We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic stay in Stockholm”
Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #60 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 7 December 2009

The Rex Petit Hotel, while definitely different, has been one of the most charming hotels I have stayed in for a long time. The staff are so welcoming and friendly, happy and smiling. Location was great, a stroll from the underground station which we used on day 1 and on the day we were leaving - as otherwise you can simply walk to the city centre in 15 minutes tops.

The facilites of the hotel were great, tea/coffee free at reception (super coffee!!), free internet at reception, use of the Sauna and gym (make a booking and you have the sauna for an hour private) in the Hellsten Hotel across the cobbled street.

Rooms are very very small. Most suited to younger travellers who don't mind compromising space. All fittings, furnishings etc. were sparkling clean, well kept and modern. No windows but you get over this when you realise it's dark outside all the time anyway!

I will stay in the Rex Petit again as I absolutely loved my break in Stockholm and the added charm of the hotel really made our stay very special.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in Stockholm.
While we were initially concerned about the location from city center, our worries were unwarranted. The public transportation system (T-bana) is less than a block away (Radmansgatan stop)- the trains are fast, timely, and frequent. Furthermore, the hotel is only two stops from central station, three stops from Gamla Stan, and four stops from Sodermalm. Walk to central station was 8-10 minutes and quite a fun walk! The hotel is situated in a more residential area - less touristy. Always felt safe at night.

The hotel lobby was charming (free computer for internet access) and the breakfast buffet was tasty and helped cut costs in such an expensive city. Staff were extremely helpful in English and offered to make several phone calls to resolve a restaurant reservation issue on our behalf. The common areas where the breakfast was served were beautiful, large seating area in sun room and seating in the open air courtyard.

Our room was always extremely clean and featured modern decor (cleaned daily). The furnishings were ideal (comfortable bed, flat screen TV) and all bathroom toiletries were provided.

Our only two issues would be the room's size (which we knew would be small) and the amount of closet space (virtually none). If you feel like you need lots of space in your hotel room, I would not recommend this hotel. However, travellers who require less space and want cheap rates, excellent service, and modern, clean decor... this is the place for you!

Outstanding experience!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mach411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

You get all your basic need from this hotel for a great price. Less than 5 min walk to the underground station. You can also walk to the shopping and nice life area in 15 min. Very nice and friendly staff. Great breakfast is provided too. Definitely will use this hotel again for the next trip to Stockholm

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank la2londonguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

A good quality small hotel. There is no restaurant but there are many close by. Breakfast is fresh, good quality and til late in the morning. The rooms are varied but a mix of modern and old with some nice individual touches. Kept very clean. Good value for money and within a short walk to the metro or a longer one to all the key attractions of Stockholm.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

The Rex is well located around the corner from an underground station and a short walk from bars and restaurants. We thought the public transport in Stockholm was fantastic, super efficient and used it loads.

We stayed in one of the rooms on the top floor in the roof. It was small but a good standard of accommodation and was pretty quiet. The breakfast was also good (continental style) and plentiful. Free internet access in the lobby and helpful but unintrusive staff.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyBManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Hi. we were on a eastern holiday inStockholm. The hotel was very nice and clean. The room was designed very taestfully. Sort walkind distance to a lot of places. Breakfast was good and the personel was helpful. The room wasn't the biggest but one of the best one´s we have slept in.

Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Cityscramblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

For us this hotel was properly located; just 15 minutes walk from the Central Bus Station, 10 minutes from the main shopping street, then a short walk to Gamla Stan Island, and the same for Sodermalm.
We stayed there only for one night, which made the room acceptable...because...there's a closet where only 2 coats will fit, lots of drawers but didn't need them.
The toilet/shower room was very clean, like the room. A bit small, for sure. Shower water runs under the shower door, but there's a floor mat ! Hotel in itself is very clean, has this old fashioned and new fashion aura to it.
The receptionist, however, is not very talkative, says the minimum "hello, how will you pay, goodbye".
My main problem with the room (203) was that it faced the street. The windows don't have thick glass, so, you can be waken up with people chatting outside. This woke me up 3 times. So ask for a room that isn't on the street side, and I think you'll be fine.
Breakfast was just right, and in Sweden included int heprice (not like this everywhere I've travelled !)
In the lobby there are cookies, and apples - you can take some, the receptionist won't tell you but they're free !
That's it for my comments !
I would go back there as well situated for what we would want to do. And, after all, walking is good for you ! Worst or best, the Subway is nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zabren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Hotel Hellsten
Hotel Hellsten
#53 of 155 in Stockholm
1,080 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Tegnerlunden
Hotel Tegnerlunden
#45 of 155 in Stockholm
887 reviews
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#29 of 155 in Stockholm
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#35 of 155 in Stockholm
499 reviews
Norrmalm
Crystal Plaza Hotel
Crystal Plaza Hotel
#81 of 155 in Stockholm
739 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Birger Jarl
Hotel Birger Jarl
#52 of 155 in Stockholm
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Address: 73 Luntmakargatan, Stockholm 113 51, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £72 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rex Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing