We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally a very good experience”
Review of Nordic Light Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nordic Light Hotel
Ranked #32 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Generally a very good experience”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel was conveniently located to explore Stockholm - a short walk to Gamla Stan and only a moment away from the train station. It was extremely clean with a generous and creative buffet breakfast (five kinds of fresh juices, homemade jams, different breads, cheeses, a variety of proteins, etc.) We had a very good experience with several staff members who were friendly and accommodating with dinner reservations. Negatives - our room was on the small side, and it was DARK, even with all the lights on. Also, despite the hotel's emphasis on cool design and light, this was not evident - it felt a bit bland and minimalist. One of the staff members told us that it was primarily a hotel for business travelers, which definitely explains some things (for better or for worse). Overall, great value and location - I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JournalKat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christinwikstrom, Hotel Influencer at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Hi,

We would like to thank you for posting your review about our hotel.
You are welcome back at any time.

Regards
Christin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    589
    190
    77
    24
See reviews for
156
527
90
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nyborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I usually stay with a different vendor when I'm in Stockholm on business but I've been wanting to try this hotel for years due to its supposedly cool design and play with light.

Whilst I can live with standoffish staff, the coffee running out (coffee in the morning is just as vital as blood is to vampires) and no staff around to refilling the tank, the lobby drowning the design in noise and poor acoustics, having to dismantle the shampoo bottle because the dispenser was broken, or having difficulties reaching the toilet paper due to some male interior designer no doubt, I cannot live without properly functioning Wifi.

I travel A LOT and never have any issues with getting my iPhone on the Wifi but in this hotel I had to abandon after multiple attempts. The basic facilities were okay, the breakfast was good, the room was quiet, but I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7mileboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredricSvanell, Night Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest, I can assure you that here in Sweden running out of coffee is not an acceptable occurrence! Sorry about that!
Standofish is not what we aim for or generally get reviewed for in terms of our staff so I hope there was just some kind of misunderstanding in regards to that. We understand our business and our guests expectations, even more so thanks to reviews like yours that give a chance to reexamine ourselves and strive to be better.
I hope you will reconsider staying again. We listen to our guests compliments and complaints, last week we started up our new WiFi network due to issues with our prior network. We listen!

Regards
Paul McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel is in a good location, the staff are friendly, rooms are clean and the breakfast is very good (a very wide selection of options). Overall we had a good stay however we were disappointed with the one evening meal that we had in the hotel which was very, very expensive and bland.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essex_traveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredricSvanell, Night Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest, I am glad you had a good stay. Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your evening meal. Without further information I am not sure what happened there, if the fault is ours I humbly apologize.
Monday to Friday we have an extensive and exclusive evening buffet which has gotten rave reviews. Mondays are “No Meat Monday” which is part of our environmental work.
Hopefully we will have another opportunity to tantalize your taste buds.
Regards
Paul McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I found this hotel to be very baby friendly. The travel cot provided was excellent. The room was a good size and the facilities very good. Breakfast was a buffet style and the food ample and varied. Many choices and plenty of table spaces available too. The staff here are extremely friendly.
I needed to leave to luggage in a holding room as check out was a certain time, but was still extended with no quibbles. Collected the luggage when I was ready to leave Stockholm, with tired baby.
The hotel is just a few minutes from the station so is a great location for that and the city.

Room Tip: I do believe all rooms are a decent size however mine was called a junior suite. Two beds pushed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredricSvanell, Night Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Mum/Dad, Thanks for your review.
We have kids to you know. It can be tough travelling with our dear little ones, so we try to take some of the stress out of it and let you concentrate on enjoying your stay.
Please come and see us again soon
Regards
Paul McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel is situated next to the central station which makes it ideal for commutes to the airport. The room was nice. Modern, clean. Quiet if you keep the windows closed (which we didn'). Reception was good as well. But what was really exceptional was the breakfast buffet. Good choice of products, all eco friendly. Why not 5 stars? Because the hotel lacks personality. It doesn't distinguish in style. You wake up and you could be anywhere. A personal touch (art?!) would make a difference. Also, it' quite expensive. But that goes for all of Stockholm!

Room Tip: Try to avoid street side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredricSvanell, Night Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest, Most dietitians recommend eating breakfast like a king, we agree which is why we have spent a lot of time and energy on getting our breakfast to that royal level. A quick read through our reviews shows just that.
Thanks for the idea about art in the rooms or some other more “personal touches”, we hear you.
I don’t want to sound like a broken record so please check some other reviews to see my inside tips on how the get the best “bang for your buck” (our most reasonable prices).
Hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Paul McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Expensive and overrated. We paid top dollar for what was to be, we hoped, an unforgettable taste of Stockholm. The hotel is comfortable and the location is great, the breakfast was excellent as well; but the lighting concept (black decor, hidden lighting) is gimmicky and the upkeep is neglected.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elli291160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredricSvanell, Night Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest, Our best prices can always be found on our own website and by booking and paying in advance (just like with flights really), perhaps you overpaid through someone else? A good tip is also at check in to ask if we currently have good deals on an upgrade, if we have larger rooms available we often give great deals to already booked guests! (But let’s keep that between you, us, and Trip Advisor)
Great to hear so many words like “comfortable, excellent, great” in terms of location, the hotel in general and our breakfast. A shame that you found some of the colour schemes not to your liking. We are about to get started on a lobby and bar renovation so come and check us out again and let us know what you think.
Regards
Paul McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We used this hotel the very first time we visited Stockholm a few years ago. Trendy and modern hotel, which is located near the grand centralstation were all airportshuttles arrive. Everything is within walking distance. The rooms and bathrooms are very spacious and we even had bathrobes and slippers available which was a nice plus. The breakfast was the biggest selling point, fresh with a big variety of fruits, cerials, warm and cold dishes. We would recommend this hotel to young couples who want to make a citytrip to Stockholm

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RietGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredricSvanell, Night Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Simply lovely to hear that you found everything to be to your liking. Pople just love our breakfast, glad that applies to you also!
Thanks for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again SOON!
Regards
Paul McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#35 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,336 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#17 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#29 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordic Light Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Light Hotel

Property: Nordic Light Hotel
Address: 7 Vasaplan, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nordic Light Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nordic Light Hotel is Stockholm's design hotel, with an interior inspired by the northern light. The hotel is located in the city centre of Stockholm right next to the best shopping, nightlife and the express-train to Arlanda airport. All 175 rooms share the same well thought-out design and the atmosphere in our restaurant and bar is both cool and inviting. At the hotel, our friendly staff guides you to the best restaurants, clubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Nordic Light Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordic Light Stockholm
Hotel Nordic Light

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing