We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dancing queen loved it!”
Review of Hotel Rival

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Rival
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Rival from September 6-9th 2013.

If you're looking for a well appointed hotel that comfortably caters to the business and leisure traveler in Stockholm, go directly to Hotel Rival. It's happy staff is eager to go out of their way to please each guest and offer suggestions to make your stay memorable.While it is located on the island of Sodermalm, it's a great location and a very easy cab ride, or if you choose, a comfortable walk to either Old or New Stockholm.

We were told that the hotel was completely remodeled about 10 years ago when Benny Anderson of ABBA fame purchased the property. The rooms are great....they are clean and well appointed. The breakfast offering was expansive and delicious and we would return without hesitation.

While some travelers might choose not to give the property a 5 star rating due to the lack of an expansive main entry and public spaces and a formal, stuffy welcome arrival, the warm, welcoming experience we enjoyed as guests makes this a 5 star property by any measurement standard.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bjwdrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

661 - 667 of 1,695 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

The location was convenient, the staff very pleasant and helpful, the breakfast quite good. I would give the hotel full marks if it were not for several minor matters in the room design. There should be some drawer space for underwear and socks (not filled with alternative pillows), more rods in the bathroom for hanging up the bathtowels, and a peg or two on the back of the bathroom door so one can put on the terry cloth robe after showering and before leaving the bathroom. Having a window into the bathroom from the bedroom area seemed rather strange. There was a chair in a corner where one might sit to read, but there was no light nearby, and no electrical outlet nearby where one could plug in a lamp. Nonetheless, we enjoyed our stay. We dined at the hotel restaurant twice, one time entertaining Swedish guests, and we all felt the food and service were excellent.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MaryTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My DW (Dear wife) and I stayed here just for one night as part of our trip to Scandinavia and the Baltic.

We had a extra quality room which was quite large. Very Comfortable. Beds -- wow - brilliant. The whole hotel is decked out like a night club with its own discos, bars, and cinema but it didn't seem noisy. Next door was the Rival coffee shop - nice snacks etc.

Breakfast included - usual continental cold fare plus some hot eggs etc.
More than adequate.

Bathroom/Shower - Yummy - great quality soaps etc

Staff were more than helpful - quite young but enthusiastic and not overbearing. Kind of "uber-cool".

The area was quiet and not in the centre of town. It's a kind of up-and-coming. Like New York's So-Ho or London's Shoreditch (or Covent Garden before it got too touristy).

Restaurant -- great food although very pricey. (Having said that Scandinavian prices make your eyes water - wait till you get to Norway!)

If and when we return to Stockholm we WILL get to the Rival.

Room Tip: Get a higher quality room - there are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rev-leonard-payne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Great location in a beautiful setting near a park. Very quiet, with helpful staff and terrific breakfast. Our room was small but very comfortable, with high quality linens and pillows. About a 15 minute walk to the center of town and 3 minutes to a subway stop. A breeze to get to and from airport. Expensive, but worth if you are in the mood for something really nice. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our floor, I think it was 4th floor, had a self-service coffee bar, with cookies, and two computer s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cafeturco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for a weekend and having stayed there six years ago, I was glad to see that the hotel still had kept up an exceptional standard. The staff are helpful and friendly at reception as well as in the restaurant and bar. At breakfast, there was a wide choice of Swedish breads/meats/pastries as well as cereal, fruit and hot food.

However, it is the rooms that make the Rival. They are decorated with posters with scenes from old Bergman movies or in our case, an old ABBA promotional photo. There is a wide selection of DVDs and CDs as well as tea & coffee facilities on every floor. The bathroom had a separate power shower and bath as well as piped music.

The hotel is a five-ten minute walk from the old town/harbour and two minutes from the metro.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raycatherine2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I absolutely loved this hotel. It has a real energetic vibe the minute you arrive. The lighting, the lobby, the elevators, all very modern yet inviting. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

My room was pretty large. Most hotel rooms in big cities are rather small. The closets - I had two of them - were big and functional, with plenty of shelving and hanging space. What I loved most was the "slide out" ironing board kind of what you see in old houses but then with a plug-in iron that worked on a timer.
The room also had a balcony overlooking the square, with two cute chairs and blankets for cold days (or nights). I sat out one afternoon and it was very relaxing.

Bathroom was great, with a separate shower stall and a huge deep tub. Floor was heated which was a nice touch. I did miss washcloths, but this was not a huge inconvenience.

What I did miss was bottled or filtered water, so I was forced to drink water from the faucet the first night. After that, I just brought my own water.

Room service menu did not have a big selection so I ended up going down to the restaurant and ordering from the regular menu - staff looked kind of strange when I asked to take it to my room.

Location, although not in the center (for those of you who like to shop), is in walking distance of the hotel and very convenient. I bought a 3 day pass and used the metro for all my trips.

Overall, great hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsklnknbrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Service was amazing, the room was very nice and comfortable with a beautiful view. I love the fact they have thought of so many details, there's even a button to play music inside the bathroom!. The breakfast buffet was very good and the location of the hotel is great too, it's close to a lot of restaurants, pubs and clubs. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,325 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,147 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
335 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rival

Address: Mariatorget 3, Box 17525, Stockholm 118 91, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £154 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rival 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rival is Stockholm's first boutique hotel, located on Sodermalms heights in classic premises in Stockholm. The Rival is a small, modern, individual hotel with unique top-level service. The 99 rooms have high technical standards with an unique interior decorations as well as Internet access. The seventh floor, with its magnificent view, is reserved for suites. The classic cinema Rival has been meticulously renovated and equipped with the latest in multi-media technology. The movie theatre will accommodate 700 conference guests, and the premises are well suited for events and meetings. There are 5 more conference rooms and a generous foyer outside the theatre for exhibits and mingling. The cocktail bar (original art deco), the bar, the bistro and the cafe will serve both hotel guests and local inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rival Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing