We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine tasting was amazing”
Review of Monks Porter House

Monks Porter House
Ranked #741 of 3,059 Restaurants in Stockholm
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
RI
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wine tasting was amazing”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We went only for their wine tasting. We had been to other wine places around Gamla Stan, but this place was by far the best. The two servers were extremely knowlegable and were excited about what they did. You would swear that they were co-owners by the way they took care of the customers. We tasted 5 different wines (and they weren't cheap wines, like the other wine shops), and were provided a cheese platter. After the wine, we were even provided (for free) samples of some of their homebrew.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svelyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    33
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and outstanding selection of beers”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Went there for beers only.

They had the biggest De Molen-selection I have ever seen. They also had some vintage-beers. Did not try their food, as we were there to late, but we were treated with a complementary chocolate dessert (probably because we bought their most expensive beers, and they did not have what we asked for). Knowledgeable staff.

The atmosphere in this old bricked basement was perfect, and walking down the stairs passing those locked cabinets of microbrewed beers built the perfect tension :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andersreve74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Enjoyable underground experience”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Located in an old wine cellar, this place has great atmosphere. The food (BBQ buffet) was ok, but nothing special. Lots of micro-brew beers available.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeZandvliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göteborg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A. Five but a little expensive.”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Very nice food and homemade beer. Nice staff as well, but can't visit to often due to high price. The old vaults in the cellar are worthy of a visit themselves

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pratrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monks Porter House also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Monks Porter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing