Wonderful touch!
The little guest nook on the 4th floor ( I think) is great! A great way to end a busy day with some nice tea or coffee, and maybe do some internet research for the following day.
Concierge staff were very very helpful and wonderful! Especially, Sofia and Lina really went above and beyond to help us have a great trip and it worked!

Looking forward to returning to Stockholm and Rival very soon! Amazing city with so much to offer. Tack så mycket!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Nidz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,084
    410
    54
    20
    2
See reviews for
154
820
93
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tianjin, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was my first trip to Sweden and alone, so I was looking for a place conveniently located near tourists attractions. The hotel is close to all the nice places in stockholm. It was an old theater according to the locals. The room is quite big to the Europian standards too.

Helpful?
1 Thank JonZ1974
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Rival is a very nice, newer boutique hotel with 96 rooms in a quiet neighbor hood. The rooms are very large, great linens and bathroom. The front desk staff most professional and helpful.
There are free movies, music etc in the rooms, being owned by an ABBA member.
The breakfast buffet is first class, with many cooked to order choices , as well as expresso, lattes
Or any kind of coffee or tea you might want. Overall, a sophisticated, calm, chic hotel.
You can easily walk to Old town and many other sights and attractions. We were happy not to stay in old town. We stayed three nights and truly enjoyed the hotel and staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
133 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Spent a couple of nights at the Rival some days ago. It was my first trip to Stockholm so I relied on TA's reviews. Hotels in Stockholm are expensive but I was shocked with the price tag of US$340 plus taxes for a small room, no breakfast. The hotel is within walking distance to the city's old town, staff were nice, room was clean and comfortable, but a bit dark. A good experience but nothing remarkable. Would I stay there again? Maybe, no complaints, but I was expecting more.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ckatsuya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The Rival's number one rating on TA is well deserved because this hotel ticks so many boxes. The staff are superb, they speak better English than the English, try really hard and could not be more pleasant. Nothing is a problem. Amazing, wonderful...they put staff in other hotels to shame. A special mention for Sean their great concierge cum Stockholm guru/maven/mastermind. Forget Google - ask Sean.
The Rival is nicely located in a non touristy area in the southern part of Stockholm away from other hotels but a pleasant 20 minute walk into the old city, Gamla Stan. Our bright deluxe room on the 6th floor overlooking the small, quiet square was spacious with a very good bed, crisp cotton bedlinen, choice of pillows, state of the art Samsung Smart TV and large bathroom with heated floor and walk in overhead shower.
If your fantasy is (or was) sleeping with Abba then this is the place for you. There was an enormous photo of Sweden's ubiquitous foursome immediately above our bed. Having them sharing our room was enough, we passed on a visit to the Abba museum. Money, money, money.
Breakfast is buffet style and/or cooked to order and is generous. A couple of caveats. Don't come to the Rival looking for cool Scandinavian interiors because some of the public areas are very bright indeed bordering on the garish. Also parts of the hotel are looking tired notably the first floor breakfast room. Our stay of 3 nights came to £750 which for this mega expensive city was not bad. 2 coffees and 2 small cakes sitting on a wooden bench in the cool nearby coffee shop Johan and Nystrom cost a cool £13.
Stockholm Coffee Money Saving Tip: the Rival has a free coffee station on the 4th floor for those suffering from Stockholm Pain in the Pocket Syndrome.
Stockholm Travel Tip: take the superb modern, quiet Arlanda Express train from the airport to the city. It's cheaper, greener and more civilised than a taxi and at 20 minutes much quicker.
Stockholm Taxi Warning: they are mega expensive. I only wanted a ride in your Volvo, I didn't want to buy it.

Room Tip: As high up and as large as you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PriusExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights before boarding a windstar cruise. Room was fine, comfy bed and really nice outlook over the park. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Possibly aimed at younger clientel( we are 60ish), but we enjoyed it. Interesting area and close to everything, would stay there again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Briarglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Excellent hotel in a really good location. Room was a decent size. Good pillows, bed was two singles pushed together but that was fine. Good toiletries and sparkling bathroom. Fridge in room. Selection on cds to play and dvds but not to my taste. Slippers and bath robes which are always a nice touch. Decor is something of an acquired taste but quite fun for a short stay. You could get the name and number of the designer if you wanted them to do your own room at home. But we gave that a miss.
Breakfast was Ok but not the best I've had. Hot choice was rather limiting but I guess that's more for foreigners than locals.
Reception really accommodating. Asked for a bottle opener and they delivered one to the room without any fuss.
No negatives at all really

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tngm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#2 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#7 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#6 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rival

Property: Hotel Rival
Address: Mariatorget 3, Box 17525, Stockholm 118 91, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rival 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rival is Stockholm's first boutique hotel, located on Sodermalms heights in classic premises in Stockholm. The Rival is a small, modern, individual hotel with unique top-level service. The 99 rooms have high technical standards with an unique interior decorations as well as Internet access. The seventh floor, with its magnificent view, is reserved for suites. The classic cinema Rival has been meticulously renovated and equipped with the latest in multi-media technology. The movie theatre will accommodate 700 conference guests, and the premises are well suited for events and meetings. There are 5 more conference rooms and a generous foyer outside the theatre for exhibits and mingling. The cocktail bar (original art deco), the bar, the bistro and the cafe will serve both hotel guests and local inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rival Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing