We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very nice, totally self service, one floor of an apartment building”
Review of Parlan Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parlan Hotell
Ranked #109 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location, very nice, totally self service, one floor of an apartment building”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Perfect location in central Stockholm in a very nice neighborhood. Very clean, nice rooms, decent breakfast, quiet.
It's a floor of an apartment building, so no grand entrance.
There is rarely any staff around (how they keep it so clean is a mystery)!
Decent prices (1150/night for 2 adults and 1 child in the same room).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the internal courtyard not on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AranNathanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    36
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
34
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed at the Parlan for 10 days in two rooms in June 2012. The owners are wonderful and the hotel is lovely. It's situated in one of the nicest neighborhoods in Stockholm [Hillary Clinton was having dinner in the area which detoured us one night] and is central to all. The rooms are nice and clean, and fairly large by European standards. And, it was the most reasonable B&B I could find ~ and we consider it truly a find! Don't worry about the owners not being there in the evening ~ a lot of people arrive outside of their hours. Get the door code beforehand and, if something happens where you need the owners [one of our party lost herr room key], call them ~ their contact info is easy to find, and they are very responsive. The only suggestion I'd make is for them to add black out curtains for the midnight sun ~ but my husband used eyeshades, which I can't stand, so I used a towel so it isn't the end of the world [and far outweighed by the other great things]. Breakfasts are nice as well [admitedly a little boring after 10 days, but ...] and the owners very considerately make sandwiches with any extra meat and cheese and leave them in the frig if you get the munchies later. We can't recommend the Parlan highly enough!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SPCRBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodhull,IL
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We spent 3 nights here. I was glad that I had the email with the code for the hotel. I don't know what we would have done. We really needed some help when we arrived with trying to return our rental car, but the desk was not staffed. Another guest offered her phone and we were able to figure everything out. Until the end of August, the Arlanda Express is offering a 2 for $280(?) Kroner one way ticket and this is the best way to get to/from the airport. The train leaves every 10 minutes and is 20 minutes airport to central station, Stockholm. We walked from Central Station to the Parlan. It was about a 25 minute walk. When we got back to the hotel, we had not eaten supper, but we had put a couple of beers in the refrigerator and we saw a sign by some sandwiches that said "free sandwiches." They were our supper and really hit the spot! That was very nice and there were some other items in the refrigerator for sale. Our room was the first off of the kitchen/dining area and right behind the reception desk, but it was not noisy from the hotel. The street noises, however, were very loud. Street cleaners, cars, people were around all night. As we found with other hotels, the room is warm enough you want the windows open, yet with the windows open, the noise makes sleep difficult. I loved our BIG room, but I would suggest that unless you have children and need the space, I would ask for a room on the courtyard side of the hotel for better sleep. This is not the hotel's fault. In the morning we met Ellen. She said Gustav was on vacation so she was there every day. Ellen was extremely nice and very helpful whenever we had a question. The breakfast was nice but not quite what I had anticipated from the reviews. It was a standard Scandinavian breakfast. There were breads, cheese, cold cuts and a few vegetables, two herrings, boiled eggs, yogurt with granola and dried fruits. There were some apples out as well as fruit juices and coffee and tea. This hotel was very charming in the decor and the elevator is very old time with the gates and door. You can see out as you go up and down. If you want a full service hotel, this is not it. However, it is a very nice place to stay and is definitely run on the honor system. There are umbrellas in a container and the food purchases are by a money container in the fridge. The second day we were there, our room did not get cleaned and Ellen apologized. From what we could see, I think they had been full the night before and she had many rooms to make up. It really didn't bother us and we said so. The next day it was done. When we needed to print our boarding passes, Ellen again was very helpful and quit what she was doing to help us with the computer and the language. Stockholm is a very expensive city and hotels are high. The Parlan was nice, convenient and more reasonable than most hotels. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: To avoid street noise, I would ask for a room on the courtyard side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights during a visit to Stockholm. The location of the hotel is super with all the major attractions and the best shop no nearby. Compared with other "major" hotels nearby, this is a low cost hotel is difficult to beat, fresh and clean, breakfast and service is high. As others have said, you can not beat the location or the price! I hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Everything about our stay here exceeded our expectations. The owners are most helpful and kind and the breakfast is really good as are the accomodations. Can't beat the location or the price; highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blacklab1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Very good boutique hotel right in the centre of Stockholm. Offers the basic facilities (bed & breakfast), bright , clean and very friendly. Barely 5 minutes walk to the Royal Palace and the Old Town.
Not an expensive hotel for Stockholm City centre. No hesitation in recommending it. In fact I'll use it again next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artifex1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gjovik, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Parlan hotel is perfectly situated in the eastern city centre. It is very small, but this is also what makes it so special. It feels like coming home. Very different from the big hotels in every positive way. If you don't need a fitness centre and pool, that is. There's no bar or restaurant in the hotel, but several of both just outside the doorstep. The rooms are nice and clean. And very quiet. Exellent sleep quality. Very friendly and helpfull staff. We will definately come back to Parlan hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#25 of 154 in Stockholm
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Hotel Esplanade
Hotel Esplanade
#69 of 154 in Stockholm
301 reviews
Ostermalm
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#40 of 154 in Stockholm
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parlan Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parlan Hotell

Property: Parlan Hotell
Address: 27 Skeppargatan, Stockholm 114 52, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Parlan Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Parlan Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parlan Hotell Stockholm
Parlan Hotell Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing