We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for a city trip / Ideales City-Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rival

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rival
Ranked #2 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ideal for a city trip / Ideales City-Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Rival leaves nothing to be desired. Ideally located close to Slussen in a trendy neighbourhood. About 15 minutes to Gamla Stan on foot. The lovely rooms are individually decorated. Many rooms and many of them face an extremely quiet courtyard. The staff are very friendly and helpful (there's even a concierge). The breakfast buffet is absolutely unbeatable and whether you fancy fried eggs or porridge - it's all included in the price! But the real highlight is the big screen in the room plus a fantastic choice of DVDs one can borrow and watch.
Das Rival lässt keine Wünsche offen. Ideal gelegen nahe der Station Slussen in einer trendigen Gegend. Nur ca. 15 Gehminuten von der Altstadt (gamla stan). Jedes der schönen Zimmer hat sein eigenes Design. Viele sind auf den sehr ruhigen Innenhof gelegen. Das Personal ist freundlich und hilfsbereit (es hat sogar einen Concierge). Das Frühstücksbuffet ist unschlagbar und ob man gerne Spiegeleier oder Porridge möchte, es ist alles im Preis inbegriffen! Aber das Beste ist der Riesenbildschirm im Zimmer und eine grosse Auswahl an DVDs, die man ausleihen kann.

Room Tip: Wer es gerne ruhig hat, nimmt ein Zimmer auf den Innenhof. Wen Lärm nicht unbedingt stört, nimmt ein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schnusizh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,071
    407
    54
    20
    2
See reviews for
152
813
93
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We chose this hotel based on previous reviews and we weren't disappointed. We arrived at 11.30am expecting to have to leave our bags and wander round the city until check-in began. However, the staff at reception informed us that our room was ready and we could check in immediately. Yes, the room was small, but it contained everything you could possibly need and then some. As we were only staying one night, we were keen to see and do as much as possible, and the wonderful staff couldn't have been more helpful, recommending places of interest and the various galleries we should see, as well as booking a table at a popular bistro nearby for our evening meal. A short walk (10 mins) takes you into the old town with its numerous bars, cafes and restaurants. Breakfast the following morning was excellent, with a buffet offering wide choice of delicious food, which we took full advantage of. Unfortunately, due to an early morning departure, we didn't try the bar in the hotel in the evening, although it looked like a fun place to hang out with the cool and trendy of Stockholm. Should we ever return to Stockholm, this is definitely the place we will be staying.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshlynF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I took my fiance to Stockholm as a surprise for his 30th birthday, and I am sp, so pleased that I chose the Hotel Rival. It was a little more money than I would usually spend - but it was SO worth it! This is why we loved it:
1. The Staff - they could not have been more friendly, helpful and generally brilliant. On check out my fiance had had a beer from the mini bar and they refused payment for it. Little things like that are just really nice.
2. The Breakfast - Wow. Just, wow. Full English, home made pastries, macaroons, smoked salmon, eggs cooked to order, speciality teas...all overlooking a beautiful park in a fabulous breakfast room. Best hotel breakfast I've ever had, hands down.
3. The Room - was on the small side (we had the cheapest room and I've heard that it is worth paying for an upgrade) but really nicely furnished. Really modern and Scandinavian, fantastic shower, comfy bed, and a pillow menu! Huge TV, a selection of DVDs that would take you all year to watch - it really was just comfy.
4. The Building itself - a spectacular old theatre, this place is buzzing every night of the week with comedy acts and gigs. The bar is lively and thronging, but the hotel is still really quiet and transquil.
5. The Area - set away from the tourist areas of Stockholm (so it's about 10 min walk to get to the bottom of Gamla Stan - which might be too far for some) it's in a cool area of the city with some great little bars and restaurants. Ask the reception staff to point you in the right direction.

Overall, this was an absolutely brilliant hotel to stay in and we couldn't have asked for anything more. Highly recommended.

A few tips:
- don't get a cab from Central Station - it'll cost you £30 even though it's a 7 min drive! Jump on the metro.
- the slow train to Arlanda goes from Mariatorget Metro (about 4 min walk from the hotel). By the time you've got across town to the Central Station (where the Arlanda Express goes from), you might as well just sit on the "slow" train for 40 min.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Staceyonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Ok, dodgy Abba reference but given the owner it had to be done!

Location - bang in Stockholms cool area, all the main central stuff walkable and the tube close by for farther afield
Room - modern, funky, comfortable, nice Abba references
Staff - very friendly, helpful gave us a couple of great resturant recommendations (booked one of them for us)
Food - Breakfast buffet one of the best Ive ever had, tea / coffee zone on each floor also a nice touch

Only one, slight, compliant..and its not even the hotels fault the recommended city bus tour was total rubbish but we should have know better and done everything by foot ( doable in Stockholm centre)

If your in Stockholm stay there!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingduda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I chose this hotel because every room comes with a teddybear, "nalle", and since I was doing a solo travel, I found it nice with some company in the room :-). The building dates from 1937 and has kept much of its original features all while being renovated, for instance a coctail bar in art deco style and beautiful winding staircases. For ABBA fans, note that the owner is Benny Andersson! The hotel is beautifully situated on the Mariatorget. 2 subway stations and 1 railway station close by. Wonderful views of Stockholm only a 5 min walk from the hotel. The staff is very friendly. The only place I know about actually letting you keep your towels more than one day. Make sure you get a rate with breakfast included, because I promise you - you do not want to miss this breakfast! I tried their French Toast and Omelette, both very nice, and everything on the buffet is of excellent quality. On my last day, I spent close to 90 minutes on breakfast... I loved this place!

Room Tip: I had a standard double room on the 5th floor facing the courtyard. It's very quiet, except for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Comfortable, quiet room overlooking the park. Fun decor. Best breakfast buffet imaginable -- if they don't have it on the buffet, they'll make it for you. The concierge and desk staff could not have been more warm or friendly, helpful or knowledgable. I loved this place! Example: On good Friday, papers are not delivered in Stockholm. After I inquired at the desk, I got a call -- they had run out and bought one for me. Lots of music industry and entertainment folks in the hotel give it a very cool vibe, but still quiet, private, and fun.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tucsontravelertom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Modern, luxurious and yet cosy and personal. This hotel combines the best of a large international hotel with the touch and feel of a smaller and more personal - maybe even boutique - hotel.

The rooms are not large but welcome you with comfort, personality and all the necessities from iron and board including a spray to help get your shirt crisp for the meeting.


Every room has gorgeous Egyptian cotton linnen, Blu-Ray player and a large selection of free movies and even some cd's on the shelf.

Finally the staff have always welcomed me very well and seamlessly taken care of any request with a smile.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sphinxen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#8 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#7 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rival

Property: Hotel Rival
Address: Mariatorget 3, Box 17525, Stockholm 118 91, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rival 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rival is Stockholm's first boutique hotel, located on Sodermalms heights in classic premises in Stockholm. The Rival is a small, modern, individual hotel with unique top-level service. The 99 rooms have high technical standards with an unique interior decorations as well as Internet access. The seventh floor, with its magnificent view, is reserved for suites. The classic cinema Rival has been meticulously renovated and equipped with the latest in multi-media technology. The movie theatre will accommodate 700 conference guests, and the premises are well suited for events and meetings. There are 5 more conference rooms and a generous foyer outside the theatre for exhibits and mingling. The cocktail bar (original art deco), the bar, the bistro and the cafe will serve both hotel guests and local inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rival Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing