We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room is average only. Breakfast buffet is great. Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nordic Light Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nordic Light Hotel
Ranked #29 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma USA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Room is average only. Breakfast buffet is great. Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

The location is close to the central station, and if you're taking the Arlanda Express from the airport it's right outside that station. There are two money machines within a block. Hotel inside is chic, but not upscale chic. Bathroom had a bit of mold, and I found a couple of hairs on the floor and bed spread. The breakfast buffet was exceptional. Given the general high prices in Stockholm I'd say this was a decent value with the off-season rate I got. The latter part of my trip, the rates were higher so we'd booked a different place. We stayed in Gamla Stan in an apartment. The rate was higher but for 4 of us the individual price was cheaper. If I was staying in Stockholm again with myself or one guest, I'd look at the Nordic Light again. If I was staying with 3+ people, I'd look for an apartment again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christinwikstrom, Hotel Influencer at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Hi,

We would like to thank you for posting your review about our hotel.
You are welcome back at any time.

Regards
Christin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    578
    183
    76
    24
See reviews for
151
524
88
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

This is a pretty well located hotel (though not the very best), with a cool lobby and bar.

However:
-the rooms are tiny and "functional", ie, nothing as "design" as expected (except if 2 lights in the shape of hearts suffice for you).
-the restaurant is always empty and ... for a good reason... we tried eating there and it was not good & very pricey

If you were planning on staying here, go for drinks instead, they have a DJ on Fridays !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sevellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredricSvanell, Front Office Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear guest,

We are glad to see you liked our lobby and bar! Some design and atmopsphere is not for everybody, however we are striving to touch all people! There is also a inhouse DJ on wednesdays from now on. Come check it out!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Honestly I had a hype for that hotel. your reviews were so amazing.
then we arrived and the check in staff was very rude, as in a hurry, i could not even properly ask for information about facilities.
the room was more than 200 £ (pounds) per night but was small, with old furniture, dark and overall did not had the impression to be very-very clean.
the bed was comfortable.
the light thing on the wall is nothing special, almost disturbing, but the worst thing was the poor signal of the wireless internet.
passing time trying to catch the signal was exhausting and I don't know if depended of the hotel in general or just that unlucky room (remember don't go to the room finishing with 10).
i left a note to the room service that was simply ignored.
the sauna (considering the important swedish tradition) was so bad that I have no words.
I definitely don't recommend.
the location is great but I that's all the hotel can offer.
maybe ok for business travel if you don't pay.

Room Tip: avoid the "ten" series rooms, are the smallest of the floors and close to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clemmy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredricSvanell, Front Office Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback! Sadly we did not live up to you imaginations about the hotel, and off course it is allways a shame when there are technical difficulties that can not be fixed immediately! However we appriciate your opinion and actively use guest feedback to improve our service and routines!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
379 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

I took advantage of the Early Bird Promotion offered by the hotel and paid in full for the room prior to our departure. The cost for 5 nights, which included a Friday and Saturday stay averaged to approximately $167.00 per night.
The hotel is in center city and is located right next to the Arlanda Airport High Speed Train. It couldn't be easier to walk out of the station and into the hotel. T-Central is located within a block, although it is under construction at this time. It was still easy to access the blue line from the hotel as my husband had business which required him to travel north during the day. This hotel was extremely convenient for his travel and for touring the city as well.
We were offered an upgrade to the room at an extra cost, but we chose to stick with the basic room as that is typical of our type of travel. We were pleasantly surprised to see that this hotel's basic room is actually quite roomy.
We were on the 4th floor and had a view of the street outside the hotel. The room was quiet as long as we kept the window shut. There are black out drapes which work well to keep out the light. The room also comes up with a special light/lamp alarm to aid in waking you gradually, if that is what you wish.
The breakfast was awesome! Hot foods included eggs, scrambled and hard boiled, bacon and wieners. There were breads of all types and varieties along with butter, cream cheese, and several types of jams. Fresh fruit, yogurt, raspberries and lingonberries, brie and other cheese, cold meats, pickled herring and similar options, muffins, croissants, mueslix, and I am certain that I have not mentioned everything. Breakfast was open for several hours each morning and there was plenty of seating in the area.
The staff was always cheery and helpful.
The room offered a hot pot for complimentary tea/coffee in the room. There was a microfridge that was well stocked and snacks available, but these items were for purchase and we chose not to use them.
If you hang up your towel, it will not be changed by the hotel staff. After 3 days, I left the towels on the floor, and clean ones were put in the bathroom for us.
There is an iron and drop down ironing board in the closet. The bathroom comes with a mounted hair dryer which worked quite well.
I did spot some significant dust under the table when I dropped something on the floor, but all visible wood work was clean.
The bed was very comfy, but the covers were not much wider than the bed, and I would have appreciated a bit wider coverlet as I always seem to be the one short changed in that respect!
There is not much room for clothes storage. The closet is only about 8 inches deep. There is a long bench where we kept our suitcases and we generally hung up an item or two, but kept everything in the suitcase as there are no other drawers anywhere to store clothes.
The bath was supplied with a bar of soap and shampoo and conditioner in tubes which were replenished as needed. The only complaint about the bathroom was that there was definitely a mildew smell emanating from the shower drain. I could not see any type of mildew, so I can only presume that it is in the trap below the drain.
Overall, with the convenience of location, this hotel is definitely a good value, being in center city, when reserving the Early Bird Promotion.

Room Tip: Use the earlybird reservation for the best price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredricSvanell, Front Office Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write us feedback on your stay with us! We are glad you liked the quietness and clenlyness of the rooms and our wake up lights.

We hope to see you soon again!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Conveniently located near the Central Terminal, the lobby is cool and comfortable with furniture that could be art and friendly, multi-lingual staff. Our room was comfortable and modern with great Swedish art and culture magazines and a light that projected beautiful pink hearts above our bed. The only strange thing was that the shower seemed to purposefully flood the bathroom, but other than that we loved it and the reasonable price (about 100 euros -- they are having a special for their 10th anniversary).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LimousineBaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredricSvanell, Front Office Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear guest,

Nice to see you liked the design and atmosphere of Nordic Light Hotel, and great to hear you had a good anniversary!

Hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Centrally located hotel with spacious rooms and fancy breakfast. The hotel is great value, especially if you profit from an early reservation rate and you consider the prices in Stockholm.
It seems that the service is not very well "tuned", but that is OK when you are on holidays.

Room Tip: Even the standard room is comfortable and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsiliAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredricSvanell, Front Office Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear sir,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion on your stay. Good to see you liked it! Wellcome back to us in the future!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed here and the hotel is very modern. The bathrooms are small but feels new and clean. The rooms where a little bit small for our taste but most rooms in Stockholm are small. The beds where hard but the light in the room was so nice, you could choose whatever color you wanted depending on your mood! We loved the close location to the Arlanda Express and it was also close to town and Old town. Overall a good price and good breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sivan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredricSvanell, Front Office Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again in the future!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#35 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#16 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#30 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordic Light Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Light Hotel

Property: Nordic Light Hotel
Address: 7 Vasaplan, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nordic Light Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nordic Light Hotel is Stockholm's design hotel, with an interior inspired by the northern light. The hotel is located in the city centre of Stockholm right next to the best shopping, nightlife and the express-train to Arlanda airport. All 175 rooms share the same well thought-out design and the atmosphere in our restaurant and bar is both cool and inviting. At the hotel, our friendly staff guides you to the best restaurants, clubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nordic Light Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordic Light Stockholm
Hotel Nordic Light

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing