We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, trendy hotel in the centre of Stockholm”
Review of Nordic Light Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nordic Light Hotel
Ranked #33 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This boutique hotel is little more than a 1-minute walk from the train station where the Arlanda Express train for the airport arrives. This is great for central Stockholm and a short distance from the Gamla Stan, and also the main shopping areas. The rooms are small but functional, the breakfast is standard, but the place has a nice buzz and great bar (and free wi-fi). Also, just across the street from the Ice Bar if you want to chill out, literally. Great choice for business or a weekend in Stockholm.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotta S, Guest Relations Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your nice feed back. I am glad that you got such a nice experience from the hotel during your stay and I just agree with you, the location is perfect!

Best regards,
Charotta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 1,521 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

Short walking distance for shopping, dining. Accomodation was really great, price a little bit ... high but rooms are funky :o). Easy access via Arlanda express from the Airport.

The food is excellent and I would recommend the breakfast with a great selection of hot and cold food as a great way to start your day !

Perfect English at the reception.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gem-hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotta S, Guest Relations Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thank for you nice feed back!
I will forward this to my colleagues and I promise that they will appreciate your comments.
I hope to welcome you back again!

Kind regards,
Charlotta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Getting into the city of Stockholm from the int. airport used to be a bussing nightmare of more than an hour, as the ever environment conscious Swedes had built it way out in the boondocks to prevent noise and pollution. Now they have a solution: The Airport Express which can be reached by escalotor only takes 20 min. and leaves every 15 min.right into the Nordic Light Hotel, or so it seems, with only two min. to walk under a covered passage out of the main station. This hotel is the ultimum in Scandinavian modernism in spite of a cozy open fire in the lobby-bar. The rooms are very comfortable and well equipped. The service is friendly and for those who like it cool, there is the famous ice bar in the basement. The bar, the cups and the seats, all of ice, and they give you fur garments to survive it and enjoy their akvavits and vodkas at the proper temperature: frozen.The central location is ideal for a restaurant tour up and down the road. If you have an early flight, you can cut it easy in half an hour and if you prefer to come down late on a moody day, the rich breakfast buffet can go for brunch.

Room Tip: the state of the art elevators need your room key card, as an added security, otherwise you can go b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLAUDE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotta S, Director of Sales at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear B Claude,

Thank you for your feedback and for your nice review for Nordic Light Hotel. I’m glad that you also had time to experiencing the Icebar during your stay with us. Welcome back! /Charlotta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This was the first time I've stayed at the Nordic Light Hotel, and I was disappointed. The single room was very small and cramped, with a wardrobe only five inches deep (enough to hang two items max horizontally, and not deep enough to unpack any clothes on the shelf). Breakfast was served in the large open plan entrance area adjacent to the reception and bar and although the choice and quality of breakfast was ok, the staff were only there to clear away and replenish breakfast items, not to serve you at the table or explain the options. I couldn't get a cup of coffee and the tables were unlaid and all were not wiped clean from previous guests. Finally, although very clean and tidy, the room was tired and in need of refurbishment. Overall, the design of the hotel is pleasing, but they need to apply the effort they've put into the reception into the rooms and service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank examino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotta S, Guest Relations Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear Ricky,

I just read your review and at first I’m sorry that the hotel does not meet your expectations.
We have several room categories and some of the single rooms are quite small.
During 2012, the hotel is undergoing some renovation that we are looking forward to.
I really hope to welcome you back to us again in the future! /Charlotta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed in the Nordic Light Hotel with my girlfriend for a weekend away and was extremely happy with the whole experience. The location is excellent - we traveled in from Arlanda airport via the express train, and the Light Hotel is literally 20 seconds walk from the station exit. Old town, all the main museums and attractions were a pleasant 20 minute walk away, and there are loads of shops and restaurants nearby (including the Stockholm Ice Bar, which is just across the road). There's even a departure board for the express train back to the airport in the reception area of the hotel. The staff were extremely helpful on check in, and after discovering it was our first trip to Stockholm provided us with several maps and suggestions for things to do during our stay.

The hotel itself is modern and funky with loads of little random art pieces in the halls onto the way to the room; nothing like the standard bland business hotels I've stayed in before. Our room was extremely clean and sleek, including free wi-fi, a great TV and a really comfortable bed. The changeable lights in the room are a fun distraction but not really used after the first night. The lobby area was an attraction in itself - both nights had some amazing DJ's and light shows going on, and was an excellent place to have a drink after a full day's exploring.

The only downside is that it's slightly expensive for what you get with room prices that are slightly high, and expensive drinks/food in the bar area, but this is characteristic of Stockholm as a whole - it's not a cheap city. We wanted a stress free and enjoyable experience and that's exactly what we got here. Had a great trip and would definitely go back. Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotta S, Guest Relations Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear satisfied guest,

Many thanks for sharing your nice experiences with us! I am glad that you both felt like this for the hotel and for Stockholm! It's a little bit expensive in Sweden I know! We are proud over our Mood rooms were you can putting the light depending in what mood you are in.
Nordic Light is a member of the Design Hotels with the "Northern Light" and innovation as the theme. I hope to welcome you back again!

Kind regards,
Charlotta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed in June during the Summerburst festival. First the hotel is about 20 yards from the Arlanda Express (which is the best way to and from Arlanda airport). Walking into the lobby, the hotel is very contemporary and the front desk staff was very nice and helpful. The room was VERY small, but clean and comfortable with cool lighting effects. Breakfast was very good and everything was within walking distance. Stockholm is a beautiful city with beautiful people and the Nordic Light Hotel was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PointsAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotta S, Guest Relations Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your nice feed back to the hotel and also to Stockholm.
It’s very nice to read this and I hope to welcome you back again!

Kind regards,
Charlotta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The hotel prides itself on its trendy lounge area which is apparently redecorated every few months with a new theme. Those funds would certainly be better directed towards upkeep of the rooms however. Our shower cabin was far from water tight, leaving the floor soaked after each use. The furniture in the rooms was cheap and somewhat rundown. The staff is extremely disorganized as well. We were initially sent up to a room that had not been made and appeared to have been freshly used. We went back down to the desk to see why we had been given a dirty room and the staff looked confused. The two front desk employees didn't realize that my boyfriend understood Swedish so they spoke openly to one another about what a screw up one of the maids was, which led us to believe that this kind of thing happens frequently. It struck me as unprofessional on all levels: the lack of communication between the different sectors, the sending us up to an unmade room, and the gossiping about a fellow employee in front of guests.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophonisba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotta S, Guest Relations Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Guest,

I'm sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations.
Our aim is obviously to maintain the same high level of service and standards throughout the hotel and I am sorry if this has not happened in this case.
I really hope that you aside from this enjoyed your stay in Stockholm!

Kind regards,
Charlotta Svedberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#35 of 154 in Stockholm
2,701 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#16 of 154 in Stockholm
1,368 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#50 of 154 in Stockholm
1,947 reviews
Norrmalm
Clarion Hotel Sign
Clarion Hotel Sign
#54 of 154 in Stockholm
3,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordic Light Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Light Hotel

Address: Vasaplan 7, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £94 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nordic Light Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nordic Light Hotel is Stockholm's design hotel, with an interior inspired by the northern light. The hotel is located in the city centre of Stockholm right next to the best shopping, nightlife and the express-train to Arlanda airport. All 175 rooms share the same well thought-out design and the atmosphere in our restaurant and bar is both cool and inviting. At the hotel, our friendly staff guides you to the best restaurants, clubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nordic Light Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordic Light Stockholm
Hotel Nordic Light

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing