We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melody needs tuning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pop House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #56 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Melody needs tuning”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A really great trip to Stockholm which had one negative component. The food at the Melody hotel. I was served with a Sirloin steak that was 85% fat and had so much salt in the entire meal I thought it may have been a preparation mistake. However, when drawing this to the waiters attention I got a very hostile response and a lecture on what an Entrecôte (I had selected Sirloin from the limited menu) steak looks like. When the restaurant manager arrived the waiter was still shouting from the other side of the room. No gesture of apology was offered and no reduction in the rather heavy price for an uneaten meal. I was offered another meal, but by then it was too late to trust the kitchen, if you know what I mean.
The hotel itself is excellent, with nice sized rooms and good, basic furnishing. The staff, in general, are friendly and helpful. I am not sure I agree with staff eating and drinking in the public area, which is rather too frequent. I got the impression these are young people who have not been trained in customer focus. The hotel manager looked like he slept in his clothes and chose to ignore my wife and I. Well, why not, we were only customers.

Room Tip: The rooms to the rear are less exposed to noise. If you have any walking or leg movement problems th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Museum-eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula L, Informationsansvarig at Pop House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 17 December 2014
Dear! Thank you for you review.

We have now change menu and staff, we hope to see you soon again at Melody.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    135
    42
    17
    4
See reviews for
59
116
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This new hotel has a perfect location ( you'll be the first to be at Vasa Museum in the morning, dont miss the Rosendal park) stylish rooms with comfy beds and a great breakfast buffet. On top of it all: Great staff and great service. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Hamburger2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula L, Informationsansvarig at Pop House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 17 December 2014
Google Translation
Stort tack för ditt fina omdöme.


Varmt välkommen tillbaka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Staff was wonderful. Even brought me hot chocolate after the bar had closed. Quiet rooms. Near to the amusement park, Tram 7, and a wonderful water taxi that is worth taking just for the tour of the harbor.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeam_STHLM, Försäljningschef at Pop House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you Alan for writing about us.
We agree with you, location is perfect for both business and leisure trips with everything araound the corner.
We wish to welcome you again for your next trip to Stockholm.
Mattias
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel over four days in June. This hotel is brand new, which is both good and bad.
First of all, the basics :
Wifi - works great
Parking - none, we had to park at the hotel across the street for $35/200 kron per day
Air conditioning - Partial; they have a system that goes up and down about 3 degrees but we got the room cool by leaving the key in and turning off all the lights. The lights get very hot!
Breakfast - was included. It was cereal, watery "eggs", bacon, pancakes, croissants, fruit, bread, jam. We asked to order easy over eggs or the Eggs Benedict they had posted on their daily menu and they said they ran out of eggs. First off, how do you run out, and why hasn't someone gone out for more? Second, why is the sign still out advertising eggs? We got excited only to be let down. The cappuccino was from a nespresso or similar machine and somehow always cold.
We made and then changed a dinner reservation through the reception, only to get to the restaurant and find the staff member at the hotel never made the reservation. She also didn't even mark our map properly so we ran around for an extra 10 minutes trying to find the place. Not good.
Location - Hotel is right next to Abba museum, and the tram and hop on hop off bus picks up right outside, which was fantastic. Lots of transportation options.
They don't offer any kind of discount or even buying tickets for the Abba museum through the hotel, which to me is so strange as its in then same building.
A few staff members at breakfast snapped at us for asking for things and we felt very uncomfortable.
At nighttime they lock the front door and you can't get in with a key. You have to buzz the staff to let you in. Once we waited for ten minutes for the only staff member there to come let us inside.
Overall, if you stay to yourself and don't expect any customer service, this is a great hotel. If you are a tourist and need extra assistance, don't stay here. The staff needs more customer service experience. They are unorganized and unknowledgable, and most of them unfriendly. Hopefully they get it together, or they aren't going to last!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank April A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeam_STHLM, Försäljningschef at Pop House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear April,
thank you for writing a very detailed review.
First of all, we have learned a lot since we opened and since last summer.
Our breakfast is now a very popular place not only for hotel guest but also for the local Stockholmer.
We also have a new Espresso machine.
We have new routines, of course we shall never run out of something.
The Aircondition in all rooms now works perfect! It was some tuning from our maintenance.

We will continuing lock our front door during night, this due to safty for our guests.
The buzzer goes to the night guards so they opens the front door.

If you let us accommodate you again I'm sure you will have a different opinion of us.

Kind regards,
Mattias
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Hotel is new construction. Very quiet room, including the efficient and quiet air conditioning. Location off in the "museum/park" island, but has easy no.7 tram stop right in front of hotel (GronaLund stop). ~10 min tram to Galarie (5-7 min wait in daytime, tram run until midnight). Also right next to ferry pier, 10 min shipping to Old Town (every 20 min or so).
Big breakfast with generous choices. Small but friendly staffing. Only 1 person to take care of everything at night. WiFi, in-room safe and fridge, solid 4-star boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Room facing back is very quiet. So quiet there is a bird nesting on the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_stt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeam_STHLM, Försäljningschef at Pop House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your nice review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
As you mentioned, the location is quiet and calm but only 5-10 min away from the city centre.

We hope that you will let us continue to be your Stockholm choice.

Kind regards,
Mattias
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This is hotel has less quality than Scandic with the dubble price.
The cancellation time is 24hrs before the check in time (3pm), therefore if you need to cancel the reservation the day before (after 3pm) , the hotel withdraw from your credic card the cost of the room even if you are not using it.

The hotel looks very basic, the serice is poor and the cleaning is even worse (when arrived i found the bin in the bathroom still full from the guest before). there are no bin in the room with the exception of the one in the bathrom.
For 300sek more you can book the Grand Hotel with top level quality.

Room Tip: I reccomend to avoid this Hotel . not worth for the money you spent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brinetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeam_STHLM, Försäljningschef at Pop House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Brinetta,
thank you for writing your thoughts about your stay.
We have differnet rates that we sell online.
The one you choose was a non refundable rate which gives you a nice 10% discount.
If you choose a normal rate you are able to change it until our 6pm one day prior to arrival.
We never charge a credit card without authorisation from our guests, its agaisnt the law in Sweden.
Since we are a small boutique hotel with only 48 rooms we are not able to have cancellation policy like the Scandic(usually they have the same day at 3pm).

We have implemented a new routine since your visit to avoid the housekeeping missing the bin, thats not exaptable from us.
I sincerely hope that we will have an oppertunity to welcome you back since we have done a lot since your last stay.
Kind regards,
Mattias
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The hotel is new, it was opened on 7th of May. Location convinient for exploring Vasa and Skansen - they are 5-10 min walk from the hotel. Next to the hotel are Tivoli park and Abba museum is in the same building. To connect to the old town there is a ferry station in 5 min walk and it takes 10 min to commute. The rooms are spacious, quite and nice. The only inconvinient things are that there is no hangers for towels and toilet paper in the bathroom - I can't believe that it was done by intention... Probably they were not ready by the hotel openning and will be added later. The breakfast is generous. The same restaurant is open in the evening and serves decent meals for diner.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superkrol4iha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaKallhagen, Manager at Pop House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for your review.
It is very important for us as a brand new hotel to get feedback from our guests what we need to improve.
Hangers and paper holder is of course in all rooms now.
Thank you again for choosing Melody Hotel.
/Mattias
Sales & Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Djurgarden & Djurgardsbrunn
Scandic Hasselbacken
Scandic Hasselbacken
#82 of 154 in Stockholm
638 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#38 of 154 in Stockholm
362 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Nofo Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Norrmalm
Hobo
Hobo
#58 of 154 in Stockholm
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pop House Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pop House Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Pop House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: Djurgardsvagen 68, Stockholm 115 21, Sweden (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection Pop House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Djurgarden & Djurgardsbrunn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pop House Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BW Premier Collection Pop House Hotel, open since May 2013! The hotel is located in the same building as ABBA -The Museum and the Swedish Music Hall of Fame on Djurgarden, Stockholm's centrally located recreational island. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, mini-bar, flat-screen television and a laptop safe as well as free Wi-Fi access. Staying guests have free access to the hotels gym and the restaurant onsite offers an international cuisine and American wines. Central Stockholm is a five minute tram ride away and the tram-stop is just outside the hotel. Ferry boats with service to Old Town and central Stockholm departs a few minutes' walk from the hotel. At Djurgarden, guests will also find that Skansen Open-Air Museum, the Vasa Museum and the Nordic Museum are all available in just a five minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pop House Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing