We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, stylish, friendly, affordable Rex Hotel”
Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #56 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed in Stockholm for three nights as a solo traveler in mid August. The Rex Hotel was perfect. I found the accommodations very comfortable, clean, and stylish. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious, especially the bread! It's a little bit away from central Stockholm, which was good because it was quieter and not swarmed with tourists. However, it's walkable to the main part of town (10-15 minutes to Sergels Torg, maybe 25-30 to Gamla Stan) and very easy to take the subway or bus as well. The subway stop is SO close to the hotel, which is a really nice perk! The room was small, but I had plenty of room for me and my things. This is one of the better hotels in Europe I've found in my price range. I loved it and would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Per H, Ägare at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for this lovely review and your kind words.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the location, atmosphere and service.

We are looking forward for your return in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in early August. Rooms compact but clean and found hotel to be very quiet (had a top floor room). Staff are great particularly in reception (free coffee available all day) and the breakfast buffet (selection of cereals, breads, cold meats, cheese and fruit) is more than enough to set you up for the day - if its sunny enjoy sitting in the courtyard soaking up the sun over that first coffee of the day. There is a metro station within a 5 minute walk and the main rail and bus station is about 25 mins walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamzsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Per H, Ägare at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you so much for your sweet words,

I’m reading your review with a smile on my face and I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed our staff and breakfast buffet. I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back as a guest soon.

Kind regards,
Per Hellsten.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed in the Rex Hotel as part of a Scandinavia tour for 3 days. I had booked a single room and expected it to be small..the room was compact but I didn't mind this. The room was beautiful and of a high standard and also spotless. The bathroom also had heated flooring which was a great touch.

Staff were very friendly and spoke perfect English. The hotel was also just round the corner from the closest tunnelbana station and is 2 stops from Stockholm Central. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are a solo traveller.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glasg0wB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I recently stayed at The Rex Hotel, and found it to be very comfortable, and the staff most friendly. The hotel is about 25-30 mins walk from the main bus and rail terminals. A taxi ride is far more convenient but quite expensive! The Metro is a far better option..
My room was on the 3rd floor with a pleasant view into the hotel courtyard & breakfast area. I had a twin room which was both functional and comfortable. Lovely solid wood flooring, and the bathroom tiled in slate. Everything was clean and tidy throughout! The hotel is conveniently positioned in a quiet side street just one block from a main street and Metro station. There are a lot of restaurants and bars nearby. The Hard Rock Café is around a 15 minute walk away..
Everything is walkable from the hotel, and although the likes of the Vasa Museum are a bit of a walk, the city is not busy and walking around is very pleasant here.
One point to note... There are two parts to the hotel, The Rex and The Rex Petit. Make sure you book The Rex if you want a decent room size and better facilities!!
I would be more than happy to stay here again when I next return to Stockholm...

Room Tip: Make sure you book The Rex Hotel, and not The Rex Petit!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Per H, Ägare at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for writing your thoughts about your stay.
I’m glad that you liked our staff and location. It’s also nice to hear that you liked the décor and the wooden flooring.

I’m looking forward for your return when you visit Stockholm next time.

Kind regards,
Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I loved this place. For a reasonably priced hotel in an expensive city, it was great.
Very friendly staff (including the cleaning lady :) ), who helped us with what to see and do and also allowed us to check in a bit earlier. The room was comfortable ( yes a little on the small side, but for the price who cares), clean and well serviced. The beds and pillows were soft and the room was really quiet. We were in a room facing the courtyard, and couldn't hear a thing at night, even from the other rooms. Super thick old walls.
The breakfast was great. The spread of food was delicious and the bread ( ate way too much) was scrumptious. This really set us up for the day, which was a good thing because eating out in Stockholm is expensive.
We were here for 5 nights and loved it. Central location and yes very close to a subway station when we were too tired to walk back from the 'old town'.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Per H, Ägare at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for taking time and sharing your thoughts about us.
I really appreciate your kind words and looking forward for your return on your next visit in Stockholm.

Kind regards,
Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

keeping in mind that Stockholm is a quite expensive city, this hotel was good value for money.
great service (very friendly and helpful staff) and excellent breakfast.
the room (the second one, see room tips below) was spacious and comfortable, spotlessly clean.
the location is also very good, easy walk to the centre/old town.

Room Tip: avoid rooms on the last floor (the first one we received was very small and cramped). however the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrei I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Per H, Ägare at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words,
I’m very glad that you liked Rex Hotel and I’m happy that you informed us if you weren’t satisfied with the first room you got. Our rooms are all different and vary in size as well as in furniture and design so we have a lot of different rooms to choose between.

I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back as a guest in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

An excellent find, very close to public transport or an easy walk to the actual centre. Lots of restaurants nearby.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the room clean. I had a single room which was small but not cramped - it had everything I needed. It was surprisingly quiet at night, which was a relief. Breakfast was of a high standard, but did get a bit crowded at peak times.
I thought it was very good value for money, given the location and standard of the hotel and would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Per H, Ägare at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for taking time and sharing your reflections of your stay.
I’m reading you kind words with happiness and it sounds like you had a great stay with us.

I’m looking forward for your return!

Kind regards,
Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Hotel Hellsten
Hotel Hellsten
#54 of 154 in Stockholm
1,069 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#34 of 154 in Stockholm
495 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Tegnerlunden
Hotel Tegnerlunden
#42 of 154 in Stockholm
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasastan
Hotel Birger Jarl
Hotel Birger Jarl
#49 of 154 in Stockholm
1,593 reviews
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#30 of 154 in Stockholm
655 reviews
Norrmalm
Crystal Plaza Hotel
Crystal Plaza Hotel
#83 of 154 in Stockholm
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Address: 73 Luntmakargatan, Stockholm 113 51, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £75 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rex Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing