We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and nice”

August Strindberg Hotell
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
August Strindberg Hotell
Ranked #137 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Stands out like something completely different than the large chain hotels. I have stayed at August Strindberg several times. Calm and cosy atmosphere.

Room Tip: Room facing the backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank BergersenO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2010

I was recommended this hotel by a friend from Stockholm who had her entire wedding party staying there.

The hotel is in a residential backstreet not far from the main train station. It's very calm and close to a small park.

The room I had was rather small but clean and everything was working. The only problem is that there is no elevator, so don't bring too much luggage!

The best thing is the private court yard! Amazing! The breakfast is nice and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason23186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed on the 3rd floor in the second, back courtyard. It was very quiet. Room is tiny but bed is comfortable, bathroom large enough for your luggage and washing and drying clothes. You're up a gentle hill in the upscale Norrmalm residential area, a 10-15 minute walk down Drottninggattan to Gamla Stan. Staff was helpful in offering advice and relaying messages. Breakfast is simple but pleasant. The small Tegnerlunden park one block away is a great place to observe local residents.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John1946inSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

This was my 4th stay at August Strindberg. The ++'s are still valid: a cosy place like this is hard to find in the center of Stockholm. Staff is friendly a ever. Yet it has had better times; the rooms are getting run down, the beds uncomfortably soft, shower not properly functioning. Breakfast was unexciting as ususal. I would stay here again because of location and allergy to usual city hotels but would certainly recommend better maintenance.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queijinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Supercozy hotel in central Stockholn, only one block away from Drottninggatan, one of the main shopping streets, although the location is very quiet and the garden is a small oasis! Subway and buses to all places nearby. Beautiful garden, dining room and reception. Nice rooms, very friendly staff. REcommended!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2008

This hotel is situated 7-8 minutes away from the central station and onlyt 3 minutes away from Drottninggatan, an important shopping street.

The hotel is located in a backyard and although the hotel is not posh in any wayThe rooms and bathrooms are not too big. This hotel is anyway a favourite of mine. The staff is always friendly, breakfast is good and and the atmosphere is relax.

There is no elevator, but if you don't mind waking up two floors this is for sure something I can recommend for you.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
Thank Leifaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2007

We stayed at this hotel on two separate occasions during August - for the first stay our room was in the 'original' part of the hotel across the courtyard; for the second on the ground floor in the 'new' part facing onto the street (literally: we were somewhat nonplussed by the floor to ceiling window facing directly onto the street until we discovered people couldn't actually see inside the room because of the mirrored reflective glass!)

As previous reviewers have said, the courtyard is very pleasant for breakfast (if the weather is warm!), though we found the nicely presumably intended to lighten it up a bit - seemed rather odd at breakfast! Breakfast was nothing special compared with some other places we stayed at in Sweden.

Both rooms were small and pleasant enough, though they lacked any 'extra' touches (eg, compared with the Vanilj in Gothenberg: see reviews). The frig was unplugged so I plugged it in because I had some cheese et al that needed keeping cold. The next morning the food was quite 'hot' rather than cold and the frig was expelling warm air. When I told the person at reception, he merely said that some of the friges weren't working so they had unplugged them - but there was no warning! Ditto for the bathroom door that squeaked loudly whenever one opened it - not very popular with one's partner if one goes to the loo in the middle of the night!

The location is OK - just across a little park from the top (restaurant) end of the main pedestrianised street - and the buses are nearby to take you to most of the more 'down-town' locations. But I think I'll look for a more 'central' hotel next time I go to Stockholm.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surprised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Hotel Bema
Hotel Bema
#102 of 154 in Stockholm
93 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western Hotel Bentleys
Best Western Hotel Bentleys
#89 of 154 in Stockholm
545 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#32 of 154 in Stockholm
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasastan
Hotel Tegnerlunden
Hotel Tegnerlunden
#41 of 154 in Stockholm
876 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#46 of 154 in Stockholm
407 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Norra Bantorget
Scandic Norra Bantorget
#90 of 154 in Stockholm
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to August Strindberg Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about August Strindberg Hotell

Address: 38 Tegnergatan, Stockholm 113 59, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: £114 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — August Strindberg Hotell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the calm and beautiful Tegnérlunden Park in central Stockholm is the August Strindberg Hotell, with a continental atmosphere and a charming breakfast hall offering lovely garden views. All en-suite rooms provide free wireless internet, phones and TVs and most of them face the garden.The dining hall boasts an open fire, which creates a cosy atmosphere on cool winter mornings. In summer guests can enjoy breakfast outside in the flowering garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your August Strindberg Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
August Strindberg Hotell Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing