We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply super staff”
Review of Hotel Rival

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rival
Ranked #2 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed in the Rival Hotel for 5 nights and were specially impressed how well organized and helpful staff is.We booked the hotel long time ago, but were contacted by email in time to inform us about the transfer from the airport. The congierge, Sean, was extremely helpful in advising us about restaurants weeks before arrival. During our stay, we found every member of the receptionstaff friendly, smiling and giving us a feeling to be truly welcome.
The hotel itself is located in the more residential area of Södermalm at a small park with a French feeling (even more as during our stay a petanquecompetition took place). This area is a bit less touristic and thanks to the reception, we found here several small and real nice restaurants, catering mostly for locals. To Gamla Stan is an easy 15 minutes walk, but if you use the Stockholm Card with free public transport and free access to most museums and attractions (we thought this Card was worth the money), the undergroundstation Mariatorget is just around the corner and bus 43 or 55 bring you straight from the hotel to the Royal Palace.
The decoration of the hotel is modern, minimalist, with lots of lovely details (f.i. the wall with the old pictures of artists from the 50s and 60s in the breakfastroom).
The breakfastroom was inviting and although high season, no problem to find a table. Breakfast itself had a big choice of fresh, tasty and healthy items and the buffet was refilled very regularly.
We had a room with a balcony overlooking Mariatorget. Very nice to sit here watching life in the park. The room was clean and spacious, with big cupboards and we loved the bathroom with a window to the bedroom and thus also overlooking Mariatorget (stores in front of this window provide privacy if wanted). The DVDs, CDs and teddybear were once more sweet details that make the difference with other hotels. Beds were good and came with different kind of pillows to choose from. Be aware that a room with view to Mariatorget is not always quiet during the night (but did not bother us).
One last detail we appreciated : free coffee, tea and use of computers provided on the 4th floor.
We definitively recommend Hotel Rival.

Room Tip: Rooms with view to Mariatorget are sunny, have a nice view, but are more noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snorringBommel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 611 of 1,734 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

I like to stay close to where I have my business or pleasure, and this time my pleasure was on lovely hip Söder (part of Stockholm) and my port of call is of course Rival! Long time no see, and still the best place to stay in Stockholm! Why? Many reasons, but mostly because it is effortless, easy, everything is right there and it works. This is a hotel where it is never a question if you have free fast wifi, super comfy beds, a clean room, excellent breakfast etc...These are already taken care of. Here it is all about the small but important extra details, like the nice shampoo bottles, that you can listen to music in the shower, the selection of pillows you have, free coffee to go and more. I still love Rival! Oh almost forgot: we had a great dinner too at Rival!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FlyingFinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Impossible to add anything more to the other glowing reviews of the Rival Hotel......suffice to say that it alone is worth a stay in Stockholm! Only thing I would add is that thanks to Sean we took the Arlanda C train to and from the airport......it's a short four block walk to the hotel from the station - easily done by us in our seventies....very comfortable train and economical.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rjdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Have just returned from a five day stay at this hotel. The room was clean, well laid out and quiet. In our experience Swedish beds are very comfortable but on this occasion it was superb, the quality of the linen and pillow menu surpassed all expectations. The buffet breakfast was excellent and staff were very, very helpful. They also cater really well for people with gluten intolerance. The location of the Hotel was very good, an easy walk to Gamla Stan. I cannot rate this hotel highly enough, we visit Stockholm annually and we will definitely stay there again for our visit next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lulu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Based on trip advisor reviews, we booked this hotel back in January and were not disappointed! It definitely pays to look at the early booking rates and consider adding the airport transfer service from Arlanda which we did - the taxi was waiting for us as promised. Stockholm has a reputation for being expensive but this certainly kept costs under control.

Now to the hotel, it has a very plush fit with lots of design touches. The reception staff were excellent - they know their city and are able to answer most queries quickly. One word of advice, the hotel is not quite central but walkable to the old town and not too far from the underground train. taxis are reliable but more than you would pay in the UK. More importantly the rooms are comfortable with good beds and mattresses which gives a good sleep - we opted for a superior room which was backward facing and very quiet. Toiletries are provided in the bathrooms and tea and coffee are available to take away from the 4th floor should you wish to.

Breakfast is everything people have mentioned previously - the lattes and omelettes became a favourite but there is a buffet if people prefer to serve themselves. In the summer breakfast is until 11.30 which was lovely.

Overall, very much looking forward to booking again! Thank you Rival!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NigelG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We loved staying at the Rival and would recommend it to anyone. The standard double was comfortable and well laid out - love the bedding with a pillow menu - and windows and a balcony door that open. The buffet breakfast is excellent and the restaurant food very very good. Best of all are the staff - absolutely outstanding, totally delightful and helpful people!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank DRJNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed three nights at this modern and well appointed Sodermalm hotel. The rooms were clean, well set-up and quiet. The hotel and room decoration is modern "movie kitsch".
The bar and restaurant are excellent. The front desk staff were always helpful but the standout was Sean. He was simply superb at making arrangements and suggesting sights to see. His restaurant recommendations were outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdeakon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 155 in Stockholm
632 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 155 in Stockholm
1,359 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#6 of 155 in Stockholm
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 155 in Stockholm
2,239 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#8 of 155 in Stockholm
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rival

Address: Mariatorget 3, Box 17525, Stockholm 118 91, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £140 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rival 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rival is Stockholm's first boutique hotel, located on Sodermalms heights in classic premises in Stockholm. The Rival is a small, modern, individual hotel with unique top-level service. The 99 rooms have high technical standards with an unique interior decorations as well as Internet access. The seventh floor, with its magnificent view, is reserved for suites. The classic cinema Rival has been meticulously renovated and equipped with the latest in multi-media technology. The movie theatre will accommodate 700 conference guests, and the premises are well suited for events and meetings. There are 5 more conference rooms and a generous foyer outside the theatre for exhibits and mingling. The cocktail bar (original art deco), the bar, the bistro and the cafe will serve both hotel guests and local inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rival Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing