We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel which oozes Swedish style”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rival

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rival
Ranked #2 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A great hotel which oozes Swedish style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I visited Stockholm on business in October 2013 and as a working group we chose the Rival mainly due to its exceptional reviews and interesting looking decor. We weren't disappointed at all.

The entrance and lobby area of the hotel is straight from a Broadway theater and it seems therefore fitting that they hold a range of cultural events within the hotel. We drank many times at the bars here which have loads of nice seating and the bar staff are fantastic. On various evenings we worked our way through the cocktail menus and everything we tried was delicious.

Moving up to the rooms, I had the standard size of room which was very large and spacious with a fantastic bathroom equipped with rainfall shower. The TV and other tech in the room was better than i have at home and on one lazy afternoon i borrowed a DVD from reception (free to do) and watched it on the system. The only downer on the room was the view - i believe the more expensive rooms look out on the front of the hotel, but we only had the rather depressing view of a concrete courtyard.

The breakfast was exceptional. You had a choice of loads of cold and warm buffet items plus you could order off a menu and have the chefs make it fresh for you. I had the pancakes one morning which were delicious.

Although the area is relatively quiet, you feel like you are in a good location which is walkable to many of the good parts of the city. Having said that, i think there are better locations. We visited Story Hotel one night which was also very nice and the location did seem better.

Having said that, I couldn't really fault the Rival in a long list of areas. It is undoubtedly a very good, different hotel which i'd recommend to anyone thinking of visiting Stockholm.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,071
    407
    54
    20
    2
See reviews for
152
813
93
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

All of the positive reviews for this hotel should be believed. It was a fantastic hotel, full of friendly and attentive staff and great decor.

The hotel is in a great location and overlooks a peaceful square. The hotel is an easy distance to the nearest Metro line, which makes getting around very easy. The hotel has a bistro (worth booking, especially on weekends as it becomes fully booked very quickly) and although it appears expensive, no more expensive then any other good restaurant in Stockholm. The cafe is superb and a great base for a coffee stop.

Our room was one up from the economy room and is fairly spacious and has a great walk in shower. The room has really unique decoration and is a huge improvement on most neutral styled hotel rooms and the positive was that you felt at home.

The hotel has a wifi and was good enough to do FaceTime calls home and was fine wherever we used it in the hotel, no blackout spots. There was also an area upstairs with the tea and coffee that had computers if you needed them.

Overall, this hotel lived up the hype of other reviews and we left wanting to come back. I would highly recommend that if you are going to Stockholm that you check yourself in to Hotel Rival, we will be coming back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Rival from September 6-9th 2013.

If you're looking for a well appointed hotel that comfortably caters to the business and leisure traveler in Stockholm, go directly to Hotel Rival. It's happy staff is eager to go out of their way to please each guest and offer suggestions to make your stay memorable.While it is located on the island of Sodermalm, it's a great location and a very easy cab ride, or if you choose, a comfortable walk to either Old or New Stockholm.

We were told that the hotel was completely remodeled about 10 years ago when Benny Anderson of ABBA fame purchased the property. The rooms are great....they are clean and well appointed. The breakfast offering was expansive and delicious and we would return without hesitation.

While some travelers might choose not to give the property a 5 star rating due to the lack of an expansive main entry and public spaces and a formal, stuffy welcome arrival, the warm, welcoming experience we enjoyed as guests makes this a 5 star property by any measurement standard.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bjwdrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

The location was convenient, the staff very pleasant and helpful, the breakfast quite good. I would give the hotel full marks if it were not for several minor matters in the room design. There should be some drawer space for underwear and socks (not filled with alternative pillows), more rods in the bathroom for hanging up the bathtowels, and a peg or two on the back of the bathroom door so one can put on the terry cloth robe after showering and before leaving the bathroom. Having a window into the bathroom from the bedroom area seemed rather strange. There was a chair in a corner where one might sit to read, but there was no light nearby, and no electrical outlet nearby where one could plug in a lamp. Nonetheless, we enjoyed our stay. We dined at the hotel restaurant twice, one time entertaining Swedish guests, and we all felt the food and service were excellent.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

My DW (Dear wife) and I stayed here just for one night as part of our trip to Scandinavia and the Baltic.

We had a extra quality room which was quite large. Very Comfortable. Beds -- wow - brilliant. The whole hotel is decked out like a night club with its own discos, bars, and cinema but it didn't seem noisy. Next door was the Rival coffee shop - nice snacks etc.

Breakfast included - usual continental cold fare plus some hot eggs etc.
More than adequate.

Bathroom/Shower - Yummy - great quality soaps etc

Staff were more than helpful - quite young but enthusiastic and not overbearing. Kind of "uber-cool".

The area was quiet and not in the centre of town. It's a kind of up-and-coming. Like New York's So-Ho or London's Shoreditch (or Covent Garden before it got too touristy).

Restaurant -- great food although very pricey. (Having said that Scandinavian prices make your eyes water - wait till you get to Norway!)

If and when we return to Stockholm we WILL get to the Rival.

Room Tip: Get a higher quality room - there are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rev-leonard-payne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Great location in a beautiful setting near a park. Very quiet, with helpful staff and terrific breakfast. Our room was small but very comfortable, with high quality linens and pillows. About a 15 minute walk to the center of town and 3 minutes to a subway stop. A breeze to get to and from airport. Expensive, but worth if you are in the mood for something really nice. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our floor, I think it was 4th floor, had a self-service coffee bar, with cookies, and two computer s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cafeturco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for a weekend and having stayed there six years ago, I was glad to see that the hotel still had kept up an exceptional standard. The staff are helpful and friendly at reception as well as in the restaurant and bar. At breakfast, there was a wide choice of Swedish breads/meats/pastries as well as cereal, fruit and hot food.

However, it is the rooms that make the Rival. They are decorated with posters with scenes from old Bergman movies or in our case, an old ABBA promotional photo. There is a wide selection of DVDs and CDs as well as tea & coffee facilities on every floor. The bathroom had a separate power shower and bath as well as piped music.

The hotel is a five-ten minute walk from the old town/harbour and two minutes from the metro.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raycatherine2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#7 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#4 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#6 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rival

Property: Hotel Rival
Address: Mariatorget 3, Box 17525, Stockholm 118 91, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rival 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rival is Stockholm's first boutique hotel, located on Sodermalms heights in classic premises in Stockholm. The Rival is a small, modern, individual hotel with unique top-level service. The 99 rooms have high technical standards with an unique interior decorations as well as Internet access. The seventh floor, with its magnificent view, is reserved for suites. The classic cinema Rival has been meticulously renovated and equipped with the latest in multi-media technology. The movie theatre will accommodate 700 conference guests, and the premises are well suited for events and meetings. There are 5 more conference rooms and a generous foyer outside the theatre for exhibits and mingling. The cocktail bar (original art deco), the bar, the bistro and the cafe will serve both hotel guests and local inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotelopia, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rival Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing