We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unwelcoming welcome”
Review of Ett Hem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ett Hem
Ranked #15 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2012

As with people, so with hotels; arrogance can be an expression of insecurity. 'Exclusive' means that part of the enjoyment lies in the knowledge that the pleasure is unavailable to most people. It's not a noble sentiment. True class is inclusive; take Corbyn & King's London restaurants, where everyone is treated equally, whether they are there for a break from shopping with tea and a teacake or for a prolonged bonus-fuelled blow out.
I took my girlfriend to Stockholm to celebrate my forthcoming birthday. I know and love the city; this was her first time. I chose Ett Hem on the basis of glowing reviews and, from a design perspective it didn't disappoint - it is a flawlessly beautiful and comfortable space.
If only the experience had lived up to the aesthetics. We arrived to find the hotel had no evidence of our booking. This happens, fair enough. However, we found ourselves treated, by the ice maiden at reception, as if this was our problem or mistake and, moreover, both got the palpable feeling that - until the booking could be found - we were anything but welcome. We were imposters, guilty until proven innocent. While we waited for our booking to be retrieved - eventually - from the Small Luxury Hotels of the World website, a guest (the only one we saw all weekend) walked through the lobby and glared at us - twice - as if we had crawled out from under the skirting. I started this feel that I actually had made a mistake; in booking the place at all.
Fortunately, the rest of the weekend went smoothly and the remainder of the staff were unfailingly relaxed, friendly and helpful. But a whiff of snobbery from our unwelcoming welcome hung in the air throughout.
If you are going to call a place 'At Home' and charge a small fortune for the privilege of sharing it, then please put as much thought into designing the customer experience as you do into the cushions. And please, please don't put someone on the front desk who doesn't have the self-awareness to leave their uptightness and froideur at the door when they come to work.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
75  Thank SteveTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Ett Hem
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2012

Imagine staying in a gorgeous private townhouse home of a wealthy friend with incredible taste and whose hospitality has no bounds in one of Stockholms most charming neighbourhoods. Well that is Ett hem in a nutshell. Little shows that you are in a hotel (thus the name ett hem = a home): prepare your own cocktail in the sitting room, read a novel in the well stocked library, have dinner in the kitchen as you watch your private chef work his magic or breakfast in the cosy winter garden. The service is attentive, personal and warm. The furniture and art collection is eclectic and clearly each piece has been carefully selected. The beautifully decorated room we stayed in was large with a bed I can only describe as heavenly - a beautiful natural stone bathroom with many small details including a large range of some of my favorite full size products from Kiehls. This hotel is a rare thing made with love by people who understand the mantra of the "devil is in the detail". I can only say wow! Once you arrive you won't want to leave. There is no other place to stay in Stockholm for a truly personal luxury hotel experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

The name of this small hotel sums it all up - truly feels like a home and quite a nice one I should add. Beautifully designed, eclectic and with personable and charming staff. Perfect place to stay in Stockholm and make sure to have some time to enjoy all the great ambience and service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JakobBengt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 85pere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Resenaren_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
Thank Chri73Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,321 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
590 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,110 reviews
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
343 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ett Hem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ett Hem

Address: 2 Skoeldungagatan, Stockholm 114 27, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: £359 - £732 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ett Hem 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Ett Hem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing