We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel”
Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #56 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed here just for one night as we arrived in Sweden, but the hotel was great. The room was small, but typical for a European hotel, and was very clean and modern. The room was comfortable, the staff were friendly and the included breakfast was nice.

The location was amazing. Its just a few streets over from the main shopping street, Drottninggatan, and the neighbourhood felt clean, safe and vibrant. Just go for a walk in any direction and take in Stockholm! The Metro (subway) is just a few streets over, and two stations away form Central Station, although we enjoyed walking down there to experience the city.

Overall very happy and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bttrthedevlukno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

Nice hotel, clean rooms and pleasant staff. Good central location right by the metro and lots of local restaurants which were cheaper than central Stockholm. Breakfast was OK and available until 11am.

Only downside was that we forgot our shower gel and there was only shampoo available in the rooms. Also got a bit noisy on Friday/Saturday night with people going to/from bars, so get a room that doesn't overlook the street if possible.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lxdonogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Rex Hotel was a nice little hotel with a very strategic location fully worth of its 3 stars. The rooms are a bit tiny but at least ours was really quiet and had all we could ask for except space. Decoration is very modern and elegant, breakfast is nothing overwhelming but good quality bread etc. All the 4-5 different staff members we met during 4 days were helpful and genuinely friendly. There is a metro stop around the corner. A nice 10-minute walk to the heart of the city. The area itself is nice with restaurants, bars and small shops. A bonus is the sauna that can be booked for private use.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wind41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I stayed here a couple of nights with my family and overall we are very happy with the stay! The hotel is privately owned with a personal character. You can see this from the minute you enter the lobby, which basically is just an old desk instead of a huge reception.

However, there are some small errors to fix (all mornings the spoons and bowls ran out during breakfast, I had booked two singles and got one queen, the gym on the opposite side of the street were rather poor). But after staying more or less the whole summer in hotels from the big players, it was a joy staying at Rex with its personal touch.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiclasSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This is a smallish old hotel which we chose a) for the price (Stockholm is very expensive) b) the location and c) I'm not keen on big modern anonymous hotels. This had some character!

The first room we were given was very trendy and contemporary in design (an industrial look) but really small so we spoke to the receptionist and she let us view 3 other available rooms and choose which we wanted (the others were all the same really). Staff were all very helpful and of course excellent English.

Bathroom modern with a really good shower. All very clean. Breakfast basic but good enough with cereal, bread, rolls, cold meats, cheese and salad bits.

Location really good as it was about 15 minutes walk from the central bus and train stations (which are across the road from each other and the bus brings you straight from Ryanair's Skavsta airport - 80 min journey) and the walk is through the shopping streets so win win! In fact from the hotel we could walk everywhere including to the port to get the hop on hop off boat to see the sights. Also a nice bar in the sister hotel over the road.

Only strange thing was for our double room they had pushed 2 singles together and then put two sheets on sideways! I guess they didn't have a sheet big enough other wise!

It's not luxury but it is a good middle rated clean hotel in a great location. Would recommend unless you are looking for a posher, more romantic break.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeggySueUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Rex Hotel. The hotel was cosy and had a lot of character. Our room was quite small but comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a computer with free internet access in the lobby as well as a free coffee machine which was a nice touch. The breakfast room was a lovely conservatory style room but it did get crowded at times. Breakfast itself was fine, not a huge amount of selection but plenty to fill you up. Location was good and within walking distance to the subway and many sights. There were quite a few restaurants nearby for dinner. Nice hotel and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kramolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We have visited stockholm many times in different hotels and this is definitely the best and cheapest!! Rex hotel is relaxed, clean and very friendly. Our room was spacious with very comfortable bed and in the morning you can experience a very good and traditional Swedish breakfast. The location is also good but slightly away from the larger hotels hence the value for money! We live Sweden and will definitely return to this hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donbooblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Hotel Hellsten
Hotel Hellsten
#55 of 154 in Stockholm
1,069 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#34 of 154 in Stockholm
496 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Tegnerlunden
Hotel Tegnerlunden
#42 of 154 in Stockholm
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasastan
Hotel Birger Jarl
Hotel Birger Jarl
#49 of 154 in Stockholm
1,593 reviews
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#30 of 154 in Stockholm
655 reviews
Norrmalm
Crystal Plaza Hotel
Crystal Plaza Hotel
#83 of 154 in Stockholm
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Address: 73 Luntmakargatan, Stockholm 113 51, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £75 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rex Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing