We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Find in a Really Expensive City”
Review of Parlan Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parlan Hotell
Ranked #118 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A Real Find in a Really Expensive City”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Perhaps the most daunting challenge of touring Stockholm is finding creative ways to sidestep the often staggering costs associated with dining, shopping, sightseeing and, of course, lodging.  And it is the  latter of these costs where Hotel Parlan can help, for here is a quality accommodation that won't break the touristic budget.

Staying at Hotel Parlan is not exactly inexpensive, but given its competition, the approximate $188 US dollars per night cost is quite reasonable.  What is more, the Parlan comes with a friendly welcome, good sized double rooms, and bright, appealing public spaces, all in a
location that, while not atmospheric, is both safe and a short, five minute walk to Stockholm's beautiful waterfront.


Fodder's guide to Scandinavia is enthusiastic about Hotel Parlan, yet it argues the hotel is a bit worn around the edges.  This is only partly true.  Indeed, save for some outdated
bathroom fixtures and bedroom styling (our double room was furnished in a rather Spartan, haphazard way), the Parlan offers fresh, brightly styled public rooms that invite relaxation.  There is a communal fridge filled with an assortment of snacks and liquid pick me ups.  Another plus is a small porch that provides views into the courtyard of the building.

In some ways, the title that precedes Parlan is a bit misleading, as this accommodation seems more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel.  The Parlan has a friendly, intimate quality about it, and that's good.  Breakfast is taken by guests from the kitchen and then brought to
the dining area.  While the food as a whole is not distinctive, there is much of it, everything
from cereals to cheese, veggies to yogurt drinks.  This traveler especially liked the variety of breads.  Unfortunately, the most important part of any breakfast -coffee - was not worthy of this fine accommodation.

A couple closing notes about our double room: while the room did not offer air conditioning, a helpful metal fan played an important role in eliminating stale air; and the shower, while rather outdated, offered plenty of hot water.  In short, our bedroom did not disappoint.

When considering a trip to Stockholm, the traveler would be well advised to choose the Hotel Parlan.  Centrally located, attractively priced, with first rate service, this is a real find in a really expensive European capital.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claremay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    35
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
33
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This is not a luxury or full-service hotel but it deserves proper consideration. Parlan has a great location in an upscale and central part of Ostermalm. The building is elegant, with a courtyard, balcony and large sitting room. Laundry facilities are available. The room was very clean. Breakfast was very generous. FYI, there is no staff on duty in the afternoons so it's almost like having your own apartment. For the price, this is a good option in Stockholm. The bed could be more comfortable and there is no A/C but Gustav will do whatever he can to make your time in Stockholm pleasant. I will probably be back.

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank shnook72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Small hotel, with only nine rooms (all with shower).
The hotel was a girls school in the 1800's and this just makes it even cozier. Incredibly nice and helpful staff and a nice breakfast.

The hotel is located in a quiet street in the area of Östermalm, a fashionable district with exclusive shops and plenty of restaurants.

We will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anra41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deutschland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed at Parlan for 3 nights, and we can recommend it. Obviously it is quite expensive and at the same time simple, but in Stockholm you cannot expect more. It is very central, we could walk everywhere. The bathroom was tiny, but quite new and clean. The room wasn't too small with some extra sofas etc. The breakfast was very nice. Also the place has a homey touch, which we liked a lot, and the staff was very friendly.
We had a room looking out on the road, but the hotel is on the second floor, so no people peeking inside. Also the room was right next to the breakfast room - nevertheless we were not bothered at all from noise from the street or the breakfast room. To be on the safe side though you might want to require a room facing the yard.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malaika1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2010

gustov the owner always had a smile he was pleasant and helpful the rooms clean and tidy continental breakfast was adequate good value for money as our flight was 2 hours late he arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the airport the taxi driver was supposed to give us the code to gain entrance having been given these details by gustov when booking the taxi .he let the hotel down .but was more than made up for by the hotel and the wonderful city we would not hesitate to recomend this hotel and would stay there again if we visit stockholm again

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mk773529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

A comfortable and well maintained hotel right in the centre of Stockholm and yet in a very quiet location. It has a distinct feeling of home away from home. The breaksfast options are excellent. Gustav, the owner (or manager), is very helpful and accommodating.

A couple of clues though:
1. If taking a taxi to the hotel, print out the address and give it to the taxi driver as the hotel is not well known.
2. Don't look for a big sigh, it's just a boutique hotel located on the 4th floor of a building.
3. Don't forget to ask for the access code to the building, which is also the access code to the hotel.
4. If flying out, ask Gustav to organise a taxi for you, especially if you are with a partner. You might end up paying less than getting to the airport by train.

So, overall impression is that it's really a good value for you money!

The hotel is just 5-10 minutes walk from all major Stockholm attractions and shopping. For those who find getting a decent and not overly expensive meal in Stockholm a challenge, can recommend a Thai restaurant/takeaway just across the street.

Wouldn't hesitate recommending it to anyone coming to Stockholm for a sightseeing or business trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asiljr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
390 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I stayed at the Parlan Hotel for one night prior to joining a cruise ship in Stockholm. The owner, Gustav, was charming and helpful. I had flown overnight from Sydney with my elderly mother, who was very tired and in need of a rest. We arrived at the Parlan at 7 am. The hotel had been fully booked on the previous evening, but Gustav was most accommodating, arranging for our room to be cleaned as soon as possible, and offering us tea and coffee while we waited in the well appointed guest lounge room.
Our room was light and bright, spotlessly clean, and with comfortable beds. Although the room faced onto the street, it was very quiet. Breakfast in the lovely dining room was excellent.
The location was terrific – just two short blocks down to Strandvägen (Swedish for "Beach Road"), the beautiful waterfront boulevard on Östermalm, with plenty of bus and tram connections all over the city, as well as access to the HOHO boats.
Gustav was helpful with restaurant recommendations, organised a taxi for our departure, and assisted with our heavy luggage.
Just one very small gripe – the bath towels were very small and quite old.
Stockholm is not a cheap city. The Parlan is excellent value for money, and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glynis031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Ostermalm
Hotel Esplanade
Hotel Esplanade
#69 of 154 in Stockholm
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#24 of 154 in Stockholm
1,138 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#12 of 154 in Stockholm
1,489 reviews
Ostermalm
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parlan Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parlan Hotell

Property: Parlan Hotell
Address: 27 Skeppargatan, Stockholm 114 52, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Parlan Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Parlan Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parlan Hotell Stockholm
Parlan Hotell Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing