We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience!”
Review of Hotel Rival

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Rival
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We loved staying at the Rival and would recommend it to anyone. The standard double was comfortable and well laid out - love the bedding with a pillow menu - and windows and a balcony door that open. The buffet breakfast is excellent and the restaurant food very very good. Best of all are the staff - absolutely outstanding, totally delightful and helpful people!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank DRJNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

586 - 592 of 1,697 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed three nights at this modern and well appointed Sodermalm hotel. The rooms were clean, well set-up and quiet. The hotel and room decoration is modern "movie kitsch".
The bar and restaurant are excellent. The front desk staff were always helpful but the standout was Sean. He was simply superb at making arrangements and suggesting sights to see. His restaurant recommendations were outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdeakon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our group of six had a great time at the Hotel Rival. One of the best hotel stays I've ever had in 30 years of travel.

First, the staff are friendly and excellent. We were greeted everytime we entered the hotel and impressed with the staff knowing who we were. Gave us comfort about safety. And the staff were not snooty; there is no attitude coming from the staff. They are there to help.

Second, despite the compact size of the rooms, and in our case, the lack of any view (we were on the courtyard side), the room design was one of the best I've ever seen. His and hers closets, smart desk, lots of outlets, dimmable bathroom lighting, heated bathroom floors, multiple bath lights, excellent shower with overhead waterfall effect, separate bathtub that looked spotless and inviting, good bedside light, etc. The room featured a nook with a rocking chair, teddy bear and books. The feel is inviting and cozy. Very smart design. We had room 222.

Third, the location is great. Gamla Stan (old town) is just nearby. Mariatorget is a nice quiet area on Sodermalm island. Saint Eric's Cathedral was nearby for a mass option (in English) with a Sat vigil mass. Da Luigi's italian is nearby. 8T8 raw food emporium is quirky and worth a stop. There's a nice park just outside the front door.

Fourth, the hotel itself is one that you can spend time in and enjoy (rarer and rarer these days). The bistro/cafe attached has an excellent bakery, grilled fare like croque monsier, beer, soft drinks, etc. The bistro always had traffic and the service was excellent. The bar is very nice and popular in Stockholm. We arrived one night at 11pm -- the bistro had closed -- and the bar served us burgers in the comfortable sofas in the lobby so we had some separation for our crew from the rest of the bar goers. And there was excellent sleep quality with no bleed through of bar noise, despite being on the second floor.

Fifth, the hotel had a unique, artsy and fun atmosphere. For example, on the fourth floor, we had access to free coffee and cookies and hot water/tea 24 hours a day at an espresso machine. The refrigerator was always stocked with milk and with cold soy -- very thoughtful and appreciated. And free cookies. The computers are provided there as well (if I had a suggestion, I'd have a browser other than firefox and a third computer, but that is being picky -- I believe one of the two computers was not working -- the only complaint in a three night stay).

Sixth, the art is fun. Ingrid Bergman greets you as you come downstairs in three Andy Warhol prints. The main lobby has a unique, brightly colored design. The effect is uplifting and fun, but never pretentious.

We would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FredTravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Hotel Rival at the end of our Baltic Sea cruise. Everyone was so helpful with luggage storage, restaurant advice and Sean, the concierge is AMAZING!!! He had helpful suggestions and ideas for our stay and truly seemed delighted to assist us. The hotel is very funky and cool. The breakfast buffet is totally amazing - go HUNGRY!! The cofffee/tea bar on the 4th floor is wonderful. The rooms are nice and the location of the hotel is a 15 minute walk to Gamla Stan - old town. We truly loved our stay and hope to visit Stockholm again.
Thank you all at Hotel Rival ~ it was truly a pleasure to stay with you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robin714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 days in June. Lovely staff, brilliant breakfast, I don't see how it could be faulted, there is such a wide variety of choice. Room was small but stylish and well designed. Nice big tv, underfloor heating in bathroom etc. expensive yes, but treat yourself if you can!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Previous reviews led me to expect something very special. Certainly the staff were charming and helpful but the accommodation was nothing special and the much vaunted breakfast quite ordinary. It seemed expensive for what it is but so did everything in Sweden.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scampston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We loved this hotel! The location is in a quiet neighborhood, yet 10 min walk to 'old town' and less to the train or metro stations. The rooms were quiet (and the hotel was full), the balcony and views were lovely. The morning breakfast is perhaps the best I've ever experienced. Nothing compares to it, even if one goes out for a paid meal. They had shots of different juices, all the double shot cappuccinos one could ask for, and the service was outstanding.
I felt this was the highlight of my stay. Their concierge services were very helpful, even before we arrived into the country.

Room Tip: We sprang for the balcony view and loved the ability to see June's light and lack of stars from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan_H_68_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,326 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,150 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
337 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rival

Address: Mariatorget 3, Box 17525, Stockholm 118 91, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £155 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rival 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rival is Stockholm's first boutique hotel, located on Sodermalms heights in classic premises in Stockholm. The Rival is a small, modern, individual hotel with unique top-level service. The 99 rooms have high technical standards with an unique interior decorations as well as Internet access. The seventh floor, with its magnificent view, is reserved for suites. The classic cinema Rival has been meticulously renovated and equipped with the latest in multi-media technology. The movie theatre will accommodate 700 conference guests, and the premises are well suited for events and meetings. There are 5 more conference rooms and a generous foyer outside the theatre for exhibits and mingling. The cocktail bar (original art deco), the bar, the bistro and the cafe will serve both hotel guests and local inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rival Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing