We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rex Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$182
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$331
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Skeppsholmen(Stockholm)
US$401
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel C Stockholm(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Clarion Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Victory Hotel(Stockholm)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rival(Stockholm)
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lydmar Hotel(Stockholm)
US$596
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$483
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (701)
Filter reviews
701 results
Traveller rating
217
340
101
32
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
340
101
32
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotel across the roadmetro stationquiet streethotel hellstenfree coffee and teatwin roomnice hotelminute walkthree nightscentral locationtop floorgamla stanbreakfast roomold townbreakfast was deliciouscity breakclean rooms
Filter
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 701 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My wife and i stayed at the Rex for 3 nights while in Stockholm. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They accomodated us as early arrivals and had a room waiting for us. The location was not very central. We are big walkers so were able to get around without public transportation.

Arriving using the metro its only 2 stations from the central station. The metro stop is located about 1 block away and very convenient.

The room was very clean.

The breakfast was very basic for Swedish standards. Bread, cheese, yogurt, etc. Coffee is available 24 hours in the lobby as well as the breakfast area.

Now the cons

The room was on the ground floor and so tiny that we could barely walk around the bed. It faced the small courtyard and when we opened the windows the smokers that hung out in the courtyard were within 5 feet of the window/room and their smoke came into the room. The bathroom didn't even have a shelf or sink extension so you had to set your items on the floor.

We understand that Stockholm is expensive but the cost of this hotel for what you received left alot to be desired.

Maybe providing a better breakfast might make things a bit better.
Add a small shelf in the bathrooms.
Restrict smoking in the tiny courtyard.

Safe travels

Chuck

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chouliha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Per H, Owner at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Chuck,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review. Feedback like yours are very important for us.

All of our rooms vary in size as well as furniture and colors. If you had told the front desk that you were unhappy with the size of the room they would have done their best to change you into a bigger one.

Thank you for pointing out the issue of smoke coming into your room from smokers in the courtyard. We will immediately restrict smoking in the area close by the rooms to prevent this from happening again.
Regarding the missing bathroom shelf, we take your opinion seriously and will go through the rooms to take action where needed.

Thank you for your kind words about my wonderful staff and our clean rooms.
We do hope that you would like to visit us again if you come to Stockholm!

Kind regards,
Per Hellsten
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I used to stay in this hotel during my business trips to Stockholm and I really loved the cosy and unique rooms in there.

I woudl agree with teh other revieer that the breakfast is limited, yet very filling. I loved the breakfast in this hotel much more than the huge one in Clarion Hotel - all teh food is very fresh and made in a home style. Pancackes, porrige, sandwiches and herring - this is more than enough for the breakfast!

I woudl not say there is something special in this hotel, it is just very small, sweet and cosy place which I recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is an excellent midrange hotel for the budget traveller. Small yet cosy, an oasis of calm in a very useful location. Breakfast is limited but fresh and filling. Really too small for a disabled visitor particularly the bathroom. Good staff who are willing to help where possible. Not top end but I would return willingly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Rex provides basic, comfortable and affordable accommodation in what is , a very expensive but beautiful city. Our room on the 4th floor was small which we expected but everything well planned to fit in. We were pleasantly surprised by the attractive and relatively spacious bathroom . One problem might be excessive heat in the warmer weather as there is no air conditioning .
The provision of free coffee and tea in reception was very welcome and there were also plenty of leaflets for planning trips etc. All the staff we met were very friendly and pleasant and always said hello when we appeared (this basic customer care is sadly often lacking even in more expensive hotel). One eveing we visited the bar in the sister hotel opposite and that was also very pleasant.
Breakfast was plentiful and we always found a table. It was good to see that they served up until 11.00 . There was an excellent choice of teas (not always the case!) , good coffee and an assortment of cheese, ham, eggs, crispbread, various breads, yogurt ,jams and marmalade. Staff were always on hand to replenish supplies.
A pleasant base for a city break .for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cauli2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The hotel was very basic but clean and friendly staff. We had a room on the top floor, below the roof. When the sun was shining outside it became very hot. Opening a window at night resulted in very much noise from the street, so we didn't sleep very well.
Bathroom is very very small, but the shower is good!
Breakfast was very basic, not so much choice but what there was was very tasty.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews