We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
August Strindberg Hotell
Nearby Hotels
US$333
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Skeppsholmen(Stockholm)
US$402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel C Stockholm(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rival(Stockholm)
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$276
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Clarion Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Victory Hotel(Stockholm)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lydmar Hotel(Stockholm)
US$601
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$483
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
13
20
33
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
20
33
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily hotelquiet areacentral locationfree wifibathroom
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2009

This was my 4th stay at August Strindberg. The ++'s are still valid: a cosy place like this is hard to find in the center of Stockholm. Staff is friendly a ever. Yet it has had better times; the rooms are getting run down, the beds uncomfortably soft, shower not properly functioning. Breakfast was unexciting as ususal. I would stay here again because of location and allergy to usual city hotels but would certainly recommend better maintenance.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queijinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Supercozy hotel in central Stockholn, only one block away from Drottninggatan, one of the main shopping streets, although the location is very quiet and the garden is a small oasis! Subway and buses to all places nearby. Beautiful garden, dining room and reception. Nice rooms, very friendly staff. REcommended!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2008

This hotel is situated 7-8 minutes away from the central station and onlyt 3 minutes away from Drottninggatan, an important shopping street.

The hotel is located in a backyard and although the hotel is not posh in any wayThe rooms and bathrooms are not too big. This hotel is anyway a favourite of mine. The staff is always friendly, breakfast is good and and the atmosphere is relax.

There is no elevator, but if you don't mind waking up two floors this is for sure something I can recommend for you.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
Thank Leifaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2007

We stayed at this hotel on two separate occasions during August - for the first stay our room was in the 'original' part of the hotel across the courtyard; for the second on the ground floor in the 'new' part facing onto the street (literally: we were somewhat nonplussed by the floor to ceiling window facing directly onto the street until we discovered people couldn't actually see inside the room because of the mirrored reflective glass!)

As previous reviewers have said, the courtyard is very pleasant for breakfast (if the weather is warm!), though we found the nicely presumably intended to lighten it up a bit - seemed rather odd at breakfast! Breakfast was nothing special compared with some other places we stayed at in Sweden.

Both rooms were small and pleasant enough, though they lacked any 'extra' touches (eg, compared with the Vanilj in Gothenberg: see reviews). The frig was unplugged so I plugged it in because I had some cheese et al that needed keeping cold. The next morning the food was quite 'hot' rather than cold and the frig was expelling warm air. When I told the person at reception, he merely said that some of the friges weren't working so they had unplugged them - but there was no warning! Ditto for the bathroom door that squeaked loudly whenever one opened it - not very popular with one's partner if one goes to the loo in the middle of the night!

The location is OK - just across a little park from the top (restaurant) end of the main pedestrianised street - and the buses are nearby to take you to most of the more 'down-town' locations. But I think I'll look for a more 'central' hotel next time I go to Stockholm.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2007

The hotel was ok, but nothing special. The best of it was the breakfast, which was really nice with many different types of bread, muesli, fruit etc.

It is not very central, but you can walk to the central station in about 6-7 minutes.

Our room was average and a bit small (R. 106). The bathroom was flooded after taking a shower, but the water pressure was ok.

Positive was that you could have access to the breakfast room 24 hours with free water and coffee/tea.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Amylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews