We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rival

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rival
Ranked #3 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“just perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

great breakfast (also soya products for vegan), clean and quiet room with cd's and DVD's and a gourmet coffee machine in the hall for free. As well as computers, printers etc which helped check in in to the flight.

Room Tip: ask if you can get a room with adjustable A/C (all rooms don't have one...)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JussiM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    407
    54
    20
    2
See reviews for
152
813
93
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LEICESTER
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 15th Dec for two nights - hotel is in great location, rooms are fab we loved the little touches : teddy ! Great pillows, bowl of choccy caramels , lovely toiletries, and cd collection . Cocktails expensive but it's central Stockholm ! We loved it .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRSLEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Used Trip Advisor to tip us on a hotel had not stayed at in Stockholm, and we're very satisfied with the outcome. Out of the ordinary place, converted from an old cinema, in a good spot on trendy Sodermalm in Stockholm, funky decor with excellent service and attractive features. Had planned to eat out on the town but - after a long walk - ended up at the hotel's bistro and taking advantage of the free offer to borrow a DVD film from the extensive listed collection. A wonderful evening!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJWP_KOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in September. Our room was comfortable and relatively spacious. The hotel was easy to get to (we recommend the commuter train from Arlanda to Sodra station), and the location was perfect for exploring Stockholm. We loved Sodermalm and the local life, plenty of good cafes, restaurants, shops and the hotel is near to a number of subway stations, which make it simple to navigate Stockholm. Our highlight of our stay was Sean the concierge. As others have noted, his blog is tremendous, and his tips both online and by email, as well as in person, really gave us a greater insight into how to plan and approach our trip to Stockholm. He was delightful and went out of his way, even whilst on his leave, putting some notes together for us and making restaurant reservations. We loved Stockholm, and would certainly return. We highly recommend the Rival, as a great base to explore this beautiful and vibrant city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GrojoMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

My favorite hotel in Stockholm, location nice, rooms are great and most importantly - all the staff, whatever function make you feel comfortable and almost at home. Nice restaurant wonderful breakfast with home baked bread, great cappucinos - all things you need but not more (quality Before quantity). This is a boutique hotel with real charm and atmosphere, not the kitch you often come across -it is really well designed and cosy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flemming N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We spent one night here, our first in Stockholm. It was my birthday, and as a gift, they left me a box of chocolate and upgraded our room.

The room was great, modern and very comfortable and the choice of decoration was also priceless. The ABBA photo over the bed was a nice touch.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We traveled to Stockholm specifically to visit the ABBA museum and stayed at the Hotel Rival as it is owned by Benny Andersson. The hotel surpassed our expectations. The room was spacious for three adults, and we were lucky to have a room with a small balcony. Reception and Concierge were very accommodating and friendly. Breakfast was great and worth including in your rates. Overall great stay and wished we could have stayed longer

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a balcony and opt for the rate that includes breakfast. It is less expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluefur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 157 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#2 of 157 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#8 of 157 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 157 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#6 of 157 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rival

Property: Hotel Rival
Address: Mariatorget 3, Box 17525, Stockholm 118 91, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rival 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rival is Stockholm's first boutique hotel, located on Sodermalms heights in classic premises in Stockholm. The Rival is a small, modern, individual hotel with unique top-level service. The 99 rooms have high technical standards with an unique interior decorations as well as Internet access. The seventh floor, with its magnificent view, is reserved for suites. The classic cinema Rival has been meticulously renovated and equipped with the latest in multi-media technology. The movie theatre will accommodate 700 conference guests, and the premises are well suited for events and meetings. There are 5 more conference rooms and a generous foyer outside the theatre for exhibits and mingling. The cocktail bar (original art deco), the bar, the bistro and the cafe will serve both hotel guests and local inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rival Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing